We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute retro hotel, unfortunate location and amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute retro hotel, unfortunate location and amenities”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Ibis Bay is an attractive, retro style waterfront hotel. Coral rock construction, beachy decorative theme, tropical rescue animals...all great, however:

The 'resort' is right next to the highway (with major construction) and 2 miles from downtown. They have a shuttle, but there was a sign posted at check-in that the shuttle was out of service the entire next day. The shuttle is crucial at this distance from downtown, where parking is scarce and expensive. When operating, the last shuttle run is 9:30pm (was expecting later in a town that is known for its nightlife). There is a $5/day per person resort fee that was not waived even when the shuttle was expected to be out of service for a full day.

We were upgraded to a waterfront room (much appreciated), but from our porch we also had a panoramic view of Rt. 1 and the ongoing construction. The water at the edge of the bay was littered with trash. I know there is only so much the proprietors can control, but these elements really killed the atmosphere. If you are looking for a pleasant bay view, you might want to request a dockside waterfront room.

Our air conditioner was very loud, the bathroom was outdated in a not-so-charming way (I think they are planning renovations soon). I appreciate that this is a 1956 hotel, I just want my fellow travelers to know what to expect.

The Stoned Crab restaurant was fantastic, bouillabaisse and lobster ravioli were amazing!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for all the details you covered. Here are a few more. All the major affordable hotels in Key West are on US1. They all have to put up with its temporary construction.Our big plus is that Ibis Bay is the only hotel on US1 that's actually on the waterside of the road. Only Ibis Bay offers a beautifully landscaped white sand beach. When you are relaxing in your own private hammock in amongst the palm trees you don't hear anything but the birds and our reggae music.
As far as the shuttle goes, it was never out of service. It was serviced at the dealer very early that morning. The sign was left up by mistake. If the bus is ever out of service we provide another bus for our guests. I apologize for our miscommunication that morning. We do not offer our downtown shuttle service after 9:30pm because it was hardly utilized when we did.
In this those few rooms that still have an original 50s bathroom, there is a personal note from the bathroom letting guests know the bathroom is scheduled for a facelift, a nip and a tuck in the Fall. Regardless, every bathroom is sparkling clean. I noted that you rated our cleanliness high. I hope this information is helpful to you and other readers. Its always good to get at least two perspectives. Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and putting together your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    360
    214
    98
    113
See reviews for
284
498
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Horrible room had to walk through sand to get to room super expensive no coffee maker no blow dryer tv is weird area on walk hard to watch!! I would not recommend this place to anyone!!!!! Floors were dirty, one of ours doors that lead outside didn't open!!! Staff not very helpful at all!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nattym68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Our beachfront rooms are literally on the beach. While they are not the best for modern rolling luggage the white sand at your doorstep is a tropical treat for the toes and the mind. Our coral buildings were designed and built in the 50s. Our goal is to keep their historical beauty intact, sand and all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nice room with our own little bit of beach. Staff very helpful to plan the few days we had. Good service and quality in the restaurant. The courtesy bus was needed as the centre is too far away to walk. We never saw a taxi in town. We will recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Sounds like you were busy buzzing around our great little town on the shuttle bus. Our shuttle bus saves Ibis Bay guests time, hassle and downtown parking fees. Plus its much safer to leave the driving to us after any partying. I hope you got to go out onto the water too. It is so brilliantly clear and full of amazing marine life. Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and for writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Relative to the rather staggering sums one faces for for more up-market properties in Key West in high season, I found Ibis Bay to be an attractive option at a more reasonable cost (the annoying "resort fee" notwithstanding). OK, our room was small but very attractively (I would even say cleverly) decorated. The bathroom, it must be said, had not undergone a similar makeover and looked old and a bit corroded. Service was good: a water pressure problem with the shower was rectified promptly, and at the cafe (nice breakfast, by the way) a server cheerfully prepared an ice bucket I had requested, declining a tip and saying, "we're here to serve the guests." Nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Roosevelt Blvd (and the parrots).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Your review is very nice because it recalls little details about your stay that are often overlooked but make a difference to your stay at that moment. With that considered I was surprised by just 3 stars. Go on, its really a 4! LOL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I love it so much that I extended my stay. I love the music piped thru out the property. I love the food. I love the people. My room is clean comfortable and under priced (I love that too). I love the breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant. I can't think of anything I don't love about this place and I have told all of my friends about it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mynameisbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
What can I say except, "Thank you!". I am so glad this Ibis Bay is "your" place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My friends and I enjoyed our stay at Ibis Bay very much. We had a bay view room. It was clean and nicely decorated. We loved that it was conveniently close to Duval street. All 3 of us said we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Get a room with Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I hope you used our free non-stop shuttle to go downtown and back. It isn't far to go but it saves paying for a cab or driving after partying. Our beachfront rooms are literally on the beach.The view is great, you get your very own hammock in the palm trees and views to the horizon. If you are an early bird, the sunrises here are as beautiful as our sunsets. Thanks for staying with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Let's start with what we liked - the hotel was clean, reasonably close to Old Town with shuttle service to the tourist areas. The bed was comfortable. All the fixtures, sinks, etc. worked well and there were plenty of usable electrical outlets in the room (we have a lot of gadgets).

However...

This is really just an old motel and the attempts at making this more resort-like mainly involved brightly colored paint on the old walls and doors, some chairs by the small sand beach, and a "Fun Desk" where someone can help you book tours and meals you could well do on your own with a computer or smart phone..

There was an additional, mandatory $5 per-person "resort fee" to cover the shuttle, WiFi access and parking (yes, parking) in an open-air space outside the rooms. That was really more a money grab than real value. Why not be honest about it and just charge $10 more on the basic room?

The room was small, with a table and 2 chairs we could have easily done without. It was also loud in the rooms with numbers beginning with "5". These rooms face the restaurant, which received a delivery that started before 7 am. They also face the exotic bird cage, and those things squawk - loudly - all day long. The seals on the doors, windows and AC unit were virtually non-existent, adding to the "noise leakage" and drafts. The blinds did not reduce the light in the morning, making sleeping past an early hour even ore difficult.

In all, we feel we should have spent a bit more to get a nicer place or something closer to the downtown area. The savings were not worth the many down-sides.

Room Tip: If you must stay hear, avoid rooms starting with 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dpaulhesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
You chose one of our bargain-priced Value Rooms. They are very inexpensive for Key West. They are geared for people who would rather put their money into Key West's activities than into a large room they don't plan on spending much time in. Ibis bay is a historic 1950s resort that celebrates Key West's glorious heyday of neon signs and convertible Cadillacs. We offer many room types ... larger rooms, beachfront rooms, duplexes with water views and multi-bedroom suites with their own private beach and BBQ area. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your room choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing