We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My fiance and I just got from our trip to Key West during Thanksgiving weekend! We had a fantastic weekend and loved staying at Chelsea House. The staff was very nice and helpful. I called on the way down to let them know we were running late and I spoke to Bryan. He was very sweet and walked me though all the steps for the "late check-in" process. As it turned out we made just before he was about to shut everything down for the night. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast that was offered by the pool in the morning was great! Plenty of stuff to choose from for a light breakfast to get you going in the morning! Both houses are beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained. Also, private parking which is a big plus to us!! The only complaint I have is that I wish there was more counter space in the bathroom. We made it work, not that big of a deal really.

Thanks so much to the staff at Chelsea House for your hospitality! And, thanks to Bryan for waiting for us to arrive and for all your great suggestions!

We'll be back!!

Thanks for everything,
Julissa & Kurt =)

Room Tip: Room #1 was great! Good size, comfortable bed and the a/c worked great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    256
    113
    84
    32
See reviews for
73
429
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were treated to drunken staff, unfriendly management, horrible beds and cheap linens and very bad food. Our Bathroom drain had hair in it and the floor was dirty. For our honeymoon I expected better but was sadly not to find it at Chelsea House. On our last day we came back from breakfast only to find repairmen in our room. Our things were thrown on the bed and they told us they forgot to let us know that they needed the room and we had to get out. Over all a very bad experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Leslie P,

Thanks for writing your review, although we do not think it belongs to our hotel! We have searched our records from December of last year, when you say you stayed with us, and cannot find any stay for you nor a honeymoon group. We do have records of three happy Wedding groups at Chelsea House, though! You also would never be greeted by a 'drunken staff' nor unfriendly management because our front desk and management staff are hospitality professionals who take great pride in their customer service! Since it has been 11 months since your visit, I believe you are mistaken about the hotel in which you stayed. Thank you, again, for writing and we hope you do choose our Chelsea House on your next trip to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I travel over 900 miles to get here. I live in Atlanta and can go around the block to find plush accommodations. That's not why I stay at Chelsea House. It's just intimate enough and just private enough. The mansion is over 100 years old, so I don't expect plush. And compare the price to just about any other guesthouse in Old Town. It's a great value. Many of the rooms are unique, even unusual, with lots of character. The management always works with me to make sure I come back, and next year will mark my twentieth annual stay. I can hardly wait

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaGuy489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great hotel and staff! The location was perfect, 5 minute walk to Duvalstreet, 10 minute walk to South Beach. Staff was very helpfull. Bryan, thanks so much for your help!

Rooms are clean, not very spacious, but enough space for 2 people. We had a superior economy room. Nice balcony.

Nice pool! I would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fhayda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of this B&B is reasonably convenient - close to Duval Street, but not right in the middle of the noise and drunk people. Free parking was available in the lot adjacent to the hotel, and street parking was also pretty easy to find when we stayed, which was nice.

This is a charming old house, meaning there are some wear and tear on the building but not run-down. My friend and I stayed in their cheapest available room which was on the top floor attic facing a modest sun deck. The stairs up to the room were narrow and steep, and made squeaky noise. The room was clean but small - a queen size bed took most of the room and there wasn't enough space to comfortably sit and relax. We decided this was acceptable because we weren't spending a lot of time in the room anyway. The bathroom was very small and the AC in the room was loud.

Breakfast was pretty basic consisting of bagel, toast, variety of packaged cereal and yogurt, coffee, milk, orange juice etc... nothing warm or cooked, which was a little disappointing from this kind of B&B, but the hotel website did say continental breakfast, so I should not have raised my expectation too high.

The pool was in the garden right next to the breakfast bar, and was quite lovely. It would have been nice to float in it and relax in the shade in a hot afternoon. We didn't get to fully utilize this nice pool, which we regret.

Overall, this place was not too bad, however I gave 3 stars because it was not going above the expectation for the price. If I return to Key West, I will consider this place as well as I do other places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A nice property on the surface, but lacking in many details. Our room was very spacious, but the door to the bathroom was done over with cheap luan plywood...unpainted with shabby knobs and poorly fitting doors. There was no attempt at decorating a very promising room. Toilet paper was that annoyingly thin stuff. No glasses, even on request from the desk...just flimsy plastic cups one would find at a Travel Lodge. A decent breakfast layout ...no banana's, just apples and oranges.

Very helpful, apologetic staff. We were disappointed.

Room Tip: See it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I and ten of our friends recently stayed at the Chelsea House. The staff was so accomodating, friendly and they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The room was cozy, clean and quaint. The house is historic so don't expect anything lavish but that's one of the qualities we liked the most about it, it's character. We had a shared balcony with another couple, which was perfect! The pool and surroundings are beautiful...very tropical and peaceful. The House is conveniently located 2 blocks from Duval and close to the southernmost point. We rented scooters from Scooter Hospital, which is a block away, so we could travel around the island. They have free parking on the premises for one car per room. The breakfast is your typical coffee, OJ, boxed cereals, muffins and bagels (don't miss breakfast at Blue Heaven!!!!). The price was more than reasonable for the accomodations in comparison to many of the places in Key West. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request room 24 or 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elleinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#16 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.1 mi away
Silver Palms Inn
Silver Palms Inn
#14 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chelsea House Hotel in Key West is a 48 room boutique hotel in Old Town, Key West, near Duval Street's famous bars & nightlife, the sunset pier, restaurants, waterfront activities and quaint island neighborhoods. A variety of guest rooms and suites are located in two former estate properties, both in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style built in 1891 and 1905. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing