We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigar-makers Cottage C16 was perfect for us!”
Review of Courtney's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courtney's Place
Ranked #39 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cigar-makers Cottage C16 was perfect for us!”
Reviewed March 14, 2007

We took the folks with us to Key West. We are all used to "basic" accomodations when we travel; nothing too fancy or expensive. Courtney's Place was actually nicer than we expected, given the great price for our stay ($229/night for the 4 of us!). C16 is an old cigar-makers cottage, historic feeling, with a little front yard, big porch, white picket fence and gate, one bedroom in front and one in back.

Cottage C16 is NOT on the corner of the street/alley intersection like Cottage C17, which we were thankful for. The 2 beds were queens, OK but not real soft. Both bedrooms painted bright teal, and the living/kitchen area is orangy. There was enough closet and dresser space for clothes. The 1 bathroom is decent size, and the back bedroom has a direct connecting door to it. (However, this same bedroom has a slightly slanted floor, leaning back towards our bed's headboard.) The couch they advertise as sleeping a possible 5th is a leather one, not really big enough for an adult to sleep on (maybe a child). It doesn't fold out.

The porch was the best, we hung out there at night (no bugs!) and drank beers and talked and watched the occasional person go by; not a lot of traffic goes down that street, and you are far away enough from Duval Street that you don't hear anything. It was an easy two block walk over to Duval, and also a nice walk to Mangia Mangia, the great Italian eatery. Dad has a bad back, and even he could manage the stroll. The cottage also has microwave, stove, and full-size refridgerator, so we could bring back leftovers! We drove to the supermarket and stocked up basics, drinks and snacks, so did not have to eat out all the time. There is a one-car parking space right next to the yard, between C16 and C17, so free parking! Also, we were impressed that there were 3 TVs, one in each bedroom, and a bigger one in the living area.

The first night we slept with the windows open. It was blissfully quiet. Starting in the mornings, though, and lasting most of the day, planes fly over, and some are VERY loud. If you want to sleep in late, close the windows! Also, our neighbors in C17 were just steps away, and when their A/C unit clicked on, it seemed very loud to us. We had to keep the window closed for the rest of the nights.

Mom wished for a broom & dustpan -- the wood floors were not as clean as she would have liked. However, we were always wearing our shoes in the house, so that probably didn't help.

For breakfast, you walk down the alley to Courtney's main office. The continental breakfast was lots of pre-packaged and easy foods, but there was a wide variety and we never went away hungry. There were hard-boiled eggs, bagels, cereal, waffles, toast, little sausage biscuit things, granola bars, yogurt, fresh-made coffee, O.J. and milk. Also, microwave and toasters to heat stuff up. The house kitties eat on the side terrace, it was nice to sit by them, since I was missing my own cats.

We are no-fuss kind of travelers. We were very happy with our cottage, and Courtney's Place in general. We would stay there again.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank kittenfishoddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    146
    45
    22
    15
See reviews for
95
158
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

When we arrived in Key West, we had no reservation so began looking at B&Bs near the town center. As we arrived after 4:00 we found that most were fully booked; we found Courtney's Cottages, however, and booked the last room. It is a little hard to find as access is from an alley but there are signs directing from Simonton Street (which is parallel to and just east of Duval Street).

The room was small but comfortable and had a private patio. There is a small pool in the gated courtyard. The continental breakfast was limited but good.

We had a good and reasonably priced dinner at Fogerty's Bar & Restaurant on Duval Street after watching the sunset from Mallory Square.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat & Linda in central CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

loved it stayed 4nites over 4th of july,loved every day&nite of our stay.had our little dog with us no problem at all with him they luved him.would stay again

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EES6864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

We heard about Courtney's from a couple who spend time here during the summer months and have only stayed in their cottages. My husband and I were in unit 18-it was just okay-When we first got there it was nighttime and was a little creepy-They knew we were coming in late, but didn't bother to leave the light on-so we had a bit of difficulty finding our unit. The next day we heard the cleaning folks working behind our unit-it seems that the washing machine is in a shed behind our room. It was a bit noisy in the afternoon-We like to take afternoon naps, but it wasn't possible here. The hispanic woman at the office in the mornings was not polite at all-she was bothered when we showed up 15 minutes too early for coffee-she had a male friend who was there with her who was smoking in the kitchen area-Not impressed with her at all! The room seemed pretty clean-the shower head was terrible and hardly had any water pressure at all-but at least we had a shower. The windows in the bedroom were made of plexiglass and they had gaps in them that would allow in the bugs- There wasn't any room to put our luggage in this unit-very small-but we were told this at the time of our reservation. Overall okay-we've stayed in worse and we've stayed in a whole lot better! We looked at another unit and are definately considering visiting again-just in another room. The location was great! Nice neighborhood-at first the alley was a little creepy, but was okay and we felt more comfortable the longer we stayed. We'll go back, just not in #18. It's worth another try!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needed to be updated and more comfortable
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GoodTym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2006

I can't say enough good things about Courtney's Place! We have stayed there twice, once in May in one of the private rooms and again in November in one of the private cottages. I recommend a private cottage if you are a couple who prefer peace & solitude. I agree with previous reviewers that the sheets don't stay on the bed, but you can get these straps at linen stores that hold the sheets on. Our cottage even had central air & heat (which came in handy since there was a cold front and temp in Key West dipped into the 40s & 50s overnight). The breakfast is very basic, but at their prices, that is fine. We took our dog, who is 1 yr old, and he was more than wlecome. I highly recommend this place!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — water pressure not strong in shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a private cottage
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank met1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

Our stay in Cottage 17 for 4 nights was very comfortable; very nice. We travelled with a medium size dog. Courtney's is very pet friendly (however our dog was freaked by the number of cats around Key West and how surly the cats could be. I even got clawed by one when it tried to attack my dog!). Nikki, in the front office, was always very friendly and helpful with suggestions. Breakfast was always plentiful, good, and fun to chat with others. Staff was considerate about not entering when dog was present in the cottage (we just left a sign letting them know whether we needed service or not). As mentioned by others, the sheets didn't fit the king bed. However, that's because the mattress was extra thick and the best bed I've ever slept on in a hotel/motel. C17 has it's own parking spot so no problems with parking (except when maint. workers parked there once). The kitchen was great and sufficiently stocked with supplies. We walked everywhere since you're a couple of blocks to central Duval Street in one direction and convenience mart/dog walking park in the other. FYI, dogs can swim at "Dog Beach"- about 50 ft wide but better than nothing at all (ask staff for directions).

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2006

My husband and I have spent several vacations in Key West, and each time we have stayed at different locations. Our last experience was, by far the worst - Courtney's Place.

We were taking an extended family vacation and decided on Courtney's because we had two young children (ages 7 and 8) as well as our dogs and this seemed to be the place to go... While it worked out well with the children and animals - there were several disappointments...

This vacation was to be "special" and I began planning in September 2005 to find the best place available. At that time, I had several options to choose from - but was given a quote for two cottages and decided to go with Courtney's Place on September 25, 2005 and thought all was well......... February 19, I received the following email from the hotel

Hello _______
Your reservations for July are all set. I have to write and tell you that I quoted you the wrong price for your rooms not having realized you are visiting over 4th of July holiday. The room rate for the first 4 nights is $219, dropping down to $199 for the remainder of your stay. Cottage 5 rate for first 4 nights is $179 dropping down to $159 for remainder of your stay. Please forgive me for this error. I have emailed you 2 new confirmation letters. Please acknowledge that you have received them. I work in a bar downtown and promise to make it up to you of you come in to visit me!
Thank you very much,
Nikki
Courtneys Place & Seaport Inn
720 Whitmarsh Lane/329 William Street
Key West, Florida 33040
305-294-3480 1-800-869-4639

At this time it was WAY TOO LATE to make other arrangements so we were stuck......... And we did visit Nikki and whatever she had in mind to make up to us NEVER happened...

Upon arrival was to find out that while their ads are correct in stating there is "FREE" parking . . . DON'T COUNT ON IT! They do have a "SMALL" parking area for about 8 COMPACT cars if they are parked tightly - but no one there seems to care - so they are lucky if they get 6 cars in the lot.... In addition they do not give out parking permits - so who knows if the lot was filled with guests of Courtney's Place or not...

I read many of the reviews and would like to go on record that the sheets did fit the bed and none of our party had any problems with that. And while the pool was small - it was nice to have with the small guys... and they throughly enjoyed it between running here and there...

Helpful?
9 Thank ttmburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.3 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#31 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtney's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtney's Place

Property: Courtney's Place
Address: 720 Whitmarsh Ln, Key West, FL 33040-7431
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Courtney's Place 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtney's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtney`s Place Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing