We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We loved the resort, loved Lexi the bird and the turtles, having the wildlife made it a fun experience, the rooms are fun and very clean, the staff is wonderful, the Manager was extremely accommodating as our plane left late in the day so she arranged to have our check out extended which we were grateful for . The onsite Stoned Crab restaurant / bar has wonderful food and a fun atmosphere we loved Margaret the bartender and the rest of the staff. The location is convenient to the airport and beaches and within 2 miles of Duval street so a bike/scooter is a must, we rented a small car which worked out fine. It is clear that the resort is in a continuous upgrade but it's being done very low key so as not to interfere with the guests. We were honored to meet the owner Chris who was very accommodating to the questions we had about the resort and it's buildings, he is proud of his resort and deserves to be. As said before this is not a chain resort and that is a good thing. Think fun, think vintage funky and you have the vibe of the resort. True the bathrooms are small but really who spends that much time in there while on vacation? Among other reviews i have read the only suggestion I have is to have coffee in the rooms (there is free coffee in the restaurant for guests to take out every morning) it seems to me the bad reviews are from people who expected a luxury Hilton resort which this is not, this is a fun and funky place which would attract the easy going fun loving Key West type guest.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeepguysWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

You are right. If you want a conventional "Hilton" type hotel experience, better go to a Hilton. We are what you think of when you read about funky, creative Key West. We want our guests to enjoy the laid-back, vintage Key West experience. The hotel was a motel built in 1956 using coral boulders. Cary Grant actually threw a party for Tony Curtis's birthday here when they were filming Operation Petticoat in 1959. We don't want to erase that with our renovations, we are amplifying it. Thank you for pointing this out so readers will get a clear picture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had the most amazing time at this hotel, waking up with a view of the beach and the sea, eating delicious food at the restaurant, heaven. The facilities for the hotel are second to none, any type of activity and they can arrange it at the fun desk. The weekly outdoor cinema night is also really fun.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room, the birds land down in the mornings and wander around whilst you have your m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank virginia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

I am crazy about hammocks too They put me in a relaxing trance. Especially on a beach underneath palm trees. We are very definitely and very deliberately not a conventional hotel. Our animals, our beach, the kiteboarding and our local staff are all here to make your stay always relaxing. I hope you get a chance to come back. We will look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Fun, quirky place to stay. Outside of rooms nicer then inside which may be the point to get everyone to the pool, restaurant and bar. Movies and popcorn poolside. Parrots and turtle pen. Very pretty to look out over the water but no beach. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. Would have liked microwave and coffeepot in addition to refrigerator in room. Especially liked the yellow striped beach towels provided for us. We couldn't get wifi in room and had to go to the pool area to get it. Another way to get you out of your room. Parking and navigating the grounds in your car is very tricky but adequate as long as you are careful. Would stay here again. Staff distant.

Room Tip: First floors open to sandy area with hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hammocks everywhere is right. We have more hammocks at the resort than we have rooms. So that means there are over 80. You can use your own if you have a hammock garden or a beachfront room. There are plenty more beside the pool and on the main beach. There is a second secluded beach we called Mangrove Beach. There are plenty of hammocks there too. I fall asleep within 10 minutes especially if I am on one of the beaches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After numerous stays in 'Old Town' Key West, my wife and I opted to try the Ibis Bay Resort in 'New Town' for our January vacation and brought some family members along for the fun. We had a blast and couldn't have enjoyed the resort more! The lobby welcomed us, with bright colors and a friendly Macaw gracing the entrance. We stayed in a courtyard room with a single queen bed, our family in one of the two-bed rooms facing the waterfront; both were beautiful and clean, with tropical designs and colors. The beds were comfortable and well-kept and the rooms include flat-screen TVs and mini-fridges. The resort staff cleaned our rooms and refreshed linens daily.

Ibis Bay includes its own activities desk, with on-site kayaking, paddleboarding and watercraft tours. We've never stayed at any Key West lodging with as many available options for fun! The large pool area has lots of chairs, a great view, a poolside bar and is directly connected to the Stoned Crab restaurant. We enjoyed a couple of meals at the restaurant, as well as the complimentary coffee in the morning. Visitors could easily enjoy an entire visit without leaving Ibis Bay (but you can't go to Key West without heading to Old Town!).

The resort is located on North Roosevelt, just before the Sigsbee Rd. entrance to the Navy residential area on Dredgers Key. It's a 2-mile drive or cab ride to New Town and a slightly shorter trek to Smathers Beach and Key West International Airport on the south side. Within a half mile walk are two Publix supermarkets (and liquor stores), Dunkin' Donuts, K-Mart, Walgreens, Home Depot, Ross, CVS, and Mr. Z's Pizza & Cheesesteaks. Parking is plentiful on the resort.


Ibis Bay is a refreshing and fun place to stay in Key West, away from all the hustle of Duval Street, but close enough to go enjoy a sunset cruise or a Pirate's Punch at Capt. Tony's.

NOTE: I booked our room via Kayak; my family via Orbitz. Ibis Bay does charge a $10 per day resort fee for bookings not made directly with the resort. While I'd have preferred to have that disclosed up front, it was not a problem for us. Even with the additional fee, it is a great value for anyone visiting Cayo Hueso.

Room Tip: Our room was in the interior of the resort, opening into the parking area in view of the beach. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Your review is the most detailed and helpful review i have ever red. Your advice is great and readers will be better informed because of it. And I am glad to hear you and your family enjoyed Ibis Bay. We all watch reviews because it is a great tool for us to improve and to know what our guests already appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This resort is great - it has everything - a pool, sandy beach, hammocks, kayak and jet-ski rentals, and a restaurant with bar for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The rooms were nice and quiet and the desk staff and maintenance were very helpful - I asked for a tape measure and had one in minutes! I liked the location - an easy drive to Duval Street, but away from the craziness. There is a Sears and Kmart nearby, as well as several chain restaurants. It was a wonderful home base while I was in Key West. The only thing keeping it from being 5 stars is that the bathroom was small and dated, but that shouldn't be a deal-breaker.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carmen873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

You guys took everything in. As you may already know, we are working everyday to bring this 1956 beauty into the modern age without erasing its past. Thank you for writing such an helpful and informative review. I know it takes time and conviction to make that effort once you are back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Key West. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the hammocks spread around the grounds are spectacular, the pool was refreshing and the waterfront view is great. The location is perfect for riding bikes around the island or downtown to Duvall St. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, especially Tracy, who we spoke to originally to set up our reservations. We had a death in the family and had to leave a day early, Tracy and Claudine took care of getting us checked out early without any problems. In addition to a great place to stay, I recommend the kite-boarding lessons to anyone who wants to give it a try. Matt and his staff were excellent. A microwave would be nice to have available in the room. We will definitely go back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaPP444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

I am so glad you got to spend a good amount of time here. Cycling is the perfect way to get around the island. It's so flat. I really appreciate your patronage, your observations and your Tripadvisor recommendation. Thank you from all of us at Ibis Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The New Year for us started with our beloved dog of 17 yrs.Aiko, crossing the rainbow bridge,New years eve morning. A girl friend visiting 4 days latter, saw the sadness & heard our story, & plus our 45th anniversary of Kathy putting up with me, said, 'you guys need an R&R, I have the 15th thru the 17th of Jan. free I can pet sit, go some place'. We brain stormed adding a day on either end, giving us 5 days, Mon thru Friday, That started the ball rolling, to find just the right spot,in a short time, 5 days to go any where we want! My wife wanted warmth!! maybe Hot Springs in Ice Land watching the northern lights? It IS our 45th. SO,after much give & take, Key West came into focus. My 1st time in Key West was 1955, our last time was a day trip from camping at Bahia Honda St Park, when the boys were in college, '92. We never stayed over night. so Key West it was, & How Blessed we were finding Ibis Bay!! Like other travelers, 1st its word of mouth,then its internet suggestions & reviews, we learned to read between the lines of sour reviews; for 5 days we just want to chill and recharge our life force batteries, no itinerary, no car, a peaceful location with water views around & access to The Action, if so desired. Kathy said shes not cooking, so no kitchen necessary! now,This IS our 45th so for 5 days Ill make pretend money is no object. Ill worry about that latter. so we searched for just the right spot. called a few, but when we called Ibis Bay, Derrick answered with such charm & patience, what with my machine gun questioning, that Kathy & I said this might be the spot, it sort of fit our criteria, we should check it out! Derrick advised us that there will be a waterfront room for us once we make the plane.All reservations in order, no passport needed, just flip flops. We landed in Key West at noon and got a cab to Ibis Bay. Our 1st impression was, Cool, Clean, Cozy, & Tropical, everyone we saw was working hard at keeping the raw flavor of old Key West alive, while being bathed in a clean, pleasant, fun, environment. Derrick was there to greet us, smiling said, you have a choice, the cozy rm. w/queen bed right on the water, or this other rm./ a suite at the opposite end of the complex,with a man grove screen by the water, hammocks out front, a little dock, shaded, It was clean, smartly painted, dressed in pretty, soothing colors. We loved it an made it home for the next 5 days. From that 1st afternoon, it just got better! Now we weren't treated like royalty, yes sir, no sir stuff; we were treated with respect, like family; We met Tony that 1st day and some of his family, who were working the fun desk that afternoon. That evening, while walking to dinner, I walked past a man in a neck tie, holding a pair of pruning shears, doing a little touch up, introduced himself as the owner, Chris, asking hows its going and is there anything he could do for us? Alan, while doing one chore or another made sure always asked the same questions, every day. We ate, drank & smiled, every day with all the wonderful staff at the Stone Crab, Austin made us feel at home & The food was fresh & good. The resident Ibis were very entertaining, as was the tortoises, but Goliath the Iguana stole the show. Right out our door. It was like national geographic. We made friends and on our anniversary day, was greeted at breakfast with mimosa's, and some of the finest tokens of friendship we have ever received, from the owner & staff, it was totally, Above& Beyond the call. We showed up as, 2 wrists, and went home leaving friends & family. Looking forward to our next visit to see every one again & Being Grand Parents, cant wait to bring the kids, for all the natural wholesome fun Ibis Bay has to offer,I want to try night time paddle boarding, and share such a laid back comfy spot, with our whole family because its A great place to stay with kids. till next time, Thank You, Ron & Kathy Ferrizzi from fridge ed PA.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy-Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

We were honored to have shared the 45th anniversary with you both. As you know, we all love this place and making new friends is our greatest reward. Thank you for spending such a special time here. See you when you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
958 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#28 of 51 in Key West
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $168 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing