We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, yet close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, yet close to everything”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed there for 2 nights through the week and found it to be very quaint and quiet. The staff was amazing; the room was small, but clean and comfortable. Loved the pool area! We took advantage of it both days as a way to relax and unwind from our day. It's location was perfect; not in the middle of everything, but only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandRtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    291
    129
    92
    35
See reviews for
82
518
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Chelsea House has the perfect location and great customer service! Room was clean and small. Pool was gorgeous! Breakfast was everything we needed to get our day started right(continental+) The staff was exceptional. Great time at the Chelsea House!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arebeccanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our Anniversary this year and enjoyed it. The room was nice and clean when we arrived. The bathroom was also clean and a decent size for a B&B. The only issue with the room was the shower temperature. It would flash from perfect to freezing to scolding then back to perfect. However that little issue was worth the location and cleanliness of the room. When we arrived we were greeted very nicely an given a run down of the closeness of Duval. Overall we would have no issues with staying here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dueltravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Chelsea House seems to be one of a few Inns in a two block radius on Key West. It was clean, basic, and a pretty solid location- quiet, but an easy five minute walk to Duval Street and some great restaurants and bars.

The rooms are split up in a large mansion- some have patios right on a pool, one is its own guest house in the back, one seems like a tiny hole off a landing. My room was small and clean, with a great A/C and a nice large door/window opening onto a semi-private balcony. THere is ample parking and a very friendly staff. My only gripe is that its pretty no-frills, and yet was somewhat expensive, I thought. If you can get a solid rate, its definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nb424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for two night, close to downtown great distance. Very clean room and comfy bed. Our only complaint as modern travelers is we like to plan and explore activities for the next day over internet. The wifi connection here is awful. We could barely get wifi in our room and when we did it was touch and go. We were told we could get great reception in the lobby but this is not ideal when you want to relax, check emails, read news, etc. this is our only complaint. Otherwise, great location and Besty and the front desk was so friendly, welcoming and helpful. Four thumbs up to Key West :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had room 28 by the pool, it was large enough with a closet in the bathroom and a dresser in the bedroom. The front desk was friendly and very helpful, Betsy and the rest of the staff were very nice. The breakfast was simple but adequate. The parking was nice, we were able to leave the car and walk to most places. Other guests were friendly and we had a great time.

Room Tip: No elevators so if you can't carry your bags up steps ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernie739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, CT
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had room 7 and didn't have any of the noise problems I've seen others comment on. Very comfy and clean room. Lots of onsite off-street parking. A few blocks from Duval... a little walk down to the party side, but always good exercise to walk off all the food and alcohol calories! Didn't check out the continental breakfast since we were only here for a long weekend and have our "must-visit" breakfast places. Would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin_from_MeridenCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Palms Inn
Silver Palms Inn
#11 of 51 in Key West
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing