We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Location & View, Great Food and ever Better Service..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaya Island Eats - CLOSED

Kaya Island Eats
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Caribbean, Fusion, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location & View, Great Food and ever Better Service..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wow, the reviews about this place are not wrong... It is in a superb location, most of the seats look over the ocean. We tried a variety of items including Apps and Desserts all where superb. I had a Cherryaki Teriyaki Chicken it was absolutely amazing. I also had a side of grilled pineapples which went great with the grilled chicken. We had a server that was absolutely amazing his name was Jason. He was very friendly, knew the menu and very attentive but not to the point of being bothersome. Also something RARE in this day and age, the Owner Scott came by the table to check and chat with us... A SUPERB experience all the way and will definitely be returning soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    84
    28
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quinebaug, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I were in Key West last week and had the pleasure of having dinner at Kaya Island Eats at MM 14.5. The food was phenomenal especially the Pacific Rim Tuna Poke. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. The owner Scott was there that evening and could not have been nicer! Great personal touch! To top it all off our view of sunset from the restaurant was superb. It is about 10 miles north of Key West but so worth the short drive!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY THE BEST IN THE KEYS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This restaurant is by far the best of the Florida Keys eateries, hands down!!! The owner, Scott makes certain that your dinner is perfect from beginning to end, and the waitstaff is incredible as well. Food quality is outstanding, portions are generous, and the chefs and kitchen staff all contribute to this amazing restaurant. I must also mention the food is beautifully presented and the restaurant itself is clean, inviting, with a very wonderful karmic vibe. Just a short drive from downtown Key West, you will be delighted that you had this dining experience away from the beaten path and it will leave a wonderful memory on your palate and soul.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank renia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Thank you so much Kaya team for a great meal this evening! The food was really good - burger, skirt steak, sea bass, coconut curry and prawns for the the youngest family member! But the whole experience was made with friendly waiting on staff , Amber and the owner Scott who both went out of their way to make our night. Thank you so much - it was a pleasure and if we had another week in Key West we would definitely be back !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clareabella24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food choices in perfect setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Well worth the drive out from Key West. My husband and I loved this spot and enjoyed a beautiful sunset while we dined. Great range of food and drinks available. We shared the chicken satay skewers as a starter and then both had the fresh mahi mahi for main. I had mine in the sesame and wasabi sauce and husband went for the florribean - both beautifully presented and really tasty. We finished with a fantastic and light key lime pie. Spot on and highly recommended. Staff were really friendly too and the owner, Scott, came to introduce himself and offered advice on our trip which was lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaya Island Eats also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing