We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed one night in room 209 with ocean view and a hammock right outside. Overall the place was really clean and quite. Service was great, they even helped us jump our car the morning after because we had problems with the battery, thank you Claudine and Niki!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisdayvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Isn't your own hammock on the beach great? More than one guest has said they slept overnight in their hammock it was so peaceful and comfortable. With tropical rain bursts that is risky. So glad you had a great time. Come back! Claudine and Nicki are two peas in a pod. Hysterical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    304
    187
    87
    102
See reviews for
245
427
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for three nights and was really impressed
Place is very clean and the staff are all very helpful
The rooms with a seaborne are amazing and the private 'beach' area is great with hammocks to use.
Pool is very nice along with the diner

Would definitely recommend this particularly if you are travelling on a budget

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicken999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
You raise a good point: affordability. There are only 8 hotels in Key West on the beach. ibis Bay is the most affordable and the least stuffy. We have 600ft of waterfront with jet-skis, paddle boards, kayackes and kiteboarding and of course beach-front rooms with private hammocks. I am glad you enjoyed it all. Thanks for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Looking just for a place to bed down, before making a business meeting, and after a long drive, and just plain tired, I instead found a place that alerted me to how cool Key West is, and vow to never go to a box-hotel again! The setting was with water views directly out my door, beautiful vistas, very relaxing. The Stoned Crab restaurant on site -great lunch and again, a different water side dining, and at night, they even had a really cool film showing on a giant (real movie-size) screen at pool side, popcorn and all! Next time I come to Key West, I'll come here, again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Your response is the response we really hope for. We are definitely an "out of the box" hotel. There are way too many of those. Thank you for taking the time to share your excitement with other travellers. See you next time you are on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Manager was awesome and the staff went out of there way to make us feel comfortable. Everything is there including jet ski rentals. The bar and restaurant are really good. The fishing charters are really close by. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magazinedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
As a Top Contributor to Tripadvisor you have a broad base of hotel experience to draw on. That makes your opinion of us extremely meaningful. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed Ibis Bay and The Stoned Crab Restaurant. We really love this place and continually work on all aspects of it. I hope you come back again soon. Thanks for taking the time to help with this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Overall a good stay. The front desk people aren't that friendly, but our room was good, the restaurant is yummy for any of the three meals. Hotel is on ocean, although boulders line the shore, they do have some hammocks and chairs in the sand. The parrots were a bit noisy during the night and morning, not quite sure why they have the birds facing the hotel rooms, but whatever. The parrot near the lobby does say welcome and is pretty funny. Room and bathroom were very small, but, it was good enough for us.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliecheeto2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The parrots love being around people so we keep them in a busy area. But, I admit they get noisy when they want attention. To quiet them down in the early morning and at night, we are going to try roll-down shades on their cage. Hopefully that will do the trick. I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were married a year ago on Smather's Beach November 15, 2011 and stayed at Ibis Bay Resort. We loved it! So we decided to return to celebrate our anniversary. And we are glad we did. The folks at Ibis have been renovating and we couldn't belive the difference a year made.
They have assembled an interesting compentent staff, all were very cordial. The rooms are intimate, clean and very colorful....... there is a litle beach with hammocks and chairs.

The Stoned Crab Resturant on site offers exceptional menu selections and I have been told by an "insider" they will soon have a new wine selection with emphasis on Austrailia and New Zeland wines.

Yes we will return next year............... highly reccommended!

Michael and Bonnie Noone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and The Stoned Crab for your anniversary. Your "insider" was right. We will be focusing our wine and beer list on the best from Down Under. Being an Aussie, I am excited to introduce some exciting products thare are
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I visit Key West maybe twice a year and this was a very cool place to stay. Simple , charming, Ket West "like", BUT the staff is outstanding! From Natasha in the Stone Crab restsurant, to Akosh at the pool bar, to Robert on our Jet Ski tour, to the owner getting us coffee because the restaurant wasn't open yet! These people know how to make a person enjoy a vacation! I almost don't want anyone else to know about this little jewel we discovered, but that just wouldn't be fair. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get a room by the water with the hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoniSho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
What a nice review. Everyone will love seeing their names mentioned. My business partner, Tony must have helped you with coffee. He's a really early riser. Don't worry about your "secret" getting spoiled. Tony and I are making Ibis Bay and The Stoned Crab restaurant better and better every day. Everyone here loves having a really unique place to share with people. That will never change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#35 of 48 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing