We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Getting there but way to go” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Getting there but way to go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had waterfront room. Bed was very worn out, sagged to middle.
Fridge did not work when we got there. Called front desk, they sent engineer, he comes in and tells us its a ow capacity fridge and we had too much stuff in it. I said really? He barely spoke english, said all rooms were full so we just had to deal with it. He left, I checked back of fridge and found an issue.Fixed it myself and worked full blast the rest of the time.

We also requested a microwave which was not in room, called and they had to get us one.

We ate at their resteraunt and the food was pretty good but the service was awful. The girl was clueless right down to when she brought the check she did not give me a pen to sign the bill. She was dreadful throughout the meal.

Had to ask twice for housekeeping to wash the floor. And we tipped them everyday.

Pool area was nice, no hot tub. Pool bar is not open all the time, so plan ahead, but you are not allowed to bring your own into pool area.

They are doing a lot of upgrades such as new sand, hammocks a small dock etc. However you are waterfront not beach front. There is no beach.

Not sure we would stay again based on matress issue. Our backs were killing us. And no headboards lets the bed move away from wall and you lose your pillows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooters7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I located your waterfront room and the problem turned out to be a broken bed base. We replaced it. All our mattresses are new so I knew it wasn't that.
"Little things" not going right can erode a great experience. Like you enjoying the food at The Stoned Crab but the waitress not leaving a pen to sign the check. I am going to use your review to address the issue at our weekly manager's meeting. Thank you for your insights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    320
    198
    90
    103
See reviews for
250
449
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

A "Mystery Vacation" air/hotel package brought us to the Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort, and we were pleasantly surprised. Our very clean room had a colorful, tropical decor, a flat screen television with lots of channels, and a dorm room size refrigerator with a large freezer for storing lots of ice. Another nice feature was the iPod charging/docking station alarm clock. In addition to the ample 3 drawer dresser, the room had a queen size bed, 2 night stands, relaxed, soothing light from 2 paper lantern lamps, and a pair of tropical island style turquoise cane chairs. It was quiet at night, so we slept very well on the comfortable pillow top mattress and noticed the quality bedding which included 4 pillows with allergen pillow covers, crisp white sheets, and a lightweight comforter. Another nice touch was the black facial wipe washcloth for make up removal. We loved the convenient location - close to restaurants, grocery/liquor stores, shopping centers and only 12 minutes by bike to Duval Street. Ibis Bay has a nice pool with music, a bar, and movies on Thursday nights. The beach area's hammocks and clean sand for our beach towels, created the perfect place for enjoying the sun and watching the Ibis birds. Owner Chris and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms have the best location, but we enjoyed our courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjm4PV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I met this lovely couple while they were enjoying a dice game on the beach one afternoon. We had a chance to talk a little about the hotel's past and its future. I am so glad they put their thoughts on "paper" because they are well-travelled and that perspective should be shared. Thank you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield
Level Contributor
263 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis Bay Resort for 5 nights with pretty much last minute reservations. Our room was pretty recently redone and it was very cute. BUT it was also pretty tiny. My husband missed a desk for his computer and I missed having a full-length mirror. I think adding a couple of hooks in the bathroom would make that area a bit easier to manage.That said - we slept great! We had enough room for our "stuff." There was a refrigerator and there were beach towles provided. The bath towels were not plush but they did the job. Our room was kept clean and resupplied with shamppo, soap, paper products as necessary. THe front desk folks were friendly and helpful and the Stoned Crab Restaurant, on site was great. No coffee in the rooms but coffee is free at the restaurant for guests. It was a 2 1/2 mile walk to town but the walk will be much better once the roadwork on Route 1 is finished.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Tripadvisor is a great way for me to know what our guests like and need. Ibis bay was built in 1956 and is therefore a protected historic structure. Changing the existing room sizes is not permitted but we can construct new rooms that are larger. So thats what we are doing. Thank your for your insights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

What a find, great price for an island style hotel right on the water in Key West. Short bike ride to Duval and all the bars, but nice and quiet for sleeping. Great pool all of the staff and servers/bartenders were great. Our sliding door opened right to a hammock on the sand overlooking the water.. Wonderful. On site restaurant, the Stoned Crab is also fabulous..can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoginisally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Everyone who works here loves this place as much as the guests. And I think that's what guests pick up on when they come here. I love your pic of your hammock on the beach. Thank you for writing your review. We all appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once again I stayed at Ibis Bay not once but two more times. The latter part of. September into the first week of October. Then again for 5 days during FantasyFest. As always the staff was great , rooms were clean, location is fantastic and the restaurant was top shelf. The only way I wont stay at Ibis when I am in Key West is if they are already booked up.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogued67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your support. Ibis Bay has come a long way recently thanks to some pretty big renovations being completed. But more importantly our great local staff are proud of their hotel and it shows. We are looking forward to you coming back. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wonderful combination of great location, nice facilities, excellent staff and good price. I really enjoyed the bright colors and lively decor in my spotless room. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The onsite restaurant was also very good. There was an opportunity to do many more things than I had time to do but just spending one night in this lovely atmosphere provided an outstanding memory.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hopefully next time you will get to stay longer. There is a lot to enjoy here but even one day in Key West can make you smile a brighter for quite a while. Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and enjoy your memory of us until we see you again. Make it soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Ibis Bay Waterfront resort is a unique place! Land tortoises live in the garden, hammocks everywhere and the pool has a large movie screen to watch while swimming at night. This is a fun place! As an added bonus, The Stoned Crab restaurant is on site. The food is delicious and a good value for the area. All of the employees were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
It's hard to describe Ibis Bay in a few words but you have done it well. It is VERY KEY WEST and unlike anywhere else. It is here for fun. Thank you for staying and please come back soon and see what else we have done by then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 49 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 49 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#31 of 49 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing