We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint renovated old house; don't expect modern hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, NH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A quaint renovated old house; don't expect modern hotel.”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We started off on a not so great note. The room we were given was so small that to stay 3 days would have been uncomfortable. The manager found us another room that was big enough with a large wardrobe. The rooms had safes in them which is something we wanted, and free parking, a luxury in the tiny Duval Street area. We were able to walk from our room, and leisurely walk down to Mallory Square. The pool area was nice, secluded in the back of the houses. There were nice private decks off of each room. Complimentary continental breakfast was a nice touch. Yes, some of the rooms were small. It's a very old house, so don't expect modern but the furnishings were suited to your surroundings. I would say all in all, we would go there again if we go back to Key West, but would specify which rooms were acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddenisem53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    289
    129
    92
    35
See reviews for
80
514
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

we prepaid for a king room, but when we saw it, it was to the side of the house, no outside space at all, (we saw a lot with) and very dark, it was day time and all the lamps were on. We asked if they had another room available, there was, it was in the front only a oueen room, but it had a great balcony to sit on. We took it, no offer of any refund.
the shower room very small. shower tileing broken and coming off. floor and doors not as clean as they should be. no full lenght mirror, only bathroom mirror.
Breakfast good, pool area good. walking distant to most things, and parking good.
We stay at many historial inn in the US, they have been great places, we would return to all of them apart from this one ; sorry

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinewhite04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

The Chelsea House looked good online, and in fact looked pretty good when we arrived. However, once we navigated the narrow hallways (our rolling luggage wouldn't fit through the hallway unless we turned it sideways) into our room, we realized our stay might not be what we expected. The room was "bare bones" to say the least. The bathroom door was a slatted closet door, and the hairdryer did not work well. There was no space in the bathroom to put toiletries (for a woman, this was very difficult). The entire place really needed some maintenance done. Breakfast was "continental", but they couldn't even keep the coffee area, bagel tray, and cereal basket full. The worst part was that we KILLED two giant cockroaches in our room. We even wrapped them up neatly and took them to the front desk. What did front desk do/say? Not a darn thing. No reaction.
Don't stay at the Chelsea. There are a lot of nice places in Key West. This is not one of them.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerWV99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2011

The place was very old and in not good condition. The bathroom was small, only a shower that replaced a tub that must have been there at one time. You had to step down to the bathroom, almost a trip into the bathroom. When you took a shower, the water leaked onto the floor. This was a king size bed room, I thought it would be better. The cleaning service really didn’t clean the bathroom well; the clean linens that were put in each day were stained. The curtains for windows and doors didn’t close well because they were too small. The outside balcony that was accessible from the room was also accessible from other rooms. The breakfast was a cold buffet; it was a waste of food. The pool terrace was dirty and the place looked like it had many poorly planned additions over the years and the place looked like it would fall down any day. If you don’t mind the sound of motorcycles passing by all the time at anytime of the day and the roosters roaming free around the neighborhood and waking you up at dawn and at other times during the day, I would suggest going to a resort or a hotel instead of one of these bed and breakfasts. I was on the 2nd floor to the side of the building, not even on the main street and it was noisy. Not a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arch_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Booked a queen room through expedia, and ended up with a full size bed in an attic room. Seeing how both of us were very tall, we knew that it would be too cramped for us.
We asked the front desk guy why we weren't given a room with a queen sized bed, and he said that it is a common problem when booking through expedia. He uprgraded us to a king room that was available.

The place was very nice, well maintained. Walking distance to everything. Would stay there again, but next time will book directly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Chelsea House is really a compound of cottage-styled homes (ca 1870s) similar to those found in and near the Garden District of New Orleans. The pool and patio areas are pleasantly designed with careful attention to trees and foliage. Located in the Old Town district it is a good walk to the tourist areas near Mallory Square. However, its neighborhood setting is charming, and easy walking distance to a number of good restaurants and nicer bars.The room we had was small and yet comfortable, almost like a ship's cabin--I knew that the lesser costing rooms were like this. The desk staff and others were courteous and interested in their guests' comfort. Outdoor breakfasts were most pleasant on the patio or decks. The off-street parking was a plus in this neighborhood as was the fact that the fine restaurant Seven Fish was a block away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gouvernail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Although the B&B/hotel looks quite charming as a whole (and has friendly staff), a closer look reveals parts of it needs a desperate make-over, specifically the room we stayed in. The carpet was old (and scary!) and every time we entered the room, we had to endure a musty smell that only went away by airing the room out each time. The bathroom had chipped tile on the floor and old fixtures that housekeeping couldn't properly clean. (Although they did their best, I'm sure.) The rest of the experience included a mediocre, underwhelming breakfast (often out of basic items) and certainly no WOW factors anywhere. I wouldn't stay here again until they updated their rooms. And, until they do, they should adjust their rates. We found (and stayed at) a different B&B close by, offering much better everything - for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#20 of 51 in Key West
1,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,742 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing