We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TINY ROOM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TINY ROOM”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were very disappointed in the room. It was very small. The bathroom hand no place to put your toiletries unless you used the window ledge and the floors were filthy. Proximity to Duval and the nice staff was a plus, but the room was way over priced. Will not make this choice again.

Room Tip: Look at the room first and be willing to pay high dollar for its location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yumyum6854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed our proximity to Duval Street and our really nice staff. The Chelsea House Pool & Gardens has a variety of different room types ranging from our smaller Economy Queen rooms at our lowest rates to our spacious Junior Suites that even include full kitchens. Maybe next time one of the higher room categories might be more to your liking. Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    280
    126
    91
    35
See reviews for
78
494
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great location within easy walking distance of the fun spots. The room was spacious and charmingly decorated room. Restful colors, love the high ceilings consistant with this historic hotel. Nice pool area. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: I would choose rooms facing the pool/patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLVincent422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We are so glad that you stayed with us at the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens! We hope to see you here with us again during your next visit to Key West. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Clean & functional given its "historic" status. Internet in lobby, moderate speed. Pool area and rooms are clean. Staff accommodates spl needs. Good Location, btwn Old Town and Mallory Square. We had a very good stay and will go back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceperlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens. We are so pleased that our awesome staff were as friendly, accommodating, and helpful as always. We look forward to seeing you here on your next visit to our beautiful little island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed there for a couple of nights because most other places were booked and the other available ones were about $1000 per night. This place is overpriced, but they can get away with it due to being in Key West. Location is two blocks from Duval. The room was very small and the sink in the bathroom had no shelves or space to put anything on. They said there was free wifi, but the signal in the room was nonexistent, I could only get internet in the lobby, which is two floors down and in the pool area. There is free parking, we were lucky to find a spot, I could imagine it getting too full at times though.
Breakfast was included and it was ok, all self serve, eggs, milk, yogurt,some pastries, coffee.
The staff was very nice and cordial. The $430 per night was for being in key west, if this place was in any other location it would probably be less than $60 per night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 327Aries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Chelsea House's rates are extremely competitive for accommodations in the heart of Key West's historic district.....much more favorable than our competitors who were quoting you rates of $1000 a night for the same dates! I'm glad you found us and hope to see you on your next visit to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Room 14 (I believe) which looked like an addition to the original house. I expected the room to be small, but this was smaller than I was led to believe when I booked it. There was no closet & only 3 small hooks on the wall to hang clothes. One had to step up into the bathroom (no tub) which had a tiny vanity with a shelf that was falling off and I reported such at checkout. Toilet seat was falling off which my husband fixed & we also reported this upon checkout. In-wall air conditioner was very noisy, so had to turn TV up when it was on. There was a door which I assume led to another room that was locked, however when those occupants came in you could hear every word they said, although I will admit they were very loud talkers! Again, we had to turn up the TV to not hear them. Breakfast was just ok & the same each morning. Staff was very nice & accommodating which at least was a plus. Our stay was in December, 2013.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know about the maintenance issues so we could take care of them. We appreciate it! The Economy Queen guestrooms are our smallest rooms at the Chelsea House Hotel with our lowest rates. The Superior Queen Rooms and the King Rooms are more spacious and have mini-refrigerators too. For $10 or $20 more a night, these might be better suited to your preferences. Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The room was small, overpriced, and dirty. The bathroom had cracked tiles ready to fall off the wall, and filthy floors. The pool was small and very unappealing. There was no sitting room in the inside of the house. If you wanted to sit inside, you had to share the one chair in your room. The breakfast consisted of a boiled egg and some pastries. Did I mention that the place was filthy, good let me mention it again, the place was disgustingly dirty. When I complained to the front desk staff, they thanked me for bringing it to their attention and nothing else. Do yourself a big favour and think twice before booking this place EVER!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
The accommodations at the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens are scattered throughout three historic homes overlooking the common courtyard and pool. The center home does have some indoor sitting areas with comfortable chairs and a sofa, but as a hotel and not a "Bed & Breakfast," we don't have an actual living room for group seating. There are nice tables & chairs and chaise lounges in the outdoor public spaces, including up on our picturesque sundeck. It's so nice sitting outside in our beautiful Florida sunshine! Every morning we offer a complimentary continental breakfast for our guests, including fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, yogurts, freshly baked croissants delivered daily from a local bakery, bagels, orange juice and coffee, etc. For those wanting more substantial morning meals, there are plenty of restaurants just a short walk away. If you would like to send me an e-mail with your room number and dates of stay, it would be very helpful so we can check the issues you mention. msimmons@historickeywestinns.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The economy room was the best bang for the buck for being in historic Key West. The guest room was situated by the pool and easily accessible from the parking lot. The room was in a cabana/like building with 2 other guest rooms all with a view of the pool. The guest room was basic, clean, fresh and updated. There was a nice size bathroom with a small closet and safe. There was a bench at the foot of the bed with two rolled beach towels for pool use. The flat screen TV was a distance from the bed but in no way a big deal. As long as you have good eyesight or prescription glasses, it really doesn't matter. There was a comfortable reading chair and small round cocktail-type table. On the downside--but again not too big of a deal considering location and lovely setting--the one side of the bed was pushed up against the wall. In order to get in it (assuming 2 people are sleeping in it), one person has to climb in first or climb over the person to get in or out. Due to this, the room is good for a single person. This might be an issue with an older couple if crawling over the other is not an easy feat. Secondly, the room, which by the way is room 101, is narrow, resulting in having the bed situated against the wall. The open side of the bed is flush up against the bathroom's doorframe. As a result, there isn't a nightstand...at all. So there wasn't a place to place a cell phone, book, reading glasses, tablet next to the bed. Breakfast: bagels, toast, grocery store like croissants, yogurt, cereal boxes, juice, coffee. It is served next to the pool at the pool cabana's bar. There are tables around the pool cloaked with palm trees to enjoy coffee alfresco. I personally think they should serve better quality croissants, muffins, possibly locally baked or from a good bakery. They could also serve a cold quiche. For the guest room rates, this is expected.
On check-in, there wasn't anyone at the front desk. A guest was in the reception area. I asked her is anyone hear? She said that the person went to get a towel. After waiting 10 minutes, I walked out back to my car. I returned 10 minutes later and the woman was back. I don't know if it was due to a possible quirky personality on her part, but she was one step from being flat out rude. The guest that was waiting for the towel actually said to the employee that I had been waiting and to help me, the employee ignored what the guest said, so the guest said it again, and the employee ignored it a second time. So it's an FF as in flunk and fail for a non existent warm welcome and zero courtesy.
By the way, my guest room was not in the main house/inn, it was behind it, so no stair climbing, and easy access to get to and from car in lot.
Would I stay at Chelsea House again? Not likely. I would choose somewhere next time.

Room Tip: Great location. Your car stays in the lot and is free. Walk to everything. It's impossible to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueReview10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#21 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing