We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the worst hotel in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Probably the worst hotel in the world!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Do not stay here! It is disgusting. It was an awful experience that I do not recommend even to my worst enemy. It is filthy, the employes are unfriendly and inexperienced and worse of all they are not serious people. I was cheated when making my reservation and led to believe that the room was something completely different than what it ended up being. In the end, me and my wife ended up sleeping in the floor, because there was no room for us and the kids (and we are not fat, at all!!). We complained but they simply did not care.
I wish you all a good trip,
Filipe

Room Tip: There is unfortunately no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank filgud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Since February, when this guest stayed at the hotel, a new management team hired by the new owners has made big improvements in staffing and more rooms have been renovated. If you read the majority of our reviews you can see that most guests (not all!) rate their stay at Ibis Bay positively now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    348
    211
    96
    110
See reviews for
276
483
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights this past weekend. We had stayed here last year when it was the Blue Lagoon. It really was not my first choice of places to stay for this weekend because we wanted to be in Old Town and at a nicer place. However, I had a tough time finding B & B's in town with (1) vacancies (2) no 3-night minimum and (3) somewhat reasonable rates. So, I turned to Blue Lagoon as a last resort, and was surprised to see that after years and years, it had a new identity: Ibis Bay.

When we stayed at Blue Lagoon last year, it was cheap and had a huge pool, but not remotely impressive. The bed was awful, the linens cheap, the lighting in the room almost nonexistent, and just generally, trashy. What a difference a year has made.

-The staff are cleaner. Last year the front desk guy was kind of scuzzy and uncommunicative. This year, they're in uniforms and are pleasant and helpful.
-The lobby is no longer dark and dingy. It's bright and happy and Key Westy.
-The exteriors have all been painted and are really cute.
-The waterfront area, including the areas around 600 rooms, has been cleaned up significantly with new sand added.
-The rooms - wow, what a difference. Our room had clean, white beadboard wainscotting with blue walls. The bathroom had expensive-looking blue glass tiles around the sink, which had new fixtures. The bed was awesome - king size, comfortable, with tons of pillows and high quality linens. I recognized the end tables from Ikea - simple, but they did the job. We also had a decent-size flatscreen tv, which was nice when we wanted to nap before going on. The window treatments were even nicely done. As for decor, they got rid of that stale, floral-print old motel stuff - no tacky pastel sunset paintings or anything like that. Instead, they had vibrantly colored, retro-style travel posters framed on the wall and a nice navy blue and white duvet. The remodel was really well done.
-There were also plastic adirondack chairs in front of our room, which was nice when we wanted to have a beer before going out.

The negative:
-It would have been really nice to have a small refrigerator in our room. On our last day, I saw a small fridge, microwave and coffeemaker sitting outside the room next to us, as though they were going in.
-We didn't use the pool area because there were just too many kids in it. I work with kids; I don't need to hang around them on vacation! Obviously, this is not the hotel's fault, but something that visitors to Key West should keep in mind - this hotel may attract more families than typical Key West lodging.
-You have to take a cab (or drive. But who wants to drive in Key West?) to get to Old Town.
-The parking lot still kind of sucks. We got blocked in the parking lot by a delivery truck at the restaurant one day. Also, they still have parking down by the rooms facing US-1 - a huge Chevy Tahoe was parked 6-feet in front of our room for our stay in a legit parking space. I don't know why they need to use those spaces. It would be nice for room 606 and the room next to it not to have other people's cars at their doorstep.

I'm not sure what some of the people reviewing here are talking about, re: disgusting rooms and no phones. Our room had a phone and it was totally clean. Maybe all of the rooms haven't been remodeled? I don't know. But it's a decent buy for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpdubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you. I am so glad someone who knew how far we have come wrote about it. Honestly, Ibis Bay has a phenomenal waterfront location but everything else from a year ago did need work. We re-invest in improvements every day so guests have a better experience. Ibis Bay is also locally-owned, we are not corporate and don't want a "slick" corporate identity. When you walk in the Ibis Bay lobby, you are experiencing Key West. Keep coming back and you will keep seeing big more improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I am currently sitting here in a room that has maybe a 20 or so inch screen...not flat....one dining room chair...two beds one of which moves because it has wheels...the bathroom is so darn small a full of mold and shower stains on the tub as if you left a shampoo bottle there for years and the hard water stained it...the shower knobs are worn down as if they have been sitting in sea water for years....the sliding glass door does not slide....the air was totally off so the room was musty and hot....no head boards.....I could have done better in a freakin shack!!! There are stains all over the counter top, the little bit that is there in the little bathroom......oh and the kicker I was told we had parking in front of our room....nope not true!!! They were all handicap!!!!!!! Thanks....we have a lot of crap since we did south beach first and came over here....oh and don't be fooled by "WATER FRONT" VIEWS!!! I totally not worth the extra money!! This totally SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS!! Worst room I have ever stayed in thanks Crap IBIS MOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chewbacca3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
The discounted, un-renovated room this guest chose is extra-affordable. Guests who choose our low-priced un-renovated rooms are told they can inspect the room and upgrade to a newly renovated room within 30 minutes after their check-in if they are not happy. I wish this guest had made that change. We are renovating this original 1956 hotel room by room. Unfortunately we are not a chain hotel and we can't accomplish it all immediately. Affordability in Key West is rare so we feel it is a positive option for those guests who value it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jupiter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were bumped from the double tree - 19 of our
Jupiter seahawk 10 under and 12 under girls to the Ibis for a tournament against the lady conchs . The rooms were dirty - some unfinished - staff were hard to deal with mostly russian / euro type . the dJ on saturday afternoon invited 6 strippers to the pool for a show in front of the young girls coming off a a game . disgusting place manager did nothing to stop or did they care .
the double tree refunded half of our money - they were great to deal with and quite embarrassed .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fisherguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
This group of guests was highly agitated when they checked-in because they were bumped from their original hotel. It was an emergency situation and we gave them them the only rooms we had left. They were un-renovated rooms. They did not like them and were very rude to the Front Desk staff about it. Also the statement about "6 strippers putting on a show" is just not true. We are a family resort. The pool is also in full view of a main road and our restaurant. Management reviewed our two pool security cameras and saw nothing of the sort. A guest from that group did have an argument with the pool DJ. I imagine this story is a "payback" aimed at him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and three days. The room was cute and simple with a key west style. No closet though, but we kept our clothes in our luggage.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Most awful experience ever . Dirty rooms , no furniture, clogged bathroom drain which caused bathtub to overflow. Had to get out of shower with soap in hair to go tell lobby because their are no phones in rooms. Then wait an hour for someone to come knock on the door to hand me a plunger to fix my own bathtub. Spent a total of 3 hrs before becoming fed up and leaving. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place . Price is enticeing but don't be fooled like us . Almost ruined our vacation. Run ......

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
I appreciate this review, even though it is negative. Without positive and/or negative comments, it is hard for us to judge how we are really doing. Our housekeeping standards are high at IBIS BAY. But obviously this room was not up to standard. I have shown this review to the Head Housekeeper to make sure she is aware of the problem so it will be corrected. While our rooms ARE modestly furnished, they include all new beds, bedside tables, a flat screen TV and at least one side chair in every room. Many rooms have a small cafe table and two chairs. There are two outdoor chairs for most rooms as well. I invite this guest back with my compliments to give our staff another chance to make a good impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Nice hotel & great location to shops & restaurants. Great place to watch the sunset. Minutes from shops &restaurants. For $99 a night not bad at all that meant more money for you to have a good time. The rooms are very beach like. You can watch the sunset or have a drink at the bar. The bed is alright & I bathroom is fine too enough to get clean up.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canes73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,310 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
818 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
2.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#33 of 51 in Key West
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing