We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a fun place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grunts Bar

Grunts Bar
Ranked #22 of 428 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A beautiful brick courtyard and relaxed surroundings with bamboo and palm trees. Located in old town but it feels like miles away. Wifi available.
Baltimore,Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Loved the decor and the setting. Came across this place just by wandering off the beaten path. Really friendly owners, neat collection of Key West and other trivia on display. Beer, wine and sangria only. Tried their grilled shrimp dish - delicious. Will definitely go back. Indoor and outdoor seating available.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank petie614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    174
    40
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Our favorite restaurant in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Read about grunts on trip advisor and decided to check it out on our last night in Key West. Only one block off Duval, Grunts offered a quiet, intimate atmosphere. The owner was great and service was very quick. My wife LOVED the white sangria and my IPA was very good. We had the lobster Mac, fish tacos, and shrimp gambas. Everything was cooked perfectly, came out hot and tasted AMAZING. Our only complaint is we didn't find it sooner or we would have eaten there all week. Grunts is a must visit

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TNTgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very good food with correct (not huge) sized portions. The atmosphere is very romantic and fairly private from the street.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We dined outside on a lovely evening. Our waitress was the best we encountered during our stay in Key West. Roast pork was wonderful, as was the jerk chicken (very moist and delicious). One friend had Mahi Mahi, which was tasty, but a bit dry. However, I would definitely recommend this place; we all thought it was terrific. Also, nice, mellow live music to eat by. Lovely place!

Helpful?
Thank sab444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, atmosphere and bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went to Grunts when i was in Key West for 2 weeks. The atmosphere was romantic as well as the food being great. The staff was exceptional (thanks Surry) and knowledgeable. After dinner go into the bar for drinks and have great conversations with the bartender, locals and people vacationing. If I lived there i would be a regular. Go there if you ever get a chance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grunts Bar also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Grunts Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing