We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, staff could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, staff could do better”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with quite a few couples for a wedding. Minimal rooms. No turndown service unless requested. Minimal toiletries for bathroom. Staff wouldn't allow late checkout and basically ran us out our rooms. Very clean rooms, minus the nursing home-like smell. Wasn't worth the price.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We enjoyed having the bride's friends and family here with us at the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens. Whilst we do our utmost to honor guests' requests, late check-outs are extremely difficult to offer with the limited number of rooms we have, especially on days when we have a full house. Larger hotels with a hundred rooms or more can count on the odds that some rooms may be unoccupied that evening or that some of their guests will be arriving later in the evening. For us, we only have three hours to get all of our guest rooms ready after check-out before the next guests are scheduled to check-in, so every minute really counts. I hope this explanation helps you understand why we can't guarantee late check-outs.

All stays include daily housekeeping service, but turndown service isn't an amenity typically offered. Some of the larger resort-style hotels on the island with substantially higher nightly rates and/or daily resort fees include turndown service, but our guests typically prefer our lower affordably priced rates with no added fees instead. We're glad you appreciated the cleanliness of the property and rooms, and we hope you had a marvelous time celebrating the nuptials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    281
    126
    91
    35
See reviews for
78
498
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We thought that by booking the best room available we would be sure of something decent - how wrong we were. Our outdoor seating area is right onto the side street with the mind and laundry, along with the car park right outside our door . So disappointed. Rooms are tired and furniture falling apart. Would definitely not r,eccomend staying here. First time I have ever said this.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are available but be very careful when/ if you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85JonathanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
I'm sorry to hear that your accommodations didn't meet your satisfaction. Most guests love the location of the Junior Suite you stayed in with its two nice seating areas: one adjoining the courtyard area and the other overlooking a quiet side street. We wish you would have said something at the time of your stay so we could have moved you to a different building at the Chelsea House which may have been better suited to your personal preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
129 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Chelsea house since the Key Lime in was booked up last week. Upon arrival at the Chelsea house the staff was very nice and showed us to our room. The room was on the 3rd floor which was not what I requested so I went to the front desk for a change. Bryan was so AWESOME and took very good care of us without a care in the world with a nice upgrade from what we booked. We liked how small the place was however it was renovated very nicely and the breakfast pastries were so awesome. Coming from a local bakery I couldnt get enough and I am paying the price now, haha. Please do not overlook this place it is only 3-4 blocks from Duval street and a 15 min walk from Eaton St by the water.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
201 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed for one night at the start of April, it was really great weather.

The hotel is located on the busy Truman Street and is an easy walk into town (5-10mins) and the water front. Bryan checked us in and he was really friendly and told us were to get key lime pie and couch fritters. Free parking on site.

We stayed in a standard double room and for what we paid (£150 a night) it was super small and the air con was too loud so we had to turn it off at night but it was too hot. We stayed in room 13 and we couldn’t get the internet in our room, it wasn’t the best room. The pool is really lovely and breakfast was good – pastries, bagels, cereal etc.

Ask for a room away from the road as close to the pool as possible and not room 13.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road as close to the pool as possible and not room 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZKirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My friends and I stayed at Chelsea House for 4 nights. We had 2 rooms, 11 and 17. The property consists of 3 separate houses; the one in which the lobby is located was built in 1905. Each room has its own distinctive character. Although it is located on busy Truman Street, our house seemed far removed from traffic. We spend time around the pool during the afternoons and in the covered seating area during breakfast. We were able to meet and converse with the other guests easily. Breakfast was more than adequate. The location enabled us to walk to all attractions. The only time we moved our car was to go to dinner during a rain storm. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Although wi-fi was not advertised as available in guest rooms, room 17 was close enough to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Chelsea House is beautiful and relaxing. Every corner of their houses reminds me of true Key West. Rooms get pricy during the season, but I won't stay anywhere else. I guess I just fell in love with this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Ren M,

It's wonderful to hear that you fell in love with the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens! We can't wait to see you here again on your next visit to the island. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
482 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at the Chelsea Inn on March 4 & 5, 2014 during our week-long Mardi - Gras trip through the keys. We were a little apprehensive based on some of the reviews on Trip Advisor posted from December and January. But we were very pleasantly pleased with our room and the overall experience here.

We stayed in Room 12 opening ontto the access-way to the pool between the two buildings. It had two queen beds and was very nice and plenty large enough for my wife and I and our two teenage kids. The bathroom was also large and accommodating.

The breakfast was served out by the pool and was perfect for our family with hard boiled eggs, bananas, coffee, juice, various breads and pastries, and cereals. Of course the weather was also very nice while we were there making the outdoor situation even better.

The pool was a nice size for this size Inn and well maintained.

Most importantly, this Inn had an off-street parking lot with space for everyone that stayed there the best we could tell. When we arrived we parked our rental car and did not use it again until we checked out to drive back toward Miami. This place was close enough the all things we wanted to see and do, to walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 opening to the access-way tot he pool between the two buildings. It had two que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raybyerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#21 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing