We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very nice stay and excellent service”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

When we arrived the staff was courteous and super welcoming. We enjoyed or stay overall and we were very happy when the restaurant reopened after being closed for renovations. The Fundesk associates were super helpful and scheduled the best adventures for us. The room was clean but could use a few updates but there wasn't anything we couldn't overlook (lighting, drain plugs, reverse hot and cold plumbing in the shower?, etc.). The restaurant was good and everyone on staff friendly. They just refurbished the beach area and it was very nice and clean. The wooden and tile floors in the room are unusual for a resort but they did a great job of keeping them clean and free of sand. They gave us an upgrade when we got there and that was super nice and unexpected. It's pretty far from the epicenter of Key West and with a two year construction project going on the cab fares get pretty expensive but if you like to walk the 3-4 miles downtown will keep off some of the calories you you will consume at some of the great restaurants in Key West! All in all a very decent service-oriented place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a waterfront suite on the lower floors. You'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for staying at Ibis Bay. Our new beaches ARE really beautiful. Being able to step barefoot out your hotel door directly onto a sparkling white beach is a treat. You dont need to go anywhere else. Just doze in a beach hammock between the palm trees with one of our frozen drinks. Or stay busy and count how many Ibis birds fly by before you need a re-fill. So many good choices! Thank you for bringing the faucet problem to my attention. Hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    365
    217
    101
    116
See reviews for
291
508
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We traveled to key west a week ago and stayed at the Ibis, It was great...we had an ocean view room....Every morning we woke up to aquanas outside our patio door...it was really clean ( i only wish they had a broom to sweep out the room since it is tile floor and when you go outside you bring sand in). We had a new remodeled room..very clean beds were comfortable. Needs more hooks in bathroom to hang towels..and for your clothes... We thought for the price it was paridise...I love the big beach towel on the bed they were great for the beach...we also requested a micowave and a coffee maker which was in our room when we arrived..(we had to buy our own coffee but that was okay)...Thanks for a great Stay...

Room Tip: we had a ocean view..we were over to the west side...it was quite and away from the car traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kameleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I responded to this very nice review as soon as it appeared but my response was never published. Needless to say I am very happy that Ibis Bay turned out to be your kind of paradise. Thank you so much for choosing Ibis Bay. We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband n I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary they helped us rent things to make our stay unforgettable!!!
I would deffenently tell everyone about this resort. Also the restaurant had amazing food at affordable prices.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carterzqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for posting your wonderful review. Making your anniversary special was fun for everyone at the resort too. The view across Ibis Bay is really beautiful, especially when you are lying in a hammock with someone you love. Happy Anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have visited the Ibis Bay during August and it was a really nice experience. The staff was extremely helpful and they also upgraded us to a beachfront!!! Pool is extremely clean and room was very well designed. Our room had a nice ipod player as well as LCD screen TV. The wildlife in the beach areas was very fun to deal with. The location is very good as well. It is not in the heart of duval which might make you to take a cab or drive. Food was very good in the stoned crab. We usually ate breakfast however the crab menu was also very nice. This is the first time i am writing a review and i purposely picked this place. I have seen some bad reviews about the place and felt like writing some of my experience. The Staff will do anything to make your stay pleasant. Please note that this place is going under a huge renovation and some minor things should be ok during this time. I had an amazing stay in Ibis and i will definitely go back and stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank murat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Its really nice for us to read that a guest really "gets" Ibis Bay as you did. We are Key West locals so Ibis Bay is quirky and different in good ways. We use found objects (like the very rusty bicycle you photographed) as art. We love that nature invades us instead of us invading them. We serve local fish, lobster and crab that we catch with our own boats. If you want predictable, there are plenty of chain hotels here, but there is only one Ibis Bay. Thanks for noticing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a Queen Bed Courtyard 2nd floor room for 3 nights. The room was cozy and comfortable. The staff was eager to assist and in general the place was very nice and clean. Not having a light in the shower made it a bit dark, and the lack of towel racks to hang your bathing suits and towels was a bit odd. The pool was very nice and the restaurant had great food! the 'beach' was a bunch of rocks that 'if' you could get over you could go swim. I did like that they had jet skis to rent on premises. The parrots, iguanas and tortoises were really cool! It wasn't too far from Duvall (although we did have to drive it) and it was close to everything we wanted to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
When I saw your title and rating I thought' "This is bad". But reading your review it was clear you really liked virtually EVERYTHING about Ibis Bay and The Stoned Crab Restaurant. I will check your room's towel racks. We are rebuilding and landscaping our beaches (the tractors are at the hotel today). Key West's natural beaches are coral rock. Any white sand beach is man-made. Unfortunately the last owners let the hotel beaches deteriorate. Next time you come, there will be easy access for swimming, paddleboarda, kyacks and lots of fresh white sand. That will make a big difference. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Ibis Bay is a great place to stay. It is quiet and far enough from downtown to need a scooter, which you can rent onsite. Scarlett at the Fun Desk went above to be helpful with tips and ideas. Tom the host/bartender was great at making sure we had plenty to keep us cool at the beautiful pool. Cynthia in maintence always made sure we had everything we needed. GREAT STAFF. My only complaint was no coffee maker in each room. Truly a wonderful vacation at Ibis Bay. Chris

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinedbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Sounds like you had a fun time. I will show your review to each staff member you mentioned so that they know you appreciated their service. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Marathon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Found ourselves at Ibis Bay for a Clear Channel Radio event and were very pleasantly surprised. We pass this place every time we head into Old Town Key West and always wonder what it's like. Well, now we know. We ate only the food they served for the special event, but it was all tasty and nicely presented. Want to return to sample the actual menu. The bar scene was a blast and the highlight was our bartender, Shannon. She really knows the meaning of service. Highly recommend this as a fun stop for Keys locals on your way in or out of KW as well as for visitors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twofish423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for coming to the event. The Clear Channel party was a great fundraiser for local charities. Key Westers are so surpised when they see how much we've done at Ibis Bay since we took it over. Hope you'll come back and try some of our fresh local seafood at The Stoned Crab. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing