We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs New Management Badly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquility Guesthouse
Ranked #75 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Dublin, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs New Management Badly”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

I have stayed at all three Hobart properities over the last 10 yrs (Oasis, Coral Tree, Coconut Grove) and have noticed a steady decline in the facility overall. The manager who use to be jovial and friendly now just grumbles and is the most unaccomodating person in the hospitality service I have ever encountered in all of my travels. In comparasion I have also stayed previously at Island House and Alexanders on Fleming and they both are very accomodating to their guests with superior facilities

The Hobart corporation needs to put money into their properties and hire new management.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyWestGuy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

After deciding on a trip to Key West, my partner and I looked online for some gay friendly hotel choices and stumbled onto Hobart Resorts and Coconut Grove. After reading some online reviews which detailed an extensive renovation to the property, we felt confident we'd made a decent choice. There were a few good things about Coconut Grove (housekeeping staff, location, rooftop decks); there was also a lot wrong with it...In our room #316 there were red ants by bathroom sink, cockroaches (3) in shower stall, toilet sinking into floor, we think because of termites....and when these things were mentioned, management at the desk said they had no idea the bathroom was in such bad shape, that no one had ever mentioned it....(which can't be possible the floor is soft all around the toilet bowl, and that kind of problem takes a while to get that bad)

It seems that Hobart Resorts may have at one time been a player in the gay Key West travel scene, but that was long ago....all 3 properties need major reno, the gardens need cleaning out, our pool area was in shadow constantly because of overgrowth. Mold growing along pool edge...The "lavish" continental breakfast... Lets start with a definition...

lav·ish (lvsh)
adj.
1. Characterized by or produced with extravagance and profusion: a lavish buffet.

What we were offered...not so lavish. Really a few Kelloggs cereal boxes, apples, yogurt. breads, and coffee. That ain't lavish at $250 a night. Sorry, but it ain't...

So basically...if you have to go gay in Key West, do not go to Oasis/Coconut Grove/Coral Tree Inn. Look elsewhere!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anomander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Coconut Grove Guesthouse is the most newly renovated of this Oasis/Coral Tree/Coconut Grove complex. It was very comfortable, and nicely redone. They were able to keep the charm of the older home but, still have modern ammenities.

We stayed in room number 311 and it overlooked the pool. However, it did not have a private deck. The bathroom was very nice....tile floor, tile shower, and granite countertop. The room has a flat screen t.v. mounted to the wall....but, limited channels and picture quality. The bed was adequate with nice linens.

The entire complex is very large, and has multiple levels of decks. Some rooms having their own private decks, some not. There are also 4 pools in the complex. When we wanted privacy we utilized the pool at the coconut grove and would most times, be the only ones using it. When we felt more "social", we would use the pool at the Oasis, as that seemed to be the gathering spot for most guests.

Our room was basically clean. There were a couple of bottles of shampoo under the sink stand along with dust that were never removed, and some corners with dust etc.... In addition, when the curtains were opened fully, they would slide off of the track....just little things here and there. Overall, the room was cleaned timely and regularly, and no problems with fresh towels, etc...

All of the staff at the hotel were nice and helpful. We locked ourselves out 4 times...(the door slams shut behind you)...each time the staff was very friendly and gave us no attitude for our clumsiness.

We were given fruity drinks each day at poolside around 3 p.m. That was nice...but, basically only two rounds. Also at 6 p.m. they would serve wine and appetizers. The wine was Copper Ridge brand....and the appetizers were frozen food warmed in an oven....not the highest quality...but, hey it was free and platable.

Breakfast each morning were packaged bagels, boxed cereal, and some sort of banana bread, etc...two mornings there were hard boiled eggs. They also served orange juice, milk and coffee. Again, not the highest quality, homemade fare....but, it was free, palatable and convenient.

We arrived, Wednesday, July 22nd and left Wednesday, July 29th. I understand this is the off season. On Wednesday and Thursday there were only 10-15 people in the entire complex. Friday and Saturday there were maybe 35 people, and Sunday people began to leave again.

Most people during the week were over the age of 50. On the weekend there was more diversity to the ages...but, few if any under 35 years old. This was not a pretty-boy, circuit crowd. But, everyone was very nice and we made some great friends.

Also, beware ...a couple of locals arrived and stayed Friday and Saturday....their antics were more of what you would read about at the Island House. We understand they frequent this place fairly regularly on the weekends...and, it really changed the dynamics of the place for the late nights they were around.

Anyway, bottom line....this place has great potential. It is large... great decks, pools, staff. However, it appears that the owners may not be putting money into the upkeep of the property. While our room had been re-done in the past few years after a fire, there were still major stains on the carpets...there were scuff marks on the walls in the halls....the pool shower area at the Oasis, had new tile...but, it didn't match the flow of the rest of the complex....and the area around it had been primed, but not painted....it appears that they are simply doing bare-bones maintenance and not really re-investing in the property. This gives me concern about the longevity of the place

With all of that said....I would definitely stay here again.....it was a fun time, fun people, nice staff and mostly clean.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jvmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Coconot Grove for 5 nights in early May. We have to say - we had a great time and will definitely be back. We're glad we stayed at Coconut Grove, as the rooms seemed more updated than the Oasis. Coconut Grove also seemed less cruisy. The pool at C.G. was dead and the hottub was very quiet, so it gave us some time to be alone.

The breakfast was nice - fruit, yogurt, bagels...nothing fancy but it did the trick. We only stayed for wine one night. There was meatballs and cheap wine - fine if you're on a budget, but we wanted to walk down and see the sunset.

The location is fantastic! Everything is walkable. The front deak will help you make reservations, but they don't go out of their way to help. The organic salad/sandwich place next door is great!

Overall, we were there to relax and spend time with each other and we felt very comfortable. We are both in our early 30's and found this place to be the best for spending time in a gay establishment without it being overly cruisy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madfanmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

I just returned from a 4 day getaway to Key West, staying at Coconut Grove for the first time. Having stayed at Equator and Alexanders and visited Island House, I have now seen the majority of the Key West gay accomodations.

Overall, it was a great stay. Unfortunately, I have stayed at Pineapple Point in Ft. Lauderdale, so I have been spoiled. Pineapple Point is one of the nicest hotel experiences, let alone gay inn experiences, I have had the pleasure of enjoying. From a service, cleanliness, details, and overall experience perspective, Coconut Grove has a long ways to go come close to that experience. However, by Key West inn standards, I think it is a great choice.

All of the other reviews are accurate: Coconut Grove has been remodeled, and is steps above from a decor and modern amenities standard from Oasis and Coral Tree (I did not see a Coral Tree room, but I did see an Oasis room...Hey- it was vacation!); breakfast is very standard (as opposed to hot dishes and other offerings at Equator and Alexanders); happy hour is self serve wine with no other choices (as opposed to the full bar of Alexanders, or the hosted cocktail hour with blender drinks at Equator); I thought the service was almost non-existent... was never really greeted by any staff members during my stay, there is no one at breakfast or happy hour, they didn't ask if I needed assistance in making any plans or reservations... I did see others taken to their rooms with bag assistance and a tour of the property- I didn't have that service, but others did.

All that being said, I would stay here again. With the three properties being joined, there are lots of guys to mix and mingle with; the decor, design and modern feeling of Coconut Grove is very, very nice (which puts it ahead of Equator); and the pools and sun decks give lots of room for sun and play.

It's no Pineapple Point, but is a great choice in Key West.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adguyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. The rooms are stylish and well appointed. We only had a small room but more than satisfactory for 2 nights. Free frozen drinks between 3pm-4pm and wine etc at 7pm. Todd was very helpful. Parking was available outside on the road free of charge. Even though it said waiting 30 minutes Todd said thats fine as they rent the sign. Most of the activity is at the attached Oasis which is accessible. The pool and hot tub at coconut grove were hardly used only by us.. almost a private pool and tub!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank si1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis Tn
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stayed here on a trip to Key West the week before Thanksgiving. The accomodations were nice - not perfect. On the negative side the property could use just a little maintenance and someone with some decorating taste to have a go at the rooms. Green and wine bedspread, blue couch with orange throw pillows and yet another mismatched color of carpet - it is an insult to the eyes. But on the positive side - The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and supplies refilled daily. The atmosphere was terrific and friendly. The complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and evening wine and Hors d'ourvers (sp?) were nice and these things gave us a chance to meet and talk with the other guests. This socialization time was very enjoyable. Overall - don't let the few little negatives on this property deter you as the positives of staying here well outweigh any negatives and make it a terrific place to stay and enjoy Key West. Yes we would certainly stay here again on another trip!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Time2G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Seaport Inn
Seaport Inn
#65 of 77 in Key West
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden House
Garden House
#64 of 77 in Key West
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knowles House B&B
Knowles House B&B
#31 of 77 in Key West
552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island City House Hotel
Island City House Hotel
#16 of 77 in Key West
945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Guesthouse

Property: Tranquility Guesthouse
Address: 815 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Tranquility Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Guest House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing