We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little shop!”

Mattheessen & Magilner's Candy Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 8 Bakeries in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Durham, NC
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Wonderful little shop!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I were walking along Duval Street craving ice cream. We wanted something local, that we wouldn't be able to get back home. We came across Mattheessen's and I am so happy we did. The shop was clean and the staff was polite and friendly. I loved that they had a varitey of interesting ice cream flavors. Definitely recommend stopping by one of their shops!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aboyer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    65
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romeoville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bestest Key Lime Pie”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This is the best key lime pie, in my opinion... It absolutely fits a well-rounded bite! One must try when here!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wattsy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“FUDGE!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I think its really hard to find good, creamy chocolate fudge that tastes like they spared no expense making it. This is the real-deal tho. Excellent!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bebrbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Coconut Ice Cream to Die For”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was in Key West for 8 days, and I ate Mattheessen's toasted coconut ice cream 3 of those days. It is AMAZING! Their cookies were huge and are freshly baked every few hours, but I could not bring myself to not get the toasted coconut ice cream - maybe next trip. I will revisit every time I am in Key West.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hit this place up without reading the reviews because they had the best prices around. The Key Lime Pick on a stick was AWESOME!!! Great pie and fabulous chocolate, all I have to say is WOW!! Son had the Dulce de leche ice cream and he said it was great. The cookies looked great but didn't try-will be making another trip before our trip is over to check them out....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattheessen & Magilner's Candy Kitchen also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Mattheessen & Magilner's Candy Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing