We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Clean Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Clean Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had room 28 by the pool, it was large enough with a closet in the bathroom and a dresser in the bedroom. The front desk was friendly and very helpful, Betsy and the rest of the staff were very nice. The breakfast was simple but adequate. The parking was nice, we were able to leave the car and walk to most places. Other guests were friendly and we had a great time.

Room Tip: No elevators so if you can't carry your bags up steps ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernie739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    259
    113
    84
    33
See reviews for
77
438
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had room 7 and didn't have any of the noise problems I've seen others comment on. Very comfy and clean room. Lots of onsite off-street parking. A few blocks from Duval... a little walk down to the party side, but always good exercise to walk off all the food and alcohol calories! Didn't check out the continental breakfast since we were only here for a long weekend and have our "must-visit" breakfast places. Would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin_from_MeridenCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We couldn't be more happy with this place after our dreadful Miami Beach hotel. Charming in every sense of the word.

Pros:

* Super cute and historic!
* Free wifi, although spotty and slow
* Pool
* Free breakfast
* Spacious bedroom
* Cable TV
* Awesome location...we walked everywhere
* Porch connecting to room

Cons

* Price was a bit much, 200+..but I guess that's Key West for you. All in all, a good spend.
* Bathroom was a little small. Ok, really small. No place to hang towels.
* A/C unit was right over bed and LOUD. Hard to watch TV or sleep with it on, too hot with it off.
* Pool was a little small...but was fine since nobody was really using it ever.
* Internet as I said was spotty and slow. Had to be in right position in room to be able to do anything (really!)
* Not really the hotel's fault, but smoke alarm went off randomly and fire department had to come and make sure we weren't smoking or anything in there. Annoying is all..could have done without that, but not really the fault of the hotel.
* Again, not really the hotel's fault, but it was mostly people I'd guess aged 45+. It was nice to have the quiet, but at the same time a little strange seeing nothing but elderly. Some younger people cam near the end of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoCoastPunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay in as many years with our group. We wanted the same room as last year and was told "they didn't book like that". Upon arriving we found that other guests were given the rooms they requested. ( I guess I spoke with the wrong clerk). We were stuck on the third floor in a very small room. We booked well in advance so it wasn't last minute. For the over 200 a night charge we were disappointed to say the least. Breakfast wasn't as good either. Not sure if we will stay there next year.......

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank klordh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Beth at the front desk was wonderful, giving us lots of information and excellent recommendations for our stay. Key West is expensive in general, and our room was no exception (and we did stay in the least expensive room they had). The room was tiny, but very clean, nicely decorated and bright with access to the upstairs veranda. Bathroom was small as well but shower was spacious. Bed was not super comfortable. Breakfast out back was simple, but the pool area is beautiful..very lush and just what you want to have that island feeling.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great place to stay in Key West! The front desk staff were so wonderful & helpful! The room was clean, updated & quite! The bed was comfy! The only negative was the room was so small..... No place to put our luggage or clothes, thankfully we packed light.
Would definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thought we were staying at an exquisitely maintained B&B, based upon the price we were paying and the website. It turned out to be a worn-out place that lacked any special touches. Breakfast was very simple. Just adding some boiled eggs would have raised the quality significantly. The pool area is very nice, but the pool is pretty small and I didn't see anyone swimming. Our full size bed was not very comfortable. The house cleaners were vacuuming the hallway relatively early. The walls are thin. It was fortunate for us that the people in the neighboring room were very quiet. I would give the staff a high rating. When we asked for wine glasses and a cork screw, they were quick to comply and generally went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms were not very functional with things missing like some place to hang your clothes, a small sink with very little room to place your items and no place to hang a hand towel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anaveragejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#16 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chelsea House Hotel in Key West is a 48 room boutique hotel in Old Town, Key West, near Duval Street's famous bars & nightlife, the sunset pier, restaurants, waterfront activities and quaint island neighborhoods. A variety of guest rooms and suites are located in two former estate properties, both in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style built in 1891 and 1905. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing