We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pensione Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Pensione Inn
Ranked #58 of 79 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently stayed at La Pensione for 4 nights and couldn't have felt more welcome. Cindy and Frieda were friendly and helpful. It was like visiting old friends. The building was beautiful and close to everything. We had room 4 which has 2 double beds and opened onto the pool, perfect for a late night swim and one last cocktail. Breakfast was delicious and the coffee I could easily become addicted to. I will be back,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    67
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
10
157
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ashland, ky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at La Pensione 3 nights, and had a wonderful visit. Cindy and Freida were both very hospitable and helpful. We had room 7, which opens onto the shared balcony. There was still quite a bit of street noise, and they do keep the balcony lights on all night for security, but we slept quite well, and the bed was nice and firm. Breakfast was lovely, what a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtogo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The B&B is nice, clean, situed in an hisotoric building very charmant, the rooms are large.
The breakfast is delicious, mainly the waffles and including bread, fruits, juice.
La Pensione is well located, only a few minutes by foot from the main street of Key West, Duval Street.
Parking is easy and the staff is so helpful.
I really recomend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for just a couple of days september 2012.
It had a excellent room, bikes for rental and a little tiny pool.
Only bad side of it is we had to be quiet after 10pm and close the door on the way out.
Breakfeast was allright with fruits, pankake, bagels and juice but we couldnt serve ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luis o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you appreciate the older coastal home then you will enjoy your stay here. This charming B and B was overflowing with hospitality and warmth from the first phone call. We were able to lounge at the pool or walk to the shops and restaurants down the street. Our last day was topped off with Cindy's 'love' waffles. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smile and drive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in room number 9 great room with two french doors that lead out to a wrap around balcony. Great breakfast and the staff was very friendly. They even called me when I left my Kindle there. I was able to get it back before we left Key West. I cannot not say enough good things about La Pensione. Internet was fast and the bed was very comfortable. Room number 9 is great but keep in mind that it does face Truman Ave (US 1) so you will hear the traffic at night. Also, the balcony lights are on so you have a "night light". Great ceiling fans make the room nice and cool. I will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane1491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sprang-Capelle, NL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We loved our stay at “la pensione”. Host Cindy made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was good, especially the waffles. Pool was big enough for a good swim. Rooms were very spacious and clean. There was no TV in the room but that made our stay even more relaxing. Wifi reception in the room was good. Big plus was the fact that we could rent bikes at “la pensione”. Location is fine; close to attractions but not in a very busy street. Next time when we visit Key West we will certainly want to stay in “la pensione” again.

Greetings from your Dutch friends, Cindy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathelijne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#44 of 79 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#21 of 79 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#56 of 79 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Frances Street Bottle Inn
Frances Street Bottle Inn
#61 of 79 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Authors Key West Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
#51 of 79 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pensione Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione Inn

Property: La Pensione Inn
Address: 809 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6425
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Pensione Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1891 Victorian mansion - Directly in the center of Key West's historic old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Pensione Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing