We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved our stay at La Pensione” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pensione Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Pensione Inn
Ranked #58 of 78 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sprang-Capelle, NL
1 review
“Loved our stay at La Pensione”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We loved our stay at “la pensione”. Host Cindy made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was good, especially the waffles. Pool was big enough for a good swim. Rooms were very spacious and clean. There was no TV in the room but that made our stay even more relaxing. Wifi reception in the room was good. Big plus was the fact that we could rent bikes at “la pensione”. Location is fine; close to attractions but not in a very busy street. Next time when we visit Key West we will certainly want to stay in “la pensione” again.

Greetings from your Dutch friends, Cindy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathelijne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    67
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
10
157
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

A wonderful 9- room mansion/in with wonderfuly charm and perfect location a few blocks off Duval Street. Our room was very spacious (#9) with access to the wrap around balcony just outside one of 3 french doors complete with table and chairs. Kick pack with a glass of wine or your breakfast and people watch. This was truly a nice place to begin or end your day. Only draw back and certainly not anything against the inn or staff is that during the holiday weekend the traffic was a little noisier than normal as well as the rooster that liked to begin his day around 4:30 -7:00 or so. Got to love Key West! So if you want a little more peace and quiet, request one of the back of the house rooms. The staff is wonderful. Cindy and Frieda were both so gracious in tending to our needs and provided great recommendations on places to go. We loved the waffles everymorning! No need to venture out anywhere for breakfast (juice, coffee, fruit, bagels, cerial, hardboiled egga & waffles)--it was perfect. The pool area was nice, relaxing and secluded--I only wish we had taken more time to hang out there. You can always use just one more day in Key West. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks again ladies for making us feel welcome. We had a blast!

Room Tip: If you want a little more peace and quiet, request one of the rooms toward back of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeywestTraveler5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at La Pensione for a long weekend! I have already recommended it to all of my friends and family. The service was absolutely outstanding and the amenities were wonderful. Loved the convenience of renting bikes right from the Inn and the fabulous location just a few blocks from Duval Street. Great for friends or a romantic getaway. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is in a good location, just 2 minutes walking from Duval Street (the centre of the island).
Atmosphere is very familiar and the 2 ladies who manage the hotel were both extremely kind.
Price in August is fair, I can't say the same for the high season one (just read on a paper).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilmone80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you're a B&B fan, then you'll enjoy your stay here. The staff knows how to treat a guest. Very welcoming, comfortable place - we felt very at home. From the room photos, we were expecting more than we got for a room but it was clean and the bed was comfortable with charming double doors out to the balcony. Breakfast was good with a fresh, homemade waffle, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, etc., and a variety of charming places to eat it with downstairs balcony, upstairs balcony, poolside, front porch, dining room. I enjoyed great conversation with Freida in the morning and Cindy in the afternoon - both are very helpful if you have any questions or need anything at all! Very good air-conditioning in the room. Great location 3 blocks from everything yet not surrounded by craziness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Gerat place to stay I remember when it first opened Joe and Vincent were great owners and it is still the same. Nice to come back to as room that 's not noisy. And go to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

La Pensione is a lovely old historic house with 9 guest rooms, located just 3 blocks from Duval Street, and about a mile from Mallory Square.

We were welcomed warmly by Cindy the manager, who showed us to our room (number 5), with which we were very happy. The whole house is decorated to compliment the age of the property, and spotlessly clean throughout.

Breakfast is served in a communal dining area, or you can choose to eat outside on the porch, and consists of cereal, fruit, bagels, boiled eggs and waffles. Cindy presides over breakfast, making the waffles, topping up coffees etc., and it was a wonderful opportunity to chat with her to get advice about Key West and also meet the other guests.

The pool area was also a lovely place to sit, have a drink and chat to the other people staying in the house. We really did have a lovely sociable time.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in Key West and the whole atmosphere of La Pensione made our visit even better. We hope to be back in Florida and Key West next year and I'll have no second thoughts about once again booking this small hotel/B&B

Room Tip: Rooms 7, 8 and 9 open onto a communal balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#46 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#23 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#55 of 78 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Frances Street Bottle Inn
Frances Street Bottle Inn
#61 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Authors Key West Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
#51 of 78 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pensione Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione Inn

Property: La Pensione Inn
Address: 809 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6425
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Pensione Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1891 Victorian mansion - Directly in the center of Key West's historic old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Pensione Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing