We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Theatre”
Review of Tropic Cinema

Tropic Cinema
Ranked #1 of 9 Fun & Games in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tropic Cinema is South Florida's only nonprofit multiplex cinema screening 1st-run indie, foreign and documentary films and Hollywood blockbusters every day. With 4 theaters, state-of-the art projection services and the best concessions stand anywhere (we serve wine and beer and drizzle our popcorn with 100% melted butter), it's no wonder Florida Monthly magazine named Tropic Cinema "Florida's Best Cinema" for four consecutive years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Town and Country, Missouri
Level Contributor
168 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cool Theatre”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very interesting decor, reasonable prices, great sound system and comfortable seats. If the sun isn't shining in Key West this would be a great place to see a movie.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthkred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    127
    18
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cute cinema!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

During 9 days in KY we decided to see a film, mainly as we'd cycled past this cinema on many occasions and thought it looked great. What a lovely experience! The cinema is small and beautiful - very Art Deco and shiny -so far removed from British multiplexes. There are high quality snacks on sale and the patrons seemed quiet and interested in the film i.e. no chatting or mobile phones! I think it might be staffed by volunteers but I'm not sure. It's well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, NH
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The best little movie theater we've ever seen”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Wow, what a place to see a movie. We happened to catch "All is Lost" with Robert Redford. The sound was awesome. But what's really cool is the food you can buy (all locally made) and the wine you can buy and take to your seat. What a pleasant surprise. This theater is a real gem.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherinerantham_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Movie Theatre Ever”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Before deciding to visit this theatre I did a little research. After seeing that alcohol is served here, it didn't take long for me to know this place was special. It is a very intimate theatre with about four movie rooms. You really can't go wrong with this place. The volunteers were so friendly and there were plenty of drink choices. If you are visiting Key West, you have to check out this place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the small theatre!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great little theatre was quaint. We had maybe 15 of us in there. Old style seats were not as comfortable and new theatres but really enjoyed the experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropic Cinema also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Tropic Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing