We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality service and excellent staff!”
Review of La Pensione Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Pensione Inn
Ranked #64 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

From the time we checked in the staff did everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They are extremely knowledgeable of every facet of the Island. It is easy walking distance to most everything you would want to do yet far enough from Duval for a quiet nights rest. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 251 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our group of six stayed at La Pensione early in December 2013 and totally loved it! We had never been to Key West and the staff was so helpful in recommending restaurants that we would never have found without their assistance. Cindy, Anna, and Janie were all fun and took great care of us. We loved Roland, the housekeeper, also - he was so thoughtful! For example, we had a lime setting on the dresser in preparation for making cocktails. When we got back to the room he had furnished us with a cutting board,knife, and ice! We watched the Christmas parade from the balcony and were the recipients of beads and candy thrown to us. We also took advantage of the free cooler for our beverages. We all said that we would stay at La Pensione again next time we are in Key West. Some of our friends who stayed at a newer motel across Key West were very jealous of our rooms at La Pensione and will also stay there next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveKeyWest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My party stayed at the La Pensione Inn the weekend prior to Christmas, 2013. The accommodations were nice and they were quiet, with the Inn being about a ten minute walk from the Duval Street craziness. This is not the place to stay if you want to party, but if you want reasonable access to the party without staying in it, I would recommend it.

While this Inn is styled a Bed and Breakfast I would not stay here if you want a true B & B as the breakfast is, at best, a continental breakfast with boiled eggs, waffles, muffins and fruit. However, if this is not a concern, I would recommend trying La Pensione.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back, away from Truman Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LimaBravoWhiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Totally enjoyed our 4 night stay at this historic B&B and the staff was very helpful with their restaurant tips (thanks for recommending El Siboney). There are bicycles for rent and mats and coolers are available (no cost) if you are heading to the beach. My wife and I chose to walk to the beaches - Higgs Beach (20 minutes) and Southernmost Beach (15 minutes).The property is only a couple of blocks from Duval St., the Hemingway House, and the Key West Lighthouse.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarryOus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and they couldn't have been more helpful. With having such a short time in Key West I needed to max out the time I had and they were great. I parked the car when I arrived and the next time I used it was on my departure. It was an easy walk to just about everywhere. The cemetary was just around the corner, Duval St. only a couple of blocks away. The room was lovely and spacious and a relaxing pool for after walking and exploring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semisenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was one of the most wonderful stays at B & B. Out hostess went above and beyond to make our stay outstanding and her staff was wonderful. Close to all the action..recommended restaurants were fantastic. It was a getaway that will be recorded as one of our best. Go..you won't be disappointed....thank you La Pensione.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It has been a while since we stayed here, but wanted to let people know this is a very nice place and has an excellent location to walk to everything downtown & not far to Duval Street. April is a great month to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SassySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#43 of 77 in Key West
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#20 of 77 in Key West
778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#31 of 77 in Key West
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#12 of 77 in Key West
893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pensione Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione Inn

Address: 809 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $231 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Pensione Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1891 Victorian mansion - Directly in the center of Key West's historic old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your La Pensione Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing