We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The staff were extremely nice and helpful. The room faced the water and the outside area was really nice with the sand, hammocks, and chairs. Great watching the birds walking around outside the door. The rooms need microwaves and coffee pots, although they do have refrigerators. Also, the bathroom had no hooks, shelves or cabinet space for toiletries. The room could also use a small table or desk. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Our goal is to offer a beachfront Key West hotel that is neither stuffy or unimaginative. Its nice to hear our guests feel we have accomplished what we set out to do. And we have kept it affordable as this guest points out. Thank you for writing about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    365
    217
    101
    116
See reviews for
291
508
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Key West. I was looking for a budget friendly hotel and was amazed at how great this place was compared to some other budget "friendly" hotel chains on the island. I was really happy with our choice to stay at a local place and even though our room was small, it was full of personality and that counts for a lot! There was a beach with hammocks, a pool and various animals on site like iguanas, parrots & tortoises. Everyone was super friendly and I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tabs76n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for bringing up something that baffles me. Why do people travel all the way to funky, quirky Key West and end up staying in a chain hotel that's the same all over America? When you arrive at Ibis Bay everything here is all Key West. There are 8 beachfront hotels here. We are the most affordable, the least stuffy and the only independent. Our reputation for style, cleanliness and friendy service is now well-known. I know I am bragging, but it is a fact. I am very proud of what everyone here has achieved . Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write what you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Great relaxing place to stay. We usually stay at expensive hotels. Last year we stayed at the Westin in Mallory square. I enjoyed ibis bay much more! The hammocks outside of the rooms are great, I slept outside 2 nights which was nice. The staff clean the entire hotel grounds every morning. Rooms are clean. It's an older hotel, but very clean. I will come back for sure!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arcman033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I have fallen asleep in the hammocks in the middle of the work day! The staff were very amused and took pictures of me there. Staying downtown is a fun, but hectic experience. if you want a "beach hammock style" quaint Key West vacation, Ibis Bay is the place, regardless of price. I am very glad to hear we were the right place for you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I were doing the whole Overseas Highway and ended our trip in Key West. Ibis Bay staff was FANTASTIC - gave us best rate with a same-day arrival check-in. Bay front room - beautiful view! Romantic and laid back! Staff was wonderfully nice, helpful - room clean and completely 50s retro cute. Couldn't have been happier! Much love to the tortoise on-site, too - what an awesome guy he is!

Room Tip: Get a bay front! And if you're worried about being close to Duval, it's a 5-minute ride/ dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4ftFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
My staff and I know that your stay with us is most likely a once a year opportunity for you to refresh and get closer to your loved ones. We do everything we can to make it a great experience. When I first bought Ibis Bay I used the room you were in as my office. I loved the privacy that back beach offers. Plus the mangroves around there make you feel like you are in a South American jungle full iguanas and tropical birds. I am so glad you had such a good time. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place has everything you need for a most comfortable stay. Yeah, there's no coffee maker in the room, but coffee is complementary for guests at the excellent Stoned Crab Restaurant. Service is impeccable, from the front desk to the maid service to the restaurant. The rooms and the beds are most comfortable, if a bit rustic, and ours did have a refrigerator/freezer and a free washer and dryer in a small alcove. The semi-private beach outside our french doors had a small picnic table and several hammocks, and the ibises and iguanas visited almost daily. The staff made sure we wanted for nothing -- everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and fun was provided with grace and style. The location is convenient to both the airport and downtown. And Tom's daily pool party is an absolute must.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I don't know why my response wasn't posted when I wrote it. I remember it distinctly because your room was the one I chose for my office because it was so pretty and private. The little beach, the hammocks, the wildlife and mangroves make it special.
I am really glad to hear that my staff and their service was appreciated. We all love Ibis Bay. Our effort and pride certainly shows. Thank you for such nice compliments. Ibis Bay doesn't have to be just a memory. Think about coming back some day soon. The iguanas say, "Hi!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

we loved this place it's in a great location and really nice! our room was real clean had fridge,tv, huge towels and maids clean room pristine everyday. it was nice to walk around the beachfront to get to our room and it was romantic with hammocks by the water. huge turtles and iguanas, birds, and fish by the water.the restaurant was extremely good we had breakfast with unlimited free coffee and dinner on the water with candles. staff very friendly and will go extra mile, Claudine was really accommodating. I would rate 6 stars best place in key west!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DixieJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
It is so nice to arrive at the hotel and read a review like this. It means that what we are doing is what people really enjoy. I often sit on the beach in the morning too to drink my first cup of tea (Aussie's love tea!). It is so serene. Thank you for your advice to readers and for helping us too. I hope you get a chance to come back and see us again. Lexie, the blue macaw says, "hi!" and some other unrepeatable things our guests have taught her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Key West can be so expensive, but this hotel more than met our needs. Great service, comfortable beds and funky atmosphere added to the Key West experience. If you're looking for luxury, this is not your place as the bathroom is quite small and there's no refrigerator, coffee pot, desk area or soft comfy chairs. But the fun "beachy" decor and pool make up for the missing comforts. Plus the Stone Crab restaurant served great breakfasts and dinners.

Room Tip: Rooms on the waterfront are a little more expensive, but worth the added expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
There are only 8 beachfront hotels in all of Key West. We are the least stuffy and the most affordable. The Stoned Crab restaurant is rated four stars. Everything they cook is amazing. Tjank you for staying with us and helping spread the word. We all appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing