We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Took our dogs to Key West” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtney's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtney's Place
Ranked #39 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Took our dogs to Key West”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We had 2 med/large dogs traveling (call us crazy) with us. It's very cute and clean. It's more of a vintage charmer than a modern updated property. They include a decent continental breakfast with your stay. Mary in the office was very nice and helpful. We were only 2 blocks from Duval St. where all the restaurants and bars are. We had planned on staying longer but this is more of a party town, great for a long weekend. Not much grassy areas or space for dogs. There is a small dog park and a extremely small dog beach with no fencing. Most places have dog bowls out and welcome dogs outside.

Room Tip: We were in the motel type section. They have individual little cottages that are very cute too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda2011618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari P, Manager at Courtney's Place, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy having the dogs stay with us. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    143
    45
    22
    15
See reviews for
91
156
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Since we've been here 8 times, wellll, it is pretty obvious that we like it. We have mainly stayed in the little cottages and they are just perfect for us and our 3 dogs. We have been in 3 different cottages and have liked them all! We have also been in a couple of the efficiencies and found them very comfortable as well. We are trying to decide which is our favorite...it is hard to know. All offer something a little different. This is, without a doubt, the best location in KW....very close to the action, but yet very quiet. The prices are extremely reasonable especially when compared to places that some of our friends have stayed which were almost twice as much but not twice as nice! I am sitting on the porch of our little Courtney's bungalow rental right now enjoying the weather and the peacefulness of the place. If you like posh accommodations...this isn't the place. If you want to feel like you really live here....well, this is it. And if you bring your dogs, this is definitely the BEST place. If you don't like dogs or people with dogs, you need to pass Courtney's by...because there will be dogs..and LOTS of resident cats.....so if your dog has a problem with cats...just a warning.

Room Tip: Cottages are the best deal for the money, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MINIlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This place was cute and cozy. It was a little small and the bed wasn't terribly comfy, but I've never slept in a hotel bed I found comfortable. It was clean and neat, and the staff was very friendly. I like that they're pet friendly, our Pomeranian loved mingling with the neighbors and their dogs. It was a good place to stay, and the continental breakfast wasn't bad for being free. We will be coming back and staying here again on our next trip to KW :)

Room Tip: If it says it can sleep 8, that doesn't necessarily mean "comfortably". If you can aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Found this place online when looking for pet friendly places to stay in Key West. After reading the reviews and weighing our options as far as travelling with our dogs, this seemed the best place for us to stay. We were not disappointed!
Once we finally found it and got our car parked this was a very nice place to stay. We were upgraded a room because a "regular" customer wanted the room that we had originally rented so we got a more expensive room for the price of the original rental. The room was a good size, clean and had a nice patio off the back. Our 2 Shih Tzus were welcome with open arms.
The hotel is a short walk approximately 2 block walk to Duval St which made it convenient for us to check in on our dogs which have anxiety issues when left alone.
The rooms are all close together in the main part of the hotel but the noise was minimal. Seems like a real fun place to go to with a group of people for a unique Keys experience!
Would definately stay here again for a short stay. Having previously lived in the area I know that a short stay is all you need in Key West!

Room Tip: Small room just by the office area by the pool was great for a short stay, I think it was room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great place for a weekend getaway! A little hard to find at first, but cozy and perfect for small families or couples. DOGS ALLOWED. We rented room C which is something similar to an efficiency, small bathroom bedroom large enough for a King mattress and medium size TV. It was great for us since most of the day we were out doors. Small full kitchen allows you to cook dinner and small dinning table with two chairs or outside deck was perfect for us. Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mari0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is our 2nd time to this location. We were away from the main area in a little KW cottage down the alleyway. Nothing fancy, but we were not there for the room. This is what one would expect for an older cottage in KW. No complaints. A little tired, crooked floors, all adding to the character of typical KW. Within walking distance of everything. If you want luxury, no here. If you want reasonable, clean accommodations with KW character this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pokher_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have stayed in many of the units and cottages (keys style) at Courtneys over the years and continue to love each one better than the last!! The location is wonderful and for a small fee you can rent bikes and never leave again in your car!! Courtneys is VERY dog friendly which makes our trips much more enjoyable with our babys!! Mary and the staff are extremely accommodating and friendly and go out of their way to please. Love the continental breakfast in the am by the pool which is complimentary along with parking which is rare in KW!!! In fact...going back down for another stay tomorrow....ahhhhh!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.0 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
0.4 mi away
Travelers Palm Inn
Travelers Palm Inn
#40 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#16 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#28 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtney's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtney's Place

Property: Courtney's Place
Address: 720 Whitmarsh Ln, Key West, FL 33040-7431
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Courtney's Place 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Courtney's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtney`s Place Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing