We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The staff is great”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I personally can not think of anything wrong with this resort it was a pleasure to stay here. lots of amenity's, very very clean rooms, Some of the best and friendly staff I have encountered in my many travels around the USA. You should be very pleased to stay at Ibis Bay Resort. Highly recommended. I personally would give Ibis a 5 STAR rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmer911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Feeling welcome in a new place means everything. Our staff are so proud of Ibis Bay they smile and wave to each other and to their guests. It is like a welcome you get when you visit a good friend's home. You are sharing something very special with someone you care about. Thank you for your review and great rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    364
    215
    99
    115
See reviews for
290
502
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spend 3 days here at ibis bay and loved it. It's a great place to just sit down and eat or just lay by the pool. All staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very clean and make you feel like your staying at a house instead of a hotel which I loved. The towels were so clean and love the tropical decor of the room, even the soap smelled like mango!!! They really know how to keep this place up to scale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabiola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Fabiola,
Thank you so much for noticing and pointing out the little things that we do to make a guests stay at Ibis Bay outstanding. The mango soap is GREAT isn't it. Keep an eye on us on Facebook. The Guardian Newspaper in London, chose Ibis Bay as one of the Top 10 places to stay in Florida. We are VERY proud.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

What an exceptional place. On arrival the staff were extremely helpfull and friendly. We arrived a lot earlier than anticipated. The staff bent over backwards to have our room ready early. We were not disappointed the room was tastefully decorated with a beachy theme. Towels were supplied for poolside and bathroom and were of great quality as was the bed linen. The poolside was very nice with plenty of sunbeds and a couple of hammocks. We treated ourselves to cocktails by the poolside they had a great selection and the bar tender was very nice. Great place for a chilled holiday. We actually walked to Duval street which took us 40 minutes. Only disapointment was that we were only in Key West for a night. If you are looking for a place to stay in Key West don't look any further.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you recommending Ibis Bay. Now that you have had a one day stay, you MUST come back to Key West and Ibis Bay for a week or more. There's plenty of cool stuff to keep you busy on the ilsland and on the water. Call us directly for the best rooms, prices and upgrades. Our Fun Desk will even plan and book your activities and transport before you leave home!. You tell us what you like, we do the rest. it 's a free service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked my waterfront room online for a decent price of $200 a night including taxes. I had no recommendations to go on, so was nervous for what might turn out. We called the resort twice prior to arrival to be assured that they had our reservation and to request a refrigerator and microwave if possible. The staff was so accommodating! Upon arrival, we were greeted with a beautiful view and were allowed to check-in early at no extra charge. We were charged a $10 daily resort fee which I found very reasonable. For the resort fee, daily coffee was available with flavored creamer at the restaurant on site. Large, soft towels were in the room for use at the pool. My husband and I were vacationing with our 4 year old daughter, and we were so pleased with the unexpected "extras" the resort provided. The 2 tortoises on site were fun to visit, and the birds were beautiful. The bird in the cage out front got so excited to show off his tricks when my daughter showed up to visit him each day, and she loved hearing him "talk"! We had a 5x5 deck with 2 chairs and a table outside of our sliding glass doors which led out to white sand, a hammock, lush landscaping and a beautiful view of the bay. We had daily visits from the ibis (bird) and seagulls, as well as iguanas while picnicking outside our room. A publix supermarket was just one block away, so we picked up some food items since it is not always easy to please a toddler with restaurant food! We made several day trips to mallory square and Duval street just 2-3 miles away. I recommend renting a car for trips to Big Pine Key to visit the deer and the No Name Pub-delicious pizza! My daughter caught a cold during the trip and we found it very relaxing to enjoy some down time right outback of our hotel room lounging in the hammock and soaking up the rays at the pool. All of the staff were very friendly. We needed directions to the Walgreens very late one night to pick up fever reducer and the staff gladly assisted us. The staff at the pool deck, the cleaning and maintenance crews were equally friendly. THANK YOU for the great experience!!!! We will be back!

Room Tip: Request/book the waterfront room. I don't think a view of the parking lot would have even compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
You wrote a very detailed guide to Ibis Bay and Key West. Thank you. Aren't the Key West deer amazing! Perfectly proportioned deer the size of Jack Russels all the way being as big as labradors. Soooooooo cute!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

What a breath of fresh air! quirky,original,comfortable,friendly,& quaint in a kind of shabby chic way.
Met Chris the owner and his business partner Tony by the pool and was bought up to date with his plans for the future to up date the rooms and property. We will definitely be returning next year and will be staying longer.

Rooms comfortable and clean, a coffee maker would be nice although complementary coffee was available from the Stoned Crab in the mornings, personally HATE a microwave in room, really not necessary plenty of food available nearby at affordable prices.

Bathroom needs a make over but Iknow from our chat with Chris, this is all going to happen progressively.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the beach front rooms you'll not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Ibis bay will never get spoiled because we won't let that happen. We only offer microwaves on request. Preparing food in the room often leaves food smells that linger for days. We use ozone generators to eliminate it when it happens. Our housekeepers also use ultraviolet light wants on all the room surafaces when they clean to eliminate germs and odo too. See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our experience at Ibis Bay Resort could not have been better!!!! Staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. We stayed in a waterfront room which was awesome. Tom, the bartender at the pool, was great! We only ate at the Stone Crab once (breakfast), but the food was great. We had an opportunity to meet the owners while at the pool. They welcomed any comments, both positive and negative. Short cab ride to Duval street for the party atmosphere if that is what you desire. Our first trip to Key West, but won't be our last. Will definitely stay here again. Thanks for the GREAT experience!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a waterfront room. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamingo4jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
The nicest part about meeting our guests is sharing ideas. My business partner and I work together well because we each come up with very different ideas and that benefits us both. Our guests have contributed some wonderful ideas that we have implimented. Ibis Bay is the way it is today because of it. Thank you for helping and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I went on a trip with a big group of friends of mine, we picked the ibis bay because of the price, and it did not disappoint. The room was comfortable, each with a little fridge, and plenty if towels. The staff, with the exception of the overnight manager, were amazing. It was close to everything and very easy to get a cab. The best part was the pool and the attached restaurant, The Stoned Crab. Definitely worth the money and from we heard while we were there, it's only getting better!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crane265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Obviously I am very glad to see your 5 star review for the hotel and our how much you enjoyed our Stoned Crab restaurant. Thank you for that. Our progress never stops, so next time (?) there will more for you to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing