We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Angelina Makes You Feel At Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelina Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angelina Guest House
Ranked #18 of 86 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Angelina Makes You Feel At Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Angelina Guest House is a charming B&B, comfortable, clean and quiet with lazy kitties laying around. We found parking across the street and stayed put the entire time. My friend and I stayed in the Trixie room, which had a queen bed, small table & chairs, nice bathroom with wheelchair access, mini-fridge and microwave. Quite roomy. We chilled a bottle of wine and enjoyed it poolside. Plenty of deck chairs, lush garden, heated water and trickling waterfall.
Breakfast was the typical fare of cereal, cinnamon rolls, bagels, toast, boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee and juice. We also had breakfast at the Six-Toed Cat -- a little pricey but good. There are chairs on the porch which is nice for sipping coffee in the morning and people-watching.

You really can't go wrong spending your time in Key West in Angelina House.

Also just down the block from Angelina's is Blue Heaven -- one of the best places to eat!
Duval Street is another block away -- wall-to-wall shops, bars and restaurants.

Bike rentals are right on the property & we rode down to the Fort Zachary Taylor State Park where we found a small beach to stretch out and relax. I opened my eyes and was startled by a huge cruise ship just down the beach! The next day we rode to Dog Beach which was very tiny and chair-to-chair people. It wasn't until we were leaving Key West when we discovered a better beach, Smather's Beach, however it's pretty far out from the B&B. We also rode to Mallory Square for the sunset and street performers.

Room Tip: Our downstairs room was roomy, quiet and accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinabwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    155
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
45
399
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Angelina Guest House but feel that there are a few things that could make the stay even more enjoyable. We stayed at a very busy period where they were fully booked, so had to move rooms after one night into another room due to bookings. It wasn't a big deal and staff made the room change easy. Both rooms were nice but the bath towels in both rooms were old and worn (holes in most of them) and could use changing. The rooms are clean and comfortable but new towels would be nice! Bike rentals should be complimentary given the cost of the accomodation. Also breakfast is nice but fresh fruit (banana's, apples) would be a nice addition. Bagles and cinnamon rolls are tasty but some healthy options would be nice to! Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaliGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Owners and staff were great. I arrived early, but they made room for my motorcycle, gave me a place to change clothes and I started my walking tour. The location made walking to everything easy. The room was very clean and comfortable. The grounds are very nice with a nice pool. Breakfast was great and the cinnamon rolls they make are awesome. One of the neighborhood roosters did start work a little early but that's not in the staff's control! Will return with my wife and a longer stay.

Room Tip: I had a room that had a "shared" bathroom and this was not a problem at all as 2 were avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 231deuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We've stayed here twice and agree, the landscaping is lovely and the breakfast good. However, both times we stayed we have had problems with noise. The first time was when we were awoken at 0730 by work going on in the loft, right near our room. It continued so long we just got up bleery eyed and started our day. An option to sleep in, undisturbed, isn't too much to ask but we hoped this was a one off and weren't too deterred from booking for our next trip.

The second time was much much worse. The guesthouse was fully booked minus our room with some kind of party (birthday I think) but we didn't know this beforehand. At around 0130 we were awoken by people running up and down the hall just outside our room shouting and acting generally drunk. We had words with them ourselves, twice, but they just got louder. We tried knocking on the door to where the owners live, part of the guesthouse, but there was no answer. This continued for hours and we we had to get up pretty early the next day as we had a lot planned. Grossly unimpressed with our fellow guests we informed the management at the house the following morning. They did say that there was a phone on the landing to call them but this was hidden by the group of drunken guests congregating outside our room so we didn't know it was there. The doors are relatively thin so sleep was impossible for most of the night.

Naturally we weren't at all happy so we suggested that the party of guests split our room cost between them but I don't think they were keen...what a surprise. To their credit the management refunded 1 nights stay to try and make up for the issues we experienced, though we did have to push the point a little to get a proper reply. Whilst the gesture was appreciated, the following day wasn't really enjoyed as it should have been as both of us were really sleepy all day. We get precious little time off of work and to have a night and the following day ruined by inconsiderate guests is really out of order.

Would we go again? Yes, but I would call the owners immediately with any problems on the phone that's on the landing (now we know it's there). Other than this the guesthouse is really clean and very quaint. If you happen to be staying at the same time as seasoned travellers/decent human beings you should't have a problem but I would check first that no large parties are booked before committing to a booking.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, it's the fellow guests you need to watch out for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

So glad we found this place. Helpful staff. Pool was wonderful! Lush and private grounds. Bike rental on site that we certainly took advantage of. Unsure what the other guest found uncomfortable about his soft bed, we thought ours was very comfortable and clean. Pillows were also comfortable. Breakfast was great. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly. Same could be said by many people we met there over the week we stayed that keep coming back to Angelina's year after year. We can see why. We stayed street level with a queen bed, couch, huge bathroom, fridge and microwave. Roosters roam all over Key West. Be sure to pack earplugs if you do not want to hear them crowing at 5 a.m. (But I will admit I got used to it and kind of liked it by the end of our stay.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattih48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed two different nights in two different rooms and both were AWESOME! The owners and staff are the GREATEST, but THE CINNAMON ROLLS, they are SPECTACULAR! We did not have many planned things going to Key West, we kinda wanted to go with the flow. Julie was AWESOME and made sure that we were all set up, THANK YOU! Hope you enjoyed the Mahi. This will be the place we stay when we go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTiredTrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Have to say the people are real friendly, the place is quaint, the pool area nicely landscaped and maintained. As others have rated the cinnamon rolls for breakfast were great, so why do I say "fell short". We had a king bed that sank so badly that we would have slept better in a hammock. My rule #1 is that a place must be clean, which it was; but failed on my rule #2 which is comfort, since the bed was so uncomfortable, I could not honestly recommend anyone to stay. It's difficult for me to believe that anyone in this business is not aware of poor sleeping accomodations, mattresses do not fail overnight. I think if you read other reviews, you will find that my review is consistent. Angelina, you only have one shot at getting this right, spend the money on new beds.

Room Tip: I would shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Captain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksandjr, Owner at Angelina Guest House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
As owners of the Angelina our number one priority is making sure our guests are happy. We are unaware of which room this review was about but are pleased to announce we have new mattresses for all the king rooms. (We have replaced all of our other mattresses this past year also). We do appreciate this feedback so we can continually improve our facility. Our only regret is that these mattresses did not arrive before Captain T stayed with us. However we are surprised that the rating of this stay did not match the comments as it appears the rest of the stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.6 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#11 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#10 of 86 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angelina Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelina Guest House

Property: Angelina Guest House
Address: 302 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7306
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Angelina Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angelina Guest House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing