We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyers Beware... AWFUL. Dirty, clogged bathtub overflowed, got handed a plunger to fix it .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Buyers Beware... AWFUL. Dirty, clogged bathtub overflowed, got handed a plunger to fix it .”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Most awful experience ever . Dirty rooms , no furniture, clogged bathroom drain which caused bathtub to overflow. Had to get out of shower with soap in hair to go tell lobby because their are no phones in rooms. Then wait an hour for someone to come knock on the door to hand me a plunger to fix my own bathtub. Spent a total of 3 hrs before becoming fed up and leaving. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place . Price is enticeing but don't be fooled like us . Almost ruined our vacation. Run ......

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
I appreciate this review, even though it is negative. Without positive and/or negative comments, it is hard for us to judge how we are really doing. Our housekeeping standards are high at IBIS BAY. But obviously this room was not up to standard. I have shown this review to the Head Housekeeper to make sure she is aware of the problem so it will be corrected. While our rooms ARE modestly furnished, they include all new beds, bedside tables, a flat screen TV and at least one side chair in every room. Many rooms have a small cafe table and two chairs. There are two outdoor chairs for most rooms as well. I invite this guest back with my compliments to give our staff another chance to make a good impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    360
    214
    98
    113
See reviews for
284
498
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Nice hotel & great location to shops & restaurants. Great place to watch the sunset. Minutes from shops &restaurants. For $99 a night not bad at all that meant more money for you to have a good time. The rooms are very beach like. You can watch the sunset or have a drink at the bar. The bed is alright & I bathroom is fine too enough to get clean up.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canes73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here overnight while our home was getting fumigated for termites. Rooms were cute & clean, but hardly any furniture. The only place to store clothes was a small low table that had baskets in the only shelf. No desk, couch or closet. It was fine for overnight, but would not want to spend a week there. Restaurant is good and on site, but the main part of Key West (Duval Street) is about a mile away, so you'd have to take a cab.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We decided to come to Key West with another couple for a three days Memorial Day weekend. We didn't ask for side by side rooms but the office made that arrangement which was awesome. They help us book an electric car, parasailing and a sunset dinner cruise. The pool and restaurant were very nice. Food was delicious. The rooms were adorable. No place to unpack but for a couple of days it was no big deal. The only negative was that our rooms were not made up the second day we were there. We had to find the cleaning lady to get clean towels. But as the say in the Keys, “relax” so we weren’t stressed about it. We got our towels, took showers and were off to a wonderful night downtown. We are from South Florida and we would definitely stay there again. A great deal for the price.

Room Tip: ask which rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayjo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This may a friend and I travelled to Key West on a whim, we made no plans except for renting a car. Arriving in Key West we were a little offset when we found that the local Best Western had rooms starting at $199.
A local suggested we try the Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort. I will be grateful for that guy for a while. We got an awesome rate and a great room with a small beach right out of our back door.
The Ibis Bay is truly a great place to stay while in the Keys. Our room was a small double and it had everything we needed to enjoy our stay in what can be an overpriced town. The resort is located a few miles from Duval street but there are plenty of places to rent a scooter or bike, we had a car but we could have gone with any option equally
The restaurant and bar were reasonably priced and had live entertainment. The pool and beach were nice enough that we didn't leave during the day. We found the staff to be kind, courteous and efficient.
All in all The Ibis Bay made our trip a fun and memorable get away. I will be returning every time I go to Key West.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EricJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

PROS:
1. Nice staff, very helpful and responsive
2. Location was nice and it was pretty quiet

CONS:
1. It is a motel, basically
2. The rooms are about 400 sq ft and they have no amenities
3. Small bathrooms really suck
4. It is nowhere near worth 200/night...70 maybe but not more than that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyFaceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
It was nice to read the PROS of your review. We are working hard and hearing that it shows is motivating. As far as price goes, you can't stay in Key West for the kind of price you are suggesting. Our prices are constantly monitored and kept in line with our competitors. There are more facilities at more expensive hotels and I understand that is the main point you are making. But those hotels are higher priced. Ibis Bay started in the 1950s as a motel. To maintain the historic nature of the original ground floor room, they have to stay at approximately 400+ sq ft. We have already opened, a wind and power watersports facility, boat dock and marina, a high quality restaurant plus two new beaches. Without destroying the 1950s nature of the place, we are building a business conference facility, spa and large luxury rooms on the second floors this summer. Please come back and see how we are doing. Thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My friend and I drove 28 hours from wisconsin to come visit Keywest. The minute we check into the Ibis Bay it was great. We had a ocean front room and it was awesome. The room was very clean and super cute! All the staff were super friendly,helpful,and fun.I would totally come back again,and hopefully soon!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkiigrl_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing