We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice mini resort feel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice mini resort feel.”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Currently renovating but it was not a disturbance in any way. Not a cookie cutter hotel which is what we like. Had 4 tropical birds, 2 huge turtles, iguanas, and huge sand castles. It is on the water too. Staff was very accommodating, food in restaurant was average. Nice pool area too. Great value for the rate. In trolley route.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tls0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    359
    213
    97
    110
See reviews for
280
493
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This place is not half as bad as many of these older reviews suggest! It has been tastefully renovated recently. Let's be clear - this is the not four seasons but you are not paying four seasons prices, people!

Room was clean and staff were friendly. I didn't spend any time in the resort itself, just the room for a couple of night of nights. It's not located near the tourist areas of key West, so you will want a car. Or rent a bike. Try for a waterfront room, or you may get a carpark on either side. Handy for parking (!).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sebage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was conflicted about booking this resort based on the reviews I read here. We arrived in Key West and it was pouring! We decided to have a drink at the bar at the resort. There was a patron swearing up a storm, lots of F bombs, then the bartneder joined in. The food we ordered was pretty good, thumbs down on the house punch. I had reserved a 2nd floor room and was given a first floor room without asking us. Which turned out to be okay. The room was clean, sparsley furnished, nice flat screen, separate kitchenette area (microwave, fridge and sink). The bathroom had been partially remodelled, the side that was done was beautiful but the old shower stall could use replacing. The bed was comfortable but the pillows could use an upgrade. The room was tile floor and could have used a rug especially since it rained our whole stay. Housekeeping came late in the day, we are earlier risers so we would have appreciated a early room cleaning. Breakfast was good especially with the coupon from Trip advisor, it was free. I would stay here again. It is a cute old Florida Resort if you are looking for bells and whistles this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Whatever you do, do not go by the bad reviews of others. My husband and I stayed at the Ibis during fantasy fest Oct 27-31 we had a great time the entire time we were there. get yourself a scooter from the Fun Desk Guy Mike and you are on your way to all in a matter of minutes.The owner Chris,the location,staff,bar, pool and restaurant all lots of fun and had a great time. and Yes this is not a 5 star hotel but with renovations up and coming before you know it will be looking like a 4 star hotel. The rooms are neat and clean.the bathroom could use a bit more updating but that will come in time i'm sure. Hey Rome wasn't built in a day.You get a fun, warm, welcoming feeling from all the staff and the bartender ashleigh was bubbily and told us places to go while at duvaul street.Jason was a nice guy kept things in order and made sure your dining experience was a good one. food was okay. the stonecrab is a must thanks to the GM who does the crabbing.the Rum Cake,hot wings and burgers are delicious. my husband liked the keylime pie. entrees need a little help but they were good. John the magician/card trick guy was great. buy him a drink he was worth it.great location Duvaul st is a 10 min. scooter ride, to any fast food or department stores 5 min. ride.we had fun filming the sandmaster show with the travelchannel and watching prof. splash dive into the pool of 12"of water. that was great! i also was on a local radio station and won a pineapple drink w/free refills for the eintire day thanks Chris. The price was right but just a suggestion incorporate the extra $10 a day into the price. people see extra chrge its a turn off. I was dissappointed not having my frig or hair dryer in my room upon arrival as i requested but i just had to ask for it and they brought it right up. Suggestion..to Chris the owner please get water filtration system please! the water down in the keys is horrible as it is so that makes ice cubes horrible and that made us drink beer in which we'd rather have mixed drinks. you could be loosing lots of money because of that and this might hold me back in returning to the Ibis.All in All we had a great time and have fond memories of the locals and guests we met. Joe, kenny and CiCi from Massachuettes were lots of fun wish we could have said good bye. Cici you have my number call me. local guy steve from the little town in Ohio you were lots of fun sorry for interrupting your quiet time at the bar, you know us New Yorkers are loud and even louder being from Long Island and then you mix in some Massachuettes people well need i say more and you have to admit you had a great time cause you did tell your buddy Mike with the golden nugget. Hey Mike, quesa deche, gumba! take care and hope to see you all again in a few years. off to vegas next year. if we do well in vegas maybe we will be back in october again.

Room Tip: if you like people watching and action get the rooms overlooking the courtyard/pool area. it was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomandRitaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This resort has good prices compared to others and there is definitely a reason why! The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting, room was filthy and not at all what the pictures on the website portrayed. Good thing we brought beach towels because they only gave us 2 towels for 4 people in our room. We asked the front desk for more towels and they said they ran out. Ran out of towels! The maid didn't clean our room until we complained and asked them too and we had to ask 3 times for more toilet paper. There are only sheers on the windows so the sun pours in at 6:00 am and the mattresses are seriously uncomfortable. The locals informed us it was the only hotel on the island that ever had a shooting and the hotel is known for drug dealers and prostitutes. It looks like they are trying to clean it up but they have some serious work to do and some serious management problems. We had a good sense of humor about the whole situation so we dealt with it and made the best of it. I don't know how people give this place good reviews.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KellyBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Come on man! Seriously?! Parking lot on BOTH sides of the room? Parking lot 36 inches from the front door AND the slider doors next to the bed?! Come on man?! The sliders, I might add, that had what equated to a bed sheet that would not come close to covering the window?! By the bed? Come ON, man!!

And how about the lovely 1989 wall unit air conditioner, with broken vents and nobs? I was back in the lobby in 5 minutes to tell them it was unacceptable, no refund on a "sold out" weekend. The staff lied and said i was in the room an hour. I WAS IN THE LOBBY waiting for the nerdy staffer to call the manager! Come on man!

Don't be temped to stay here unless you plan to be unconcious when you are.

Room Tip: maybe the waterfront rooms are in a time warp and are actually okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The rooms are clean. The restaurant food is very good!!! The staff was helpful and courteous. Bathroom space is limited but definitely doable, we had 6 people in our room and did just fine!
If you want extra towels they are limited, but ask for whatever you want, refrigerator, hair dryer, rollaway bed (small fee), microwave and you get it. We requested a waterfront room when we got there and early check in and got both. The pool area is really nice. The location is a long bus ride from down town and it's convenient to catch although it does not run frequently, that is the only down fall to staying here. On the plus side it is removed from town and gives you an escape from the crowds. Alot of the bad reviews were from before the renovations and the new owner is sprucing the place up daily. You can rent bikes or motor vehicles and they will bring them to you at the hotel and pick them up also. It is convenient to Kmart, Albertsons (great souvenir prices) and a liquor store, dollar store and pizza shop. All walkable. Don't forget to visit the Key West Tropical Gardens when there. It's a 6 min drive and so worth the time. Very peaceful, you can spend 1/2 hr or two if you wish. But be sure to spray with OFF supplied free at the admissions office before setting off. (it's only $5.00 for admission small price for the preservation it sustains). Save your bread from meals to feed the Ibis that will roam freely around the hotel. (but not obnoxiously) Enjoy the hammocks too! If you are looking for luxury then go pay the westin prices otherwise this is a great place for the money!!

Room Tip: Waterfront if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vikki1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#32 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing