We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Key West Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Windward Pointe
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
363
Reviewed August 26, 2005

The Hyatt Windward Pointe is a fabulous property in Key West. The rooms are gorgeous! The master bath is luxurious and the units are very spacious. The balconies are enormous and great for breakfast in the morning and cocktails before dinner.

After being assigned a handicapped room, we were switched to an end room looking right onto the ocean!! The staff was polite, but never went out of their way to help you. That is what you must expect at vacation ownership resorts.

The resort isn't located in the heart of town, which I thought was nice. The partying can be intense, and being able to getaway from all the noise of Duval Street/Mallory Square was great. You will need a car if you plan to get around, or you can use the Bone Island Shuttle. The airport is very close, and you will hear the planes, but from 8pm until 9am the airport is quiet.

The pool and grounds are immaculate. US 1 does cross between the hotel and the ocean, but the noise is only moderate. At about 10pm, there are rarely any cars. Everything is kept up very well. The pool is infinty so you can look across at the ocean on the horizon. This is by far the nicest pool area in all of Key West. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Windward Pointe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 726 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
East Hanover, NJ
19
Reviewed August 20, 2005

We just returned home from the Hyatt. The condo was beautiful! It overlooked the ocean; however, guests could not get to the ocean to go for a swim.

No beach for the guests. The pool was large and beautiful.

It was quite a distance from Duval and Mallory Square.

The airport did not bother us, however it is closer than you would think.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2005

Yes, it is all about the room. Wonderful floorplan, beautifully decorated, most luxurious bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel room, ultra-comfortable beds, and a fully equipped kitchen. However, my favorite part of the experience was definitely the HUGE balcony with awesome views, wicker rockers, full-size kitchen table, and a telescope. I think we spent 90% of our time out there.

The pool was the best I saw in any of the Key West hotels, and the grounds were extremely well kept and lush.

The location close to the airport was definitely an issue, but if your kids and/or husband love to watch planes take off and land as much as mine do, this is a plus rather than a minus. The actual location of the resort is convenient, as it is relatively close to all major supermarkets and stores, although a car is a must if you are staying here. You can walk to Benihanas and Marthas (both high-end dinner restaurants) and Smather's Beach, but not much else. There is a snack bar on-site that is only open for lunch.

However, this facility is not for those who are looking for a full-service hotel. The staff, although friendly, were little help in helping us retrieve our lost luggage from the airline, nor was there a concierge to help with tours and restaurant information, and there is no in-room high-speed internet connection. And, worst of all, there is no gym.

MY BIGGEST COMPLAINT, which may prevent a return stay for us, was the sheer number of timeshare sales tours that occurred here on a daily basis. Although we weren't in the room much, we were close to the models, so each time we entered and exited the room, we were almost run over by abrupt sales agents and their customers.

If you are staying here as a hotel guest rather than as a prospective or current timeshare customer, suggest a room away from the sales activity (although those rooms do have the nicest views). It will be worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BoogRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago, IL
14
Reviewed August 11, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights at the Hyatt Windward and it was a great experience. We arrived late because our flight was cancelled and we had to wait in the Miami airport for 6 hours to get another flight (grrh). Needless to say we were not happy, but when we got to the hotel and opened the door we knew that even though we had an awful time getting to Key West the Hyatt made everything better. The room was beautiful and had everything that we need to kick back and relax. We had a view of the ocean and we sat on the balcony every morning drinking coffee and every evening having dinner. Although, the Hyatt is right by the airport there were no flights in the middle of the night and we did not hear the first planes leaving until maybe 8 or 9am in the morning. The hotel is on the other side of the island and away from Duval Street, but if you are looking for relaxation and that is it then Hyatt Windward Pointe is for you. Plus Parasailing is only down the road and it was so much fun! We had a great time and look forward going back year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2005

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iyamscifi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank momasitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2005

  • Stayed: March 2003
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank vacation49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
#47 of 51 in Key West
305 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oceans Edge Key West Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Windward Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Windward Pointe

Address: 3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5254
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $315 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Windward Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary vacation resort; residential styled units with fully equipped kitchens and dining areas; ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Windward Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Windward Pointe Hotel Key West
Hyatt Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing