We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Tropic!”
Review of Tropic Cinema

Tropic Cinema
Ranked #1 of 11 Fun & Games in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tropic Cinema is South Florida's only nonprofit multiplex cinema screening 1st-run indie, foreign and documentary films and Hollywood blockbusters every day. With 4 theaters, state-of-the art projection services and the best concessions stand anywhere (we serve wine and beer and drizzle our popcorn with 100% melted butter), it's no wonder Florida Monthly magazine named Tropic Cinema "Florida's Best Cinema" for four consecutive years.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Orchard Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Love the Tropic!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Every year we go to Key West right before the Academy Awards. The Tropic Cinema is always playing the movies that are up for awards. I find myself checking their website about a month in advance to see what will be playing while we are there. This year it was Silver Linings Playbook with Bradley Cooper. We look forward to this movie theater because it is so unique and everyone working/volunteering there is so pleasant. I love that you can have a glass of wine or beer, key lime pie, brownies or ice cream at the movies. It is truly a fun experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wannabeconch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    129
    18
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great theater with charactor”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Old style therater in wonderful condition with excellent features reminescent of great old theaters of the 1930's yet this has all new technology and comforts

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice theatre”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a quaint, little multiplex, that has history and a family vibe to it. The theatre we were in likely had a capacity of 80 or so. We saw Life of Pi in 3D and it was a different form of 3D glasses that was excellent to watch. Real butter on the popcorn which is a plus. Highly recommend this theatre. Remember to arrive early a ,s the theatres are small to avoid disappointment!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Otnorot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Movies and I don't care what you see”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Bought our ticket, went to the concession stand for popcorn and a bottle of Wine--Yes, you heard right, a bottle of wine $28. We brought our own plastic wine glasses. What a treat. The Tropic shows movies for couples and all are great. They leave the blood and other body parts to other theaters so you can just decide you want to see a movie and go there. What more can you ask for?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Oasis!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I like EVERyTHING about this place, but mostly the fact that it is not necessarily kid-friendly. The features are adult-oriented, auditoriums small, and there are no sticky floors, trash all over the place and no one kicking o the back of my seat. It's an amazing escape

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EvidentlyInvisible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropic Cinema also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Tropic Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing