We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowowowow!!!”
Review of Grunts Bar

Grunts Bar
Ranked #89 of 446 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A beautiful brick courtyard and relaxed surroundings with bamboo and palm trees. Located in old town but it feels like miles away. Wifi available.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wowowowow!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

First class food in a cozy yard. There mac and cheese with lobster. It was like I've died and came to heaven!! The fish taco was splendid. For entrees we had snapper and a large salad. They even made the salad to die for. The snapper was well cocked and nicely seasoned with fresh herbs and a nice risotto. I really recommend a visit if you are in Key West.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    189
    41
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I decided to try Grunts based on prior reviews. We loved it! We enjoyed the patio seating with the beautifully lite tropical plants. The Sangria was great and the Lobster Mac and Cheese was amazing! A nice little stop post sunset celebration at Mallory Square.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Val Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unfortunate Name- but Great Food”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I discussed - why the name Grunts? I'm thinking something about the Marines and he tells me it's the name of a fish. We almost didn't stop because of the name, but we did because of the atmosphere and menu. A small bar is set in a remodeled Key West style home and all of the dining is outside on the patio under umbrellas and trees.

The staff were wonderful and friendly and the food was perfect. Red Snapper and Shrimp with a tastey sauce with capers for me. And, my husband had the Mahi with Scallops. Both were served with perfect Risotto and grilled veggies. My husband even ate the veggies-which is saying something. The Blonde Sangria went down a little too easily!

Very good food, nice people, and just a block off Duval near Whitehead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouAnnRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Key West MUST!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My significant other chose Grunts to eat at.... And I was super pleased with how amazing the food was. We made a reservation (luckily) and had a fantastic meal! The lobster mac and cheese with truffle oil was definitely the best mac and cheese, my other had in his "life". I actually was really pleased with the wine even though it wasn't sweet as I like. We had the Spiny Lobster dinner too. Excellent choice! And last but certainly not least, was the spectacular Key Lime Pie. Simply divine food!! Love this place and would definitely recommend to others visiting Key West. <3

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nivee_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our large family group had a wonderful dinner at this charming spot. Outside dining just off Duval St. Red snapper was delicious!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grunts Bar also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Grunts Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing