We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropic Cinema

Tropic Cinema
Ranked #1 of 9 Fun & Games in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tropic Cinema is South Florida's only nonprofit multiplex cinema screening 1st-run indie, foreign and documentary films and Hollywood blockbusters every day. With 4 theaters, state-of-the art projection services and the best concessions stand anywhere (we serve wine and beer and drizzle our popcorn with 100% melted butter), it's no wonder Florida Monthly magazine named Tropic Cinema "Florida's Best Cinema" for four consecutive years.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Was a delight to be in this movie theatre. Small and intimate but with a big screen. Like you are in your own screening room (if you were rich enough).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rekameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    125
    18
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

A varied programme, intimate theaters and knowledgeable staff help to make this cinema a very good experience for those who like a short break from the bars, beaches and restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bryanll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Visited Key West for 5th consecutive year, and this is the first time I ever saw a movie on the Island. Passed by this place every year, and just never felt the inclination to see a movie. Pleasantly surprised by the decor and friendliness of staff. Nice size theatre screen and comfortable seats. I will definitely visit again next year.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidS050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

quirky theatre, offbeat movies, marilyn monroe statue. I kind of never want to go to another movie theatre.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin14327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wine, Beer and a Movie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I always like the Florida movie theatres where you can have a drink and see a movie. Tropic Cinema has some very unique reading material and a nice homey seating area in the waiting area. I enjoyed reading the books and magazines here. I would like to see some special pricing nights as I thought the tickets were a bit steep.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gmwavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropic Cinema also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Tropic Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing