We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Key West atmosphere”
Review of La Pensione Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Pensione Inn
Ranked #64 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is in a good location, just 2 minutes walking from Duval Street (the centre of the island).
Atmosphere is very familiar and the 2 ladies who manage the hotel were both extremely kind.
Price in August is fair, I can't say the same for the high season one (just read on a paper).

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilmone80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 251 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you're a B&B fan, then you'll enjoy your stay here. The staff knows how to treat a guest. Very welcoming, comfortable place - we felt very at home. From the room photos, we were expecting more than we got for a room but it was clean and the bed was comfortable with charming double doors out to the balcony. Breakfast was good with a fresh, homemade waffle, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, etc., and a variety of charming places to eat it with downstairs balcony, upstairs balcony, poolside, front porch, dining room. I enjoyed great conversation with Freida in the morning and Cindy in the afternoon - both are very helpful if you have any questions or need anything at all! Very good air-conditioning in the room. Great location 3 blocks from everything yet not surrounded by craziness.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Gerat place to stay I remember when it first opened Joe and Vincent were great owners and it is still the same. Nice to come back to as room that 's not noisy. And go to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

La Pensione is a lovely old historic house with 9 guest rooms, located just 3 blocks from Duval Street, and about a mile from Mallory Square.

We were welcomed warmly by Cindy the manager, who showed us to our room (number 5), with which we were very happy. The whole house is decorated to compliment the age of the property, and spotlessly clean throughout.

Breakfast is served in a communal dining area, or you can choose to eat outside on the porch, and consists of cereal, fruit, bagels, boiled eggs and waffles. Cindy presides over breakfast, making the waffles, topping up coffees etc., and it was a wonderful opportunity to chat with her to get advice about Key West and also meet the other guests.

The pool area was also a lovely place to sit, have a drink and chat to the other people staying in the house. We really did have a lovely sociable time.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in Key West and the whole atmosphere of La Pensione made our visit even better. We hope to be back in Florida and Key West next year and I'll have no second thoughts about once again booking this small hotel/B&B

Room Tip: Rooms 7, 8 and 9 open onto a communal balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Charming, bucolic, lovely atmosphere. Cindy, the Innkeeper, was very personable and tailored the day trips and water sport fun she told our party about to each person's individual likes. We stayed in room 6 which was large, clean and comfortable but we were so busy exploring Key West, we didn't spend much time in the room! The pool and landscaping were lovely. It's a great location and close to everything. We didn't want to leave so it goes without saying that we would stay there again. The breakfast was great- orange juice, coffee, fresh fruit...ask Cindy for her special waffle!

Room Tip: I didn't see every room but every room I did see was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenniferNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I brought my brother here for his very first time in Florida. I was very excited to find a B&B with two double beds. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Cindy the Manager. She was super helpful had great spirit and made us feel right at home. The place is really stunning, great charm! The pool is wonderful and the landscaping is picturesque. They offer free ice and coolers to borrow, their's a soda machine on site; they also provide beach/pool towels to and they rent bikes right onsite **the best way to get around**!! The location is perfect close to Duval Street and there is a nice big CVS right down the street for all you needs- including beer and wine. All and all the place was great nice and clean, good beds and I never missed the TV. If you need a TV in Key West your not having enough fun! If you do need a TV, they have free internet... bring your laptop. I have read a couple of other reviews and....Yes, you can hear the planes from the airport but that's with any place in Key west and the roosters can be a bit annoying at 3 AM but their EVERYWHERE! Cindy, Ivy, Debbie and Freda were wonderful I can't say enough nice things about La Pensione, I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Arriving late in Key West, we were delighted to find a warm welcome, a large comfortable room and off-street car parking at this conveniently located establishment when all else seemed to be full. Didn't have time to enjoy the pool and gardens.
Staff were welcoming and helpful, breakfast was delicious, we were able to leave our car in the parking lot after check out while we explored Key West on foot. It was an easy walk to Duval Street restaurants and shopping, Maddison Square, the Truman White House and other Key West attractions.
Not cheap, but we were glad to find a room, and probably no more expensive that comparable rooms in downtown Key West.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDStripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#44 of 77 in Key West
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#34 of 77 in Key West
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
0.5 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pensione Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione Inn

Address: 809 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6425
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $208 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Pensione Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1891 Victorian mansion - Directly in the center of Key West's historic old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your La Pensione Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing