We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day of fishing and snorkeling”
Review of Zia Charters

Zia Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a private, custom and casual charter company based here in Key West. We offer fishing, snorkeling, responsible dolphin watching, sandbar hopping, sunset cruises, film and water production and more! Our 26 foot Angler PANGA was carefully chosen for our unique Key's water experiences. We can easily travel into the shallow protected waters of the Gulf side mangrove islands and flats to the North. We can also comfortably cruise the open waters, reefs, and shipwrecks of the Caribbean to the South. We have spent the last 10 years exploring these amazing waters and look forward to sharing this experience with you. Every charter is unique- call now to create yours!
Dallas, TX
1 review
“Great day of fishing and snorkeling”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had an awesome day of fishing and snorkeling with Capt. Jeremy. He was very professional and knowledgeable and made sure we were having a great time. He went the extra mile to maximize our fishing time. We hooked several species of fish including nurse sharks (100-200 lbs), lemon sharks (100 lbs +), spinner sharks, blue runners, yellow tail, mango snapper, grunts, Spanish mackerel, and ballyhoo. The shark fishing was amazing as they put up a great fight. Jeremy baited all of our lines and unhooked the fish very quickly so we could get a pole back in the water ASAP. He cleaned our fish so that we could have them cooked at a local restaurant that evening. The snorkeling was also great, as we got to see large stingrays, nurse sharks, barracuda, sea turtles, and numerous assorted reef fish. My wife gets motion sick very easily so he went to very calm waters for our activities. Overall a fantastic trip and well worth the money. Will definitely be a repeat customer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bbman182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Awesome fishing and fun”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Friends and family went out for 2 very enjoyable days of fishing and boating with Captain Jeremy. The first day we didn't catch as many fish due to the high winds and limited spots that us landlubbers were willing to go to. But we saw Dolphins and other wildlife and had a great time cruising the islands around Key West. The next trip the weather was awesome and much more productive on the fishing with gray snapper, grouper and some very fun sharks. One shark was a 5 foot Spinner shark that we didn't land but we got to see 2 big jumps. Very cool!
I would highly recommend a trip with Jeremy if visiting Key West. He is so flexible and helpful and willing to take you fishing for whatever is biting or to take you sightseeing and island hopping, whatever you prefer. Very knowledgeable and a super nice guy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MN_Jeff_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family fun with Zia Charters and Captain Jeremy”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I took our 7 year old son fishing with Captain Jeremy, and we could not be more pleased with our experience. We told him in advance that we wanted a fun day of fishing for our son, as it was his first time fishing from a boat, and Jeremy delivered that and more. He was extremely patient, very informative, and worked hard to make the experience memorable for all of us. We are already planning a return trip to Key West and another day of fishing with Zia Charters!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sondwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great charter experience !”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I went out with Capt. Jeremy. What a great day on the water. Being two novices when it comes to fishing, we relied heavily on his experience and patience. We hit a few different spots, and enjoyed greatly that it was more catching, than fishing. We caught many species of fish including some delicious looking grouper, and yellowtail. Fortunately for them it was steak night at Michael's. The highlight of my day was actually pulling a fish out a of hole he dragged me in, and hearing the high pitched buzz of the drag as a giant ( okay 2-3 foot ) shark hit said fish and cut me off. That was awesome. Capt Jeremy is very knowledgeable, and professional, but also down to earth and friendly. We look forward to our next trip with ZIA, and highly recommend it for anyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank contralto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome charter!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Capt. Jeremy chartered a trip for us during the recent airshow and it was perfect. The boat was beautiful with plenty of room and Jeremy was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend a day of island hopping to anyone visiting the keys!

Helpful?
Thank HungryMan305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zia Charters also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Zia Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing