We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice clean hotel frendly staff, room was clean with big bathroom location was great 5 min walk to duval street and far enough away to be nice and quiet. price was very good breakfast was by the pool continental very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    284
    127
    91
    35
See reviews for
79
505
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel location was great, very near to everything in Key west. We booked this hotel via Expedia and may be due to that we got a room which was too small. No complaints on the cleanliness, it was very clean but really too small and we could sometimes hear people next door. There were much nicer rooms in the hotel but we were given the smallest of all the rooms I guess because we booked via expedia. Atleast the room which I stayed was no value for money. We had a view of the parking lot which really disappointed us. The breakfast was nice and complimentary.
Overall Key west is a very nice place with some great beaches and water sports. But I was really disappointed with the room I was assigned.
Recommend anyone staying here to check the kind of room available before booking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aqua2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for our first and only trip to Key West. We liked the friendly staff that recommended that we make sure we were parked in a no tow area first, then gave us tips on places to eat and go. The Room was small but very updated and clean, did I mention small. I loved the bathroom it was very modern and almost bigger than the room. Now I understand I booked that room but for the price. The wine tasting was so fun, meeting people from all over the world, it was a must do if you stay here. The pool was nice as was the hot tub, and the grounds are so beautiful with so many plants and flowers it was incredible. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance of a few blocks either West or South. We would stay here again and would suggest you should too. Just book a room that you can place a suitcase somewhere other than the bed, you will thank me later.

Room Tip: Don't get the smallest cheapest room, upgrade to bigger room, you will thank me later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasVegasDave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed there for 2 nights through the week and found it to be very quaint and quiet. The staff was amazing; the room was small, but clean and comfortable. Loved the pool area! We took advantage of it both days as a way to relax and unwind from our day. It's location was perfect; not in the middle of everything, but only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandRtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Chelsea House has the perfect location and great customer service! Room was clean and small. Pool was gorgeous! Breakfast was everything we needed to get our day started right(continental+) The staff was exceptional. Great time at the Chelsea House!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arebeccanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our Anniversary this year and enjoyed it. The room was nice and clean when we arrived. The bathroom was also clean and a decent size for a B&B. The only issue with the room was the shower temperature. It would flash from perfect to freezing to scolding then back to perfect. However that little issue was worth the location and cleanliness of the room. When we arrived we were greeted very nicely an given a run down of the closeness of Duval. Overall we would have no issues with staying here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dueltravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Chelsea House seems to be one of a few Inns in a two block radius on Key West. It was clean, basic, and a pretty solid location- quiet, but an easy five minute walk to Duval Street and some great restaurants and bars.

The rooms are split up in a large mansion- some have patios right on a pool, one is its own guest house in the back, one seems like a tiny hole off a landing. My room was small and clean, with a great A/C and a nice large door/window opening onto a semi-private balcony. THere is ample parking and a very friendly staff. My only gripe is that its pretty no-frills, and yet was somewhat expensive, I thought. If you can get a solid rate, its definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nb424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#20 of 51 in Key West
1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing