We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to do Key West on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good way to do Key West on a budget”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Not a great hotel, but a damn good one. No problems -- no bugs, AC worked, decent shower, decent size, etc. Exactly what I expected for the price. Surprised by some of the negative reviews here -- what did they think they were getting for the room rates? If you are trying to do Key West on a reasonable budget, this place gets the job done. Only warning -- the restaurant associated with it (the Stoned Crab) SUCKS big time, don't eat there.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and writing your review. We are locally-owned and our focus is on giving our guests a great Key West experience the moment they walk into our lobby. Our "greeter" is Lexie the talking Macaw. She loves saying "hi" and "goodbye" to all our guests. Bright and tropical room designs and a 4 star restaurant that just received a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence. And a great staff who are happy to help you anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    360
    214
    98
    113
See reviews for
284
498
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I live in Miami and decided to take my husband and my newborn baby and 2 friends to the keys for our anniversary. I got there that night and it had resulted the the hotel decided to cancel my reservation. Keep in mind this is a very long drive, 4 HOURS to be exact. They canceled my reservation because they said the amount of people the room was booked for was not possible. I asked them to book me two rooms since they decided to cancel my reservation without telling me and they said, in a very rude manner, that the rooms had been all booked and that was that. I had to drive ALL the way back to Miami with my newborn crying in the back seat. And the worst part is that they didn't even offer to book another room at a different hotel for me. I will NEVER, EVER stay at this hotel and neither should you. They don't care about their guests, which they so clearly demonstrated with their lack of help after THEY made a mistake by canceling my reservation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank girasolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Key West Fire Safety regulations will not allow the room you chose to be occupied by 5 people. We comply with the law. We want our guests to be safe. Our room occupancy s clearly stated on our website. Ibis Bay was 100% booked at that time. If we had a larger room or two rooms available we would have gladly given them to you. We did not have any choice in the matter. I do understand how disappointing it was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The people are friendly, Located waterfront in Key west so the location is great,they rent jet skis right at the property, and the lifes to short bus shuttle to Duval street is fun ,The driver will sing flash party lights on and off in the bus,The rooms maybe small but they are clean and the whole resort has a caribbean feel to it.The activities desk will keep youminformed of everything happening in the area..Felt very safe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Key West is a great Caribbean destination that is still inside the USA. Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and supporting us. I am glad my staff made you feel so welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Pool is awesome but music is horrible. CHANGE. PLEASE. Drinks are price way too high. R U kidding. No more discount for military. Food is good price is high Bartender R very good. Since a local. Would go back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thanks for coming by our pool. Our music mix is deliberately eclectic. It is chosen to appeal to all our hotel guests. We get compliments all the time. But, if you are local, there are pool bars downtown that have really cutting edge mixes. Bad news is their drink prices are higher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

After extensive hunting for a reasonably priced motel/hotel in Key West, I settled on this gem. We did pay $50 upgrade to stay beachside with hammock and sand beach outside the back. The Stoned Crab restaurant was great, we were there to fish and didn't use the pool or rent any toys(mopeds,Kuyaks,bikes, boats to snorkel)but they had it all. Shuttle to downtown sunset cruise boats ran on the hour. Traffic can be stressful so USE IT. Parking can also be a challenge.

Room Tip: We chose beachside room and used patio and hammock, I highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Our shuttle downtown saves you cab fares, parking costs and means you can have a drink and don't have to worry about driving. Thank you for staying with us. I hope you get a chance to come and see us again. A delightful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My honey and I stayed there for a couple of days early March 2014. We didn't know what to expect after reading all the online mixed reviews. Well we found it to be a perfect place to relax for a couple of days while visiting Key West for the first time. The shuttle was on time and the drivers were very pleasant! Our room was very clean and exited right on the beach with nice hammocks to relax in under some tall palm trees. We were very content with quiet accomodations. Free coffee in the restaurant in the morning was fresh and delicious. It was no problem taking a short stroll in the a.m. to get it. We had a fridge, microwave & hair dryer in our room. So its not a 5 star hotel but it sure was a perfect little getaway for us. Thank you guys for the hospitality!

Room Tip: spend the extra couple bucks for a beach front room. Just gives you a better vacation experience a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andra111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
We do get mixed reviews. Why? We don't appeal to everyone. We are different and that polarizes people. It used to bother me, but I realize now that our individuality is our greatest asset. Clearly, we are your kind of place and treat's what counts. Thanks for staying with us and supporting us with this review. It means a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandyville, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

my husband, son, and i took a ten day vacation in january and the only place we found an opening was the ibis bay resort. we had a wonderful time there.They had alot of awsome activities for all of us to do. It was a beautiful resort the rooms was peacful colorful and beatiful. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. we went there to escape the snow of wv we will book there again next time we return. the rooms are very spactious and peaceful too.

Room Tip: the rooms that face the bay is awsome you can watch sunrise and sunset walk right out onto beach pei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjamin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Sounds like you picked the right place for you. I always recommend our beachfront rooms too. As you say, Ibis Bay is beautiful and tranquil morning noon and night. Read a book, snooze in a hammock or go for a paddle in a kayak or on a paddle board. Did you try the kayak trip at night? I hope do. Do come back. We will be waiting here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing