We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If just being old classifies as historic...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If just being old classifies as historic...”
Reviewed June 21, 2007

I have to preface this by saying that I am not a picky person, and I don't expect every hotel to be the Ritz, especially at lower price points, but I do expect common courtesy and truth in advertising.

Let me start by saying that the hotel needs a meeting with their employee's on how to treat guests. The check in put me off at the start. I show up to have the guy behind the counter act as if I was inconveniencing him by checking in. Try greeting your guests by at least welcoming them. He gave me a poor explanation of the hotel, other than to say it would be an extra $10 for every hour past checkout if I was late and a drama queen attitude.

Here's the lowdown. If you take photos at the right angles, you can make any place look great. The only think historic about this place was the exterior. They have taken every public room away, chopped it up, and jambed in as many hotel rooms as possible into every sqaure inch. There is and entrance hall and stair with two chairs, and that's it. I got a 'superior' queen room. It was superior to sleeping in my car, yes. It had a balcony overlooking the parking lot, some renovations that looked to be done by a handy man and a few trips to Home Depot. It was dark, depressing, small and just dank. It had a shower that was 30" square with those plastic Home Depot shower walls. The mattress was old. It had no safe and a window a/c that was loud enough to keep you up. Yes, they put a cheap, empty, mini fridge in and a 19" flat screen and act as if it's renovated. On the positive side, the room was clean. Congrats to the cleaning staff. I had hoped to stay two night for a romantic weekend. I didn't even take the bags out of the car. It killed any romance.

The best was two pool towels they put out with a sign saying that if you want to keep one, they'll bill you $20. Who would ever want to take their $1.50 towel from Target home with them I thought? The pool is a rectangle in shade, nothing more. It is servicable, but not inviting. For $159 night in June, they really have to be kidding. There are better places all around this one. Breakfast is basic 'continental'.

When voicing my displeasure, instead of getting any kind of apology, all I got was more attitude. If your in college and are packing a few guys in to crash during fantasy fest, that's one thing. If you are looking for a nice romantic place, don't be fooled. It's post WW2 housing at best. Sorry, but historic or renovated it is not.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank realbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    288
    129
    92
    35
See reviews for
80
512
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, co
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

I wish I could be more positive in my review but after staying here for a week I found this place to mostly dissapointing based on the price and overall lack of charm for on "historic inn". The positives...great location a block away from the classier end of duval street, the small pool and gardens were nice. The negatives...our room was in the cottages which are not historic at all and not kept up (peeling paint, old mattress & linens. We did stay in one of the smaller rooms but wow what it ever small if I had to say it was maybe 10 x 9. The breakfast was lame for the price of the place. I was hoping for a more charming experience but we found it to be just OK.

  • Liked — location & pool
  • Disliked — room size and comfort
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonlightGrahams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale, fl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Chelsea House was perfect for our wedding. We got married and honeymooned there for a week.

Located more towards the Atlantic side of the island right off of US1. Just two blocks away from Duval. I suggest renting a bicycle to get around, otherwise, it is a lot of walking if you need to get to the other side several times or multiple times in a day for sunset sails, dry tortugas, the main bars, etc..There is a CVS just up the road and two bike rental places. They also have good parking.

We stayed in the Conch Suite. It was very nice and very Key West. Great, not cheesey decor, wood floors, great patio area, lots of drawers and closet space. The bathroom was updated but tiny with a hairdryer. Needed more shelves for toiletries. This may be weird to say but I also didn't know that such cheap toilet paper existed.

Our favorite spot was the beautiful, mid-size pool area with a upper level sundeck. Covered seating area was available and we used it often since we could not pick up the wireless internet signal from our room.

Our room was always cleaned with fresh towels and the housekeeping staff was great.

The front desk staff was ok. They were not good about booking our Dry Tortugas trip and had promised us a special surprise in our room when we booked since it was our wedding/honeymoon but there was nothing...not the end of the world either. We just took care of booking our own activities and it went great.

Our family members that were there stayed at both the Key Lime Inn and the Merlin Guest house. The Key Lime was cute, small, and good if
you didn't want to spend as much, however, there were roaches on the last day our parents stayed..yuck. The Merlin suite was nice with
an elevated bed with fabric streaming from the posts. Both had pools.

We would definitely consider staying there again but would also look for other similar type places to try out.

  • Liked — Pool and room.
  • Disliked — Front desk and tiny bathroom with no shelves
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hibiscusflwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2007

My husband and I have been to Keywest four times. We have stayed at various bed and breakfast inns,including the heron house. We booked this sight unseen,The juiner king suite we rented was a steal for the price. We had our own private balcony, a huge kitchen, sitting area, and beautiful tropical decor! The service was outstanding! I needed extra hangers they were delivered in 3 minutes. Everything was clean, great maid service as well. The pool area was quiet and relaxing this hotel also su pplies floats for their beautiful and well maintaned pool area. I have nothing but great things to say about The Chelsea House. The location is great no car needed. I would suggest walking down to the club duval beach club.This is the best beach area by far, they even wait on you on the beach! Great food too!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — there were no dislikes
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank skyy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Stayed Valentine's night 2006. This is a very quaint/quiet Historical Inn. However I did find the price a bit high ($219 on a Wednesday night). Beware, no kids allowed here. We were traveling with young 8 month old and were not told about it in advance. We got there to our surprise, they do not allow kids. They let it slide for us because it was a young infant and it was for 1 night only.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Stayed here 31st Jan & 1st Feb 2007.

Very clean quaint hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly and nice continental breakfast. Nice pool and gardens.

Room fairly small and very clean and all non smoking, we stayed in number 16 so could sit right outside the door.

Bed slightly soft for us and no wardrobe. As we only stayed two nights, this didn't cause us a problem, probably would have done if we had stayed any longer.

Near enough to the nightlife (Duval Street and Mallory Square) but far enough away to get peace and quiet.

Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Soft bed
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Shazra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2007

Typical KW guesthouse atmosphere. Good location.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,741 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing