We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Guest Services Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southernmost Point Guest House
Ranked #27 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Guest Services Ever”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed in the carriage house (southern side, 6B I believe) for two nights in March of 2013. I found the room to be old but clean and comfortable. The property was E. H. Gato's house, who pioneered the cigar business to Key West - you can visit his factory that is walking distance away on Simonton Street. The room was air conditioned with a window unit that was blowing smoothly - a bonus in KW due to all of the roosters that like to crow outside every hotel window no matter where you stay. A note to the city commissioners: Your rooster population is getting out of control.

Within an hour of laying in the bed for the night, my lower back began to ache. After a fitful night, I pulled back all the sheets and I could see clearly why my back ached. Two concave dips in our king bed. I asked the front desk clerk if anything could be done - I was ready and they were okay with us switching rooms. I sat down to have breakfast. During this time, the manager was in the room inspecting the mattress. By the time breakfast was over, a new mattress was put in the room. I have to say that was the most efficient guest service I have ever witnessed. The next night was perfect.

The grounds of this property are beautifully landscaped with neatly trimmed palm trees supporting the many hammocks you can find there. With the ocean a mere block away and located on the quiet end of Duvall Street, it is in the perfect getaway spot and gives a lot of bang for your buck.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerTraveler34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    86
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
91
196
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

One lovely day in that guest house. Historical place in the southernmost place in Key West. Nice breakfast outside in the garden. Friendly personal. Everything was in walking distance. Prices are high in Key west comparing to other places in Florida outside Miami.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaijaTanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Not being a B&B person but being it was the FL Keys we thought we would take a chance at staying at one in Key West. Of course we were very late in booking and not much was available. The reservationist was very pleasant when we booked, however, we were very disappointed with the accomodations when we arrived and were told we had to take the reservation and had to pay in full up front. After one night we knew we could not stay there. The room was extremely small and the bed made noises every time you moved, no room for suitcases, etc.. Being an historic old building there are window AC units and the grounds are needing some attention. The pool is extremely small but guests are allowed to go to the hotel across the street and use theirs. Being upset and expressing our displeasure with the owner she was very kind and allowed us to get a refund and we were able to find a better place for us to stay which was more to our liking and comfort and not much more expensive. Nice folks, nice location but not nice for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 610Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I just got back from a five night stay at this lovely B&B. This is my third stay in Key West and I absolutely love this place. Mona, Bobbi, and Beth go out of their way to make your stay a wonderful experience. I have nothing but good things to say about our host and the lovely B&B, from the comfortable beds, relaxing spa pool, the plentiful breakfast and the kindness we received. I will defiantly book here again. Thanks you for a great time.

Room Tip: Great if you need a room with 2 full size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debi1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed there 10 times. The owners and staff are the best, they are always there to help and can advise you on anything to do with KW. Location is great, accomomodations are fantastic. They have kept the old style KW in tact and really reflect what KW used to look like. Place is always being maintained and spotless. Everything in walking distance, could not have a better local. The owners are locals and are do so much for the community and charity. Stay there take a trip back in time and savor every minute of it.
Ann and Don M

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French_Mystique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were in the market for a new place to stay, walked in, and left with a reasonably price room with all the charm and features you could want! It's located on the most southern part of the island, away from the busy shopping/drinking crowds near Mallory Square yet close enough to walk or bike. Free parking, breakfast (not simply coffee and bagels but cereal, sausage, hash browns, fruit...), and use of a grill (with condiments in the lobby fridge, access to pool and/or beach that is across the street, and bike rental nearby which we used to . Staff was great and overall charming. Everything you need in a room while being out on vacation during the day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here 3 times since 2010 and this one was the best. .

The queen room my wife and I had was kind of small but with the fabulous weather and beautiful outdoor spaces there was no reason to be in the room any more than necessary.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful to us in every way. The breakfast was improved over prior years due to the addition of some hot items. It is great being able to choose a lovely spot to eat out in the courtyard or porches.

The location close to the ocean, the Southernmost Point marker and some convenient shops at the quiet end of Duval Street is a nice plus for this place.

When we return to Key West we will stay here again. I believe the several friends we were with would all agree.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerjff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#30 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#14 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Point Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Point Guest House

Property: Southernmost Point Guest House
Address: 1327 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the southernmost guest house in the United States. At our Key West guest house, we offer southernmost hospitality, and since the late 1800s, we’ve gone to great lengths to make stays here an absolute pleasure. In fact, in 1894, when Cuban cigar-maker Eduardo H. Gato realized the handsome, rambling Victorian home he had built was not getting the right sun exposure on his favorite porches, he moved the house across the street! He had the huge structure rolled across the street on logs pulled by mules and he rotated the house to create the most favorable mix of sun and shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southernmost Point Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost Point Guest House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing