We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average room at class rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here several years for the Key West Poker Run. Is now a little pricey for what you get, an average room. Resturant changed hand several times and was privced at the average for the Keys, but the quality was lower. Wife found cock roaches in the room the last time we stayed so that ended our trips to Blue Lagoon / Ibis.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocCVMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

There's a lot of things to do at Ibis that aren't average. Our pool and bar surrounded by palm trees and lots of hammocks, our outdoor night-time movies, our giant tortoises and talking tropical birds. You can watch the crab and lobster boats come in to our dock in the late afternoon. And trust me, I do know Key West is expensive when it comes to everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for a few nights and totally enjoyed our visit. The rooms are small but certainly served our needs. Sometimes the Parrots are up a little early, a unique wake up call. The food was good and the drinks were great. We enjoyed the pool in it's tropical setting and all of the staff members were very friendly. It was good to see the manager out and about on a regular basis making sure all was in order. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjkjhickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We will look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your support here. Its a big help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Myself, my wife, 14-year-old daughter, and her girl friend stayed 3 nights at the Ibis in late August 2013. This is a nice place. They must hire carefully because EVERY staff member we encountered was excellent and helpful. The food in the restaurant is good, and the prices are better than on Duval St. As an added attraction, they have 2 giant turtoises in a pen as well as 2 parrot cages with large birds. A couple of octipuses live near the bar and are rumored to come out in early morning and about 10:00 PM. We wanted to take the jet ski sour AROUND the island available at the hotel, but schedule didn't permit. We did take the paddle board excursion. A wind blew up, and I was out about 400 yards with the girls. Our daughter started tacking back to the dock, but her friend got sick and could not fight the wind. So I accompanied her, and we let ourselves be mostly blown across the inlet to a dock at the Naval Air Station housing. There we found ride back to the hotel. The rooms are not fancy but comfortable, and the view is great. There is a good feeling at this place due to the ambience of the facility, the good views, the great personnel, the good restaurant / bar and the good management.

Room Tip: It is better to select a beach-front room where there is a hammock on the beach in front of each roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I am so glad your family had a great time. Thank you for choosing us and reviewing us. Ibis Bay has a lot of cool things to keep kids occupied and laughing. Next time come and try our new Jet-Ski BBQ. You go on a full island tour and stop meet and relax with our chef on a sandbar in the ocean. He cooks up a great American BBQ. while sit in a beach chair in the sand. This is bliss! Our Fun Desk and website have all the details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

DO NOT!!!! Stay in this hotel....the rooms are small,the staff is far from friendly and there is no room service at night! Lets not forget you call for toilet paper, towels and soap and they bring ONE of everything yet there is 4 of us. The bathrooms are small! The shower head is rusted and is a tiny standing shower. There is no closet, no microwave and they don't even give any type of free breakfast or coffee. The restaurants tables are all rusted. The ONLY thing that was nice is they have hammocks and a deck over looking the water, but if you want a bad experience, small rooms and horrible service then this is the place...i'm sure you don't though so find another place thats not here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Vee_x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

I suspect that this review and the other "HORRIBLE" titled review next to it are from two members of the same party of four. Read our other guest's great reviews. If you can't decide, best thing to do is to go to our website (ibisbayresort.com) and take the Google 360º Inside Walking Tour. It lets you walk around all the rooms. You will see for yourself that they don't match this review at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Don't stay here bad bad place , no where to hang clothes, no closet, no furniture in the room, air units that don't work,rude staff. These are just a few of the problems i had there. The location is far from the action and nothing around ruff area! I can say WORST PLACE EVER !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Its hard to explain how one review that says Ibis Bay is the best place ever is then followed by a review that says Ibis Bay is the worst place ever. The descriptions of the rooms in this review are not accurate, yet these guests see them that way. We are not a traditional hotel. Maybe that's why this happens. Look at the website, read the positive reviews and remember when something is truly different it polarizes people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The resort was beautiful!!!.our room overlooked sunset and blue water! Think we ate at the stoned crab at least once or twice a day!!chatted with the staff and owner daily.such wonderful team.got to see iguannas,parrots,feed tortoises...we found ourselves exploring the island but always wanting to come back to the ibis!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blondewithbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thanks for coming and I am so glad you enjoyed all the regular and irregular aspects of our resort. It's hard to beat feeding Galapagos-sized tortoises, swimming in a pool surrounded by palm trees and hammocks and enjoying a great fresh seafood meal ... all in one place. I hope you can come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are locals and have been coming to the pool here for about 4 years, at least once a week because they advertise as "local friendly". We always spend a great amount of money on drinks and food and tip the bartenders well. On Friday, August 9, our children were jumping in the pool, as they have every time we go. The "owner", Tony, confronted my husband and I telling us not to have our children jump into the pool. He asked us if we were guests of the hotel and we told him "no, that we were locals and have been coming to the pool for years". He then asked us if we had a membership card and that we needed a membership card and there were rules we needed to abide by, as if we were breaking a bunch of rules for our children jumping into the pool. We told our kids not to jump in anymore, but our nephew jumped in and he proceeded to come back to us with an attitude and say "I asked for your children to not jump in the pool". My brother-in-law said he was sorry and that he hadn't relayed the message to his children. Then another kid, that wasn't with us, jumped in and Tony again came over to us. After the third time of him coming over with an attitude when it wasn't even our child, we decided to leave. We told him he has lost our business and that we will NEVER be back because of the way he treated us. He said he "didn't care" if he lost our business. I understand it's a liability thing, but his attitude was uncalled for. And if they are so worried about liability and lawsuits, how about when my pregnant sister fell in their dining area coming from the bathroom and bruised up her knee and NO one asked her if she was okay or came to her aid?
If this is how they treat the locals, imagine how they treat tourists/guests?

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
10  Thank keywest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We will put your children's safety before our income every time.Our Pool Safety Rules are clearly posted at the pool. Those rules apply whether you are a hotel guest, a local guest, an adult or a child. It's surprising to me that our Pool Safety Rules were new to you. As you say, you have been enjoying pool for years. Most importantly, our General Manager's primary intent is not to protect the hotel from liability (we have insurance) but to protect your children from injuring themselves. You were repeatedly asked to stop the kids jumping in. You didn't.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
267 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#29 of 51 in Key West
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $160 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing