We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location, Location, Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Weatherstation Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Weatherstation Inn
Ranked #44 of 86 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
McHenry, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

After searching for weeks for the perfect place to stay in Key West I came across the Weatherstation Inn. I called to inquire about a room and spoke with James. He was so helpful and personable on the phone that I ended up booking the Back Country Room. The room was perfect for my husband and I. This B & B is a hidden jewel. Upon check in we were greeted by Barbara who is an absolute doll. She was so helpful. The location in the Truman Annex was perfect. We were within walking distance of everything in old town. The Truman White House is right down the street, Mallory Square is minutes away as is Duvall Street. We loved the safety and security of being in the gated community of the Truman Annex. The gates all lock at 6:00 PM and you are given keys to access the area. We used the pool two nights and were the only guests in it. It was like having a private pool all to ourselves. One note: If you are a light sleeper this may not be the place for you. We were woken quite early every morning by the sound of other guests and the inn keepers moving around the house preparing for the day. If you like to get up early it will not be an issue. This is the best place to stay in Key West for couples. We cant wait to come back!!

Room Tip: We had the Back Country Room. It is on the first floor. The only issue we had was that we could he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    33
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
158
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glencoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The property has an excellent location, 5 minutes walk to the marina where one can watch a glorious sunset. 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town.The Inn is located within a gated community in a very pretty historic area.
The rooms are a bit dated and lack closets, but spacious.
Continental breakfast was a big disappointment. Although delivered to the room every morning in a cute basket, plastic wrapped muffins and cold hard boiled eggs were hardly palatable. Same apple and banana included as well. Nothing freshly made except for coffee ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latvia1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

You can park your car in the complimentary parking and walk to all the activities in Mallory Square and Duvall Street. You're in a quiet neighborhood, with lots of tropical plantings and comfortable, clean rooms with breakfast included. Our favorite place to stay in Key West, especially since returning guests get a discount!!

Room Tip: Banana Wind is our favorite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in the "Back Country Room" which is located on the first floor. (nice and close to the morning coffee and juice!) The Inn was charming and well kept, and the hosts could not have been nicer or more helpful. We enjoyed our morning basket of breakfast bars, muffins, fruit, and hard boiled eggs. We did not use the pool, however it looked like a relaxing place to read or enjoy a beverage. If you're a sunbather, I'm not sure how many hours of sun the pool gets though, as it seemed to be well surrounded by trees. There is free parking for guests, complementary water, and access to a shared refrigerator.

The inn is located in the Truman Annex, a gated area within walking distance from Marley Square, many of the Old Town attractions and Duval Street.

We enjoyed a lovely stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apackrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Weatherstation Inn and had a lovely time. James greeted us warmly and gave us a full tour of the property. Some really nice perks: complimentary water, complimentary parking, and coffee/tea/breakfast. There is a small pool and we took our breakfast out there two of the mornings. There is also a rooftop space to watch the sun set--though the easy walk to Mallory square to observe all that craziness is definitely worth it! Everything is an easy walk: Bahama Village (go to Blue Heaven and the conch shack across the street!); Zachary Taylor State Park; Duval Street--the location of this Inn cannot be beat, plus being tucked in the Truman Annex makes it quiet despite being in the heart of everything. Other than driving to the airport to take the sea plane to the Dry Tortugas (you MUST do this), the car didn't move, we were able to walk everywhere, which I love. Besides the location, the inn itself was cozy and charming--I like old spaces and it's been updated, but still has the character. If I must offer a negative--by the third day, I was a little tired of the breakfast basket (not a huge fan of hard-boiled eggs to begin with!), but it's nice to have a little basket sitting there when you wake up so it's really not a major issue. I would definitely recommend this place and would definitely stay here if I come back to Key West.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first visit to Key West was a wonderful experience for us. This quaint B&B, located in a gated community, is within walking distance of all the attractions Old Town has to offer. James and Barbara could not have been more accommodating. It was fun reminiscing with James about the time he lived in New York and the neighborhood we shared in common. I would highly recommend the Weatherstation to anyone who wants to enjoy Key West and still have peaceful nights at this gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in Key West that is only minutes away from the action but quiet when you return back to the Inn, you should definitely stay here. The Inn is so comfortable and the staff (both James and Barbara) could not be nicer, more helpful or treat their guests any better. The breakfast which is delivered to your room each morning in a picnic basket is delicious! The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable with wonderful bedding. Since it is located inside the Truman Annex, it also has more privacy than many other Key West Inns. Our recent stay in February was perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arubanancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#35 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
#42 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#50 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weatherstation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weatherstation Inn

Property: The Weatherstation Inn
Address: 57 Front St, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weatherstation Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Weatherstation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weatherstation Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing