We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice rescue facility”

Key West Wildlife Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.88*
and up
Small Group Kayak and Snorkel Eco Tour
Ranked #62 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Key West Wildlife Center is a non-profit wildlife rescue and rehabilitation facility. We cover all native species rescues from mile marker 0-15 in the Florida Keys. Our mission is "Ensuring the future of our diverse native wildlife through timely rescues and quality rehabilitation with the hope of release back to the wild." Our main focus is avian species but we do partner with other organizations to rescue Sea Turtles, Marine Mammals and other native wildlife in distress. Visitors to our center and enjoy a nature trail through the Sonny McCoy Indigenous Park. This park is very important for migrating birds and is a popular spot among birders. We have a small number of permanent resident avian education ambassadors that can be seen but most of our space is dedicated to rehabilitating sick and injured birds. The rehabilitating birds are not on display to the public in accordance with our state and federal permits. We are open 365 days a year and there is never any admission fee to our facility. We do accept donations to keep our rescue and rehabilitation services going.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice rescue facility”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This place does a wonderful service to the community in its rescuing of birds, turtles, and iguanas. This is not a zoo, as the previous reviewer said, but you can get a good look at some of their rescued birds, see multitudes of chickens, and try to spot turtles and iguanas in their pond. Not too thrilling, but a small example of goodness in the community.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    44
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Take your time and take your lunch”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Two important suggestions: Visit at lunchtime and bring your lunch, and stop at the office to get some turtle food.
This is a rescue facility and not a zoo. But it would be a great place to bring the kids for a short visit. They have ample free parking and there is no fee to enter. A donation is welcome ( and I expect needed). Get some animal food at the entrance.
Walk around the aviary and see the rescued birds and read their stories. Then stroll toward the pond and have your lunch at one of nice picnic tables in the shade. You will be visited by the birds and you can give them some of the food you got at the entrance.
After lunch continue on to the pond and see the turtles. There are also some large iguanas that will be near the pond. Maybe you can get a photo of them as they scamper up the tree. Just don't let the kids get too close and they don't seem to be afraid.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a great service for Key West”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy at all, but it's about the animals. This is a wonderful place to learn about the birds that make Key West their home, or visit Key West while traveling.
Key West Wildlife Center provides animal rescue for injured or sick animals in the Keys. Please make a visit, and a donation if you can while there.
We love this place!!!

Helpful?
Thank Michaelkasperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing rescue service!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

There was a poor seagull on South Beach with a broken wing. It was so sad, trying to hide from everyone. I called the Rescue Center to ask if they could help, and within 10 minutes, a rescuer came to South Beach with a net and scooped up the bird to take back to their facility. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank FaleneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a small but hidden gem. Plan about 30 minutes and you will see Tank the talking mynah bird, Moxie the mockingbird that could mimic sounds,and a variety of other birds that have been injured and rescued by the center. I personally enjoyed seeing the Great White Heron, a color morph of the Great Blue Heron that is found in Florida. Ibis, chickens and other birds wander freely about. There is a short trail to a pond with turtles, ibis and iguana's. It is free to visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryland0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Wildlife Center also viewed

 

Been to Key West Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing