We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked my waterfront room online for a decent price of $200 a night including taxes. I had no recommendations to go on, so was nervous for what might turn out. We called the resort twice prior to arrival to be assured that they had our reservation and to request a refrigerator and microwave if possible. The staff was so accommodating! Upon arrival, we were greeted with a beautiful view and were allowed to check-in early at no extra charge. We were charged a $10 daily resort fee which I found very reasonable. For the resort fee, daily coffee was available with flavored creamer at the restaurant on site. Large, soft towels were in the room for use at the pool. My husband and I were vacationing with our 4 year old daughter, and we were so pleased with the unexpected "extras" the resort provided. The 2 tortoises on site were fun to visit, and the birds were beautiful. The bird in the cage out front got so excited to show off his tricks when my daughter showed up to visit him each day, and she loved hearing him "talk"! We had a 5x5 deck with 2 chairs and a table outside of our sliding glass doors which led out to white sand, a hammock, lush landscaping and a beautiful view of the bay. We had daily visits from the ibis (bird) and seagulls, as well as iguanas while picnicking outside our room. A publix supermarket was just one block away, so we picked up some food items since it is not always easy to please a toddler with restaurant food! We made several day trips to mallory square and Duval street just 2-3 miles away. I recommend renting a car for trips to Big Pine Key to visit the deer and the No Name Pub-delicious pizza! My daughter caught a cold during the trip and we found it very relaxing to enjoy some down time right outback of our hotel room lounging in the hammock and soaking up the rays at the pool. All of the staff were very friendly. We needed directions to the Walgreens very late one night to pick up fever reducer and the staff gladly assisted us. The staff at the pool deck, the cleaning and maintenance crews were equally friendly. THANK YOU for the great experience!!!! We will be back!

Room Tip: Request/book the waterfront room. I don't think a view of the parking lot would have even compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
You wrote a very detailed guide to Ibis Bay and Key West. Thank you. Aren't the Key West deer amazing! Perfectly proportioned deer the size of Jack Russels all the way being as big as labradors. Soooooooo cute!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    359
    213
    97
    111
See reviews for
280
493
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

What a breath of fresh air! quirky,original,comfortable,friendly,& quaint in a kind of shabby chic way.
Met Chris the owner and his business partner Tony by the pool and was bought up to date with his plans for the future to up date the rooms and property. We will definitely be returning next year and will be staying longer.

Rooms comfortable and clean, a coffee maker would be nice although complementary coffee was available from the Stoned Crab in the mornings, personally HATE a microwave in room, really not necessary plenty of food available nearby at affordable prices.

Bathroom needs a make over but Iknow from our chat with Chris, this is all going to happen progressively.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the beach front rooms you'll not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Ibis bay will never get spoiled because we won't let that happen. We only offer microwaves on request. Preparing food in the room often leaves food smells that linger for days. We use ozone generators to eliminate it when it happens. Our housekeepers also use ultraviolet light wants on all the room surafaces when they clean to eliminate germs and odo too. See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our experience at Ibis Bay Resort could not have been better!!!! Staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. We stayed in a waterfront room which was awesome. Tom, the bartender at the pool, was great! We only ate at the Stone Crab once (breakfast), but the food was great. We had an opportunity to meet the owners while at the pool. They welcomed any comments, both positive and negative. Short cab ride to Duval street for the party atmosphere if that is what you desire. Our first trip to Key West, but won't be our last. Will definitely stay here again. Thanks for the GREAT experience!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a waterfront room. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamingo4jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
The nicest part about meeting our guests is sharing ideas. My business partner and I work together well because we each come up with very different ideas and that benefits us both. Our guests have contributed some wonderful ideas that we have implimented. Ibis Bay is the way it is today because of it. Thank you for helping and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I went on a trip with a big group of friends of mine, we picked the ibis bay because of the price, and it did not disappoint. The room was comfortable, each with a little fridge, and plenty if towels. The staff, with the exception of the overnight manager, were amazing. It was close to everything and very easy to get a cab. The best part was the pool and the attached restaurant, The Stoned Crab. Definitely worth the money and from we heard while we were there, it's only getting better!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crane265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Obviously I am very glad to see your 5 star review for the hotel and our how much you enjoyed our Stoned Crab restaurant. Thank you for that. Our progress never stops, so next time (?) there will more for you to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Ibis Bay Resort was a fun place to stay. The bedding was clean with lot of pillows. We were looking for a place to relax and this suited our purpose. Unfortunately, we prefer to sleep in a king bed and they only have 2 doubles. Be sure to ask for one of the rooms on their beach away from the highway. I'm not sure that we would have such a positive review if we had stayed in one of the rooms without beach access. Keep in mind that this is a man-made beach that is not for swimming. There are rocks at the bottom of the beach at the water line and while we were there the wind had blown in floating sea grass that looked like 3 feet of lawn clippings. This was kind of ...yucky. The bathroom could definitely use a remodel and we were glad that we did not have to use the shower. The place is old enough that they still use keys instead of access cards. They could stand to put a few chairs in the room (there were none) and add comfortable chairs on the decks. All they had were plastic chairs that kept dissapearing onto or neighbor's decks. We had a small (5 foot x 5 foot) deck out our sliding door and had a great view of the hammock, palm tree, and water. The sea birds were really fun to watch when we woke up in the morning. There was a small refridgerator in our room. Since there is very little beach area in Key West, we felt lucky to be at this location. The location of the hotel is a bit close to the main street into Key West so you do hear the traffic. The Ibis is removed from the "quirky" heart of Key West. If you are looking to join in the evening partying on Duvall Street, this is not the place for you. Parking is limited down there and you would be better off to book into one of the bed & breakfasts. Skip the Stoned Crab restaurant at the Ibis. Their prices were WAY too high and the food was mediocre. Best kept secret is that the best Key Lime pie we had in Key West came from the Publics Market accross the street from our hotel! Save on your food budget and take the short trip up to Marathon Key for a visit to the Marathon Fish Market. They are right on the water, the food is amazing and the money you save will pay for the gas up there! Their Key Lime Pie is the best we had in all of the Keys and anywhere in Florida!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the nice recommendation. Ibis Bay started out as a motel built from coral in 1956. We want to keep that early "island vibe but now offer jet skis, paddle sports on the bay, a great beach, pool, lots of hammocks and a four star seafood restaurant. At this time of year the wind comes from the North and breaks of the turtle grass (lawn clippings?). We gather it up each day but it is part of nature's cycle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Arrived and right away place had a southern resort feel. Great restaurant on the bay with happy hour. Nice pool and super clean resort with friendly staff always working and smiling. The owner is usually on site at his office and takes real pride in his resort. Our room was one of the smaller ones with a small bathroom but freshly painted with all the bath amenities needed. We even had a fridge. No coffee maker but free coffee in the restaurant. A short cab ride into town and there were a couple of plazas near by to pick things up also a really good pizza place. We don't usually stay at the same place twice but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dorismct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Telling us that you are coming back again is the ultimate confirmation that we are getting a lot of things right. Our Ibis Bay staff do work hard and love seeing guests happy and relaxed. Our job is to create a great memory for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place. We usually stay at high end hotels, but this place is great. Room rates are very affordable. Wake up every morning on the water. Only a few minor issues, pool is not heated, no hot tub and microwave in rooms would be nice. The hammocks outside of my room were great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcman033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are the most affordable and least stuffy beachfront hotel in Key West.
Guess what? We ARE installing a pool heater. We do offer microwave ovens on demand at The Front Desk. They obviously did not let you know at check-in. I will remind them with your review. We are also installing swim platforms off the beach this week and next. So you will be able to read, suntan or just sit on the water next time you come. Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and helping us with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#30 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing