We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort'a Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Chelsea over the years for periods of one, two and three days at a time as I recall. It is nicely located and the staff is simply excellent, but this is not what this review is about. The place is showing it age and needs serious upgrading, by the way, which I was told by staff is now underway. Our recent stay we could not use the shower. The staff happily moved us to another room at the same rate which was a much better room with a nice large shower. The breakfast is also outdated and is not up and ready until 8 AM. This is sort'a ridiculous. Several guests, including my wife and I, paced around waiting for the food and coffee to be ready since we arise much earlier no matter how late we stay out. We really want our coffee earlier than 8AM. That said, the quality of the breakfast food situation begins with those little bagels that are bagels in name only. They are simply terrible. They look like little donougts, only plain as plain can be. The orange juice is iced and so becomes watery. The muffins are quite small and at best are only in the fair category ranging from bad to excellent. The coffee and teas are nice as is the staff manning the breakfast area. The fresh fruit choice was quite simple .... apples and a few oranges and that was it. The toaster seemed out of repair but did warm up whatever was put in it. There in no sausage, bacon, eggs and there are some cereal choices. Overall I doubt we stay there anymore which is sad, but if they get it brought up to modern day standards we will go back. We walk to Hemingway Home and a lot of other locations on Duval St. The parking is good and pool is fine and the TV's are fine, but otherwise my wife and I hope they get fixed up soon so we will have the confidence to go back.

Room Tip: Request room #20
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear BullseyeJupiter,

Thanks, so much, for writing and also for staying with us several times. We agree about the breakfast choices and are adding new and delicious options for your next visit, although it won't be sausages, bacon or eggs because we want to promote healthier choices. We, like you, love the historic charm and architecture of the Chelsea House and we are adding fresh and modern amenities to the rooms to create our rustic-modern asthetic. It is very exciting and we'll look forward to your next visit! Thanks, again, for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 842 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

this was my second time to Key West this year and stayed both times at the Chelsea... it's located 2 blocks from Duval St.... on Truman ... just enough away from the very active Duval to be peaceful but close enough when I wanted to shop and see the sites..... the Hemingway House is very close and the Lighthouse .... anyway.... it's not the Ritz but it's well kept and cozy and clean.
there's a nice pool and employees were very nice and helpful...I'd stay there again...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Public Relations Manager at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Carol D,
We are honored that you chose the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens for both of your visits to Key West this year. Thank you! Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here during the Hemingway days. The location is excellent. Only a few minutes to Duval St. I walked to Sloppy Joes in only 20 minutes! CVS right across the street. They had plenty of staff, Clean rooms, nice pool, and even gave me a free upgrade. Price way less than other b and b's and well worth it. Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs offers views of the pool or the street.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Public Relations Manager at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

We can't wait for you to stay here again too, Robert! We have a spacious parking lot on-site, but you're right that one of the greatest advantages of this hotel is that you are a short stroll from all of Key West's most popular attractions. The Hemingway Days were great again this year! Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My son and I enjoyed our time there. The staff especially the front desk were extremely helpful and guided us to great spots around town, The free breakfast spared us some money in an expensive town, If we do come back, we will stay at the Chelsea house again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Public Relations Manager at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Hi Keith,

We're so glad to hear that you and your son enjoyed your visit to the Chelsea House Hotel. Our front desk agents have a wealth of knowledge about things to do and places to go, don't they? Their aim is to make every guest's experience as wonderful as possible. We look forward to seeing you here again in beautiful Old Town, Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My fiance and I only needed to stay for night and this was the cheapest I found.

First off, I can't exactly dwell on how 'dated' everything was because it is in the historic district, and frankly it's an old house so I should've known better...however; the pictures made the room look very modern and up to date. That was not the case. The cons of this place were the tiny bugs that were EVERYWHERE, the bathroom was so small my knees basically touched the wall to use to the toilet and I'm not that tall, I saw strands of hair in the bathroom; on the shampoo bottle, and on the pillow. The towels in the bathroom had stains on them, and not to mention the air conditioner...OH MY GOSH, can you say rattling? Loud? Obnoxious? Couldn't sleep because it was so loud in our ears?! Another disappointment was the time of the breakfast, starts at 8am? We had to leave by 7:30am. Thought it was a tad late for many people who get up around 5-6am. The lady at check-in was very sweet, and said she upgraded our room to one that had a fridge in it. Not that it was that big of a deal. But the tile outside of our room which was #7 was loose, the hallway to go downstairs was so tight we had to turn sideways. There was little step up or step down all about the room/bathroom. The walls were broken and wearing away. The door was smaller than the doorway so you could see outside, or inside? We never made it to the pool because of our short visit. Everything just felt cramped and crowded, the room didn't flow everything was kind of placed around. The mirror they had located near the door was only tall enough for me to see my neck to my waist. There was no closet, the safe was on the floor. Just wasn't the best for what we paid. I'd say this is a $80 or less a night...

If you can handle all of this, then sure it wasn't that bad. But I WOULDN'T go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LostMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Courtney _b,

Thank you for your review! The Chelsea is definitely a beautiful, old and historic house that we have updated with a fresh, modern decor and finishes, what we call rustic-modern. We have found that most people are out on the town late into the evening and don't get up earlier than 8:30, so we have decided to serve a half hour before. Most guests in Key West are just getting to bed at 5 am, you were definitely in front of the curve on that one! You would have had a great time at the pool too. Thanks again for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a great experience here! Our room # 31 was charming and spacious! Front desk service is excellent! The location is very close to Durval St. They are kids and pet friendly. Our family will come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoodLifeWorthLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is very well located in Key West. Walking distance to most of the local area. Only problem was our room was an attic room which was very small with a very low ceiling. Room safe was in an impossible position to be of any use. Bathroom was tiny and difficult to move in. Hotel was clean but the internal staircase to our room seemed a little unsteady. Breakfast in the pool area was basic but adequate for us. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If allocation an attic room would be asking to be moved.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $176 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing