We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fun and very relaxing destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Windward Pointe
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent fun and very relaxing destination”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

The Hyatt Windward Pointe is a fantastic family destination in Key West. We have been considering a Key West trip for years and I'm glad we finally executed. The Hyatt's employees, manicured grounds and gardens, and units are a formula meant for relaxing and family fun. We walked from the airport to the lobby at 10 p.m. and were greeted with open arms and advised where we could delivery pizza and drinks (including beer). We enjoyed our spacious two bedroom unit overlooking the water and a 2 minute walk to the pool. We spent hours poolside swimming, playing, and glancing at the water's edge across the street. The new bbq area allowed us to cook hamburgers and chicken at sunset with the kids playing ping pong and shuffle board within plain sight. We read previous reviews on Windward Pointe complaining about bug bites and the need to have deet powered bug spray handy at every moment in case of invasion, but we came home bite less. The only surprise we had was the trio of iguanas who kept the poolside guests entertained as pool goers were shrieking as if discovering a mouse in a Bugs Bunny cartoon. The only pro/con limitation of this property maybe its location. Con: it is away from shopping and night time entertainment. Pro: it is away from enough things to relax without the crowds. My tip is to look into a week long bus pass on Key West Transit to get around or get a trolly day pass which is really good for two days. We used the trolly as our main island transport, which was informative and near-by at the Best Western parking lot every thirty minutes. I would strongly recommend Hyatt Windward Pointe to anyone who is considering the property and looking for a relaxing get away. P.S. The new internet service is super fast 57mb down and 13 mb up. Better internet than home!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob916Stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    188
    62
    23
    9
See reviews for
277
198
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed only 3 nights at the hotel and it wasn't enough. Our room was beautiful with a great view of the water from our balcony. Room was spotless, hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Pool was beautiful and the grounds were immaculate. It is a bit pricey but compared to what other hotels were charging for the time we were there I think we made out on the deal. The only inconveniences were that you could at times here the planes at the airport which is close by and there is a charge for the shuttle to go downtown. We liked that we were a bit away from Duval Street but it does get a little pricey if you like to go downtown during the evening and the shuttle's last run is 11pm which we would have liked to be later.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
278 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

a beautiful resort that is only marred by it's proximity to the airport (a bit noisy during the day). the suites are beautifully appointed, and spotless. our room faced A1A, so the view was spectacular.
you cannot go wrong choosing this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarge-in-fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My sister and I stayed March 30th thru April 3rd, in room 5833, which is third floor of the 8th building. Check in was quick and desk staff was very friendly. Hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from Airport. Our room was ready when we arrived, but having requested building 5 or 6 we gave pause at our location, since building 8 is next to S. Roosevelt Blvd. We were assured the 3rd floor location in the 8th building and view were better than rooms available in other buildings, so we went with it.

Grounds are like a beautiful tropical park!! We really appreciate all the effort put in to keeping the resort looking so nice. The gate latches in the resort could use updating, they are the old latch kind, not the newer knob lifting kind.

Villa was beautiful, but I think based on the furniture due for an update. Everything was clean and in good repair, just looked a little worn as often is the case in the older villas. Did have beautiful appliances & flat screen TV's. Villa was clean, although floor had a slight stickiness to it that made going barefoot unpleasant. The outdoor porch was wonderful, even had a telescope if you want to check out the stars over the Atlantic at night. There is road noise when sitting on the villa, but it wasn't overwhelming.

The downside to this building location is the wind!!! Not sure if it was just the time of year, or if this location (building 8) is always windy (hence the name Windward Pointe) but walking the last two segments to our room was like walking through a wind tunnel. It was this way every day of our stay, and sounded like a storm was going on outside our door. The other walkways weren't as windy in other parts of the resort.

There is the one elevator, which was down for a little while during our visit, but we had no issues otherwise. Seemed like plenty of parking for us, again we visited during the end of the busy season so it could be timing.

The noise: We didn't notice the grounds crew noise or the cars while in the villa, but you can't miss the airplanes. The takeoff/landing noise starts around 8am and is intermittent, seems to end around 8pm. We spent a good part of the day away from the villa, but if you're planning this to be the vacation, with no trips elsewhere, it might be better to choose a location farther away from the airport. Only one morning did this interfere with sleep, otherwise it's brief, but noticeable, back ground noise. It is impossible to talk in the parking lot when the planes are busy.

We rented a car at the airport and saw most of the island, and Stock island too. I will post reviews of restaurants and attractions we visited.

Overall, a nice resort. We spent part of a day at the pool, which was adequate, but with more people it would have felt small. We didn't try the hot tub, table games, shuffleboard or grill area but they all seemed clean and in good shape.

Please Note: the only restaurant on site is part of the grocery store, Abbey Road. There are limited food stuffs here, at resort prices, so Publix or Winn Dixie are a better alternative if you need a lot of items. Food and drink were very good, as was very friendly staff.

The other nicer restaurants and spa are located downtown at the Hyatt Key West near Duval. Depending on the level of comfort/luxury you like to have on vacation, you may want to factor that in to your choice.

Room Tip: Buildings 5 and 6 seem to have a good view and be farther away from the road, but all buildings are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontraio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

This is paradise. From the minute you enter the front foyer,to the pleasant smelling spacious rooms,the refreshing pool,the enjoyable snack shack,efficient cleaning staff and right down to enjoyable maintenance staff. It was down right homey. Do not hesitate to stay here, we enjoyed each and every minute spent here. Hyatt treats everyone as if they were the most important person on this earth

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our first trip to key west in many years. We wanted a condo style facility and good location. Check in was a breeze. We arrived late, but they knew us by name. We were given directions to our condo and we set off to get moved in.

We were a bit frustrated that there was only 1 elevator and we were on the 3rd floor with limited parking close by. We made it work. Was an issue for us because we had a handicapped person with us.

We are on day 3 of our stay and over all it has been good. The beds are comfortable. The condo good sized. The balcony our favorite sitting area and the grounds are lovely. The pool is large and well kept. Our room has been recently upgraded and painted.

Now the frustrations:

The grounds crew making terrible noise so you could not enjoy the outdoors ( which is why I came)

Today the elevator is out of service. We were told for a half hour. It is 2 hours later and still not working. There appears to be a bit of struggle with clear communication.

The hotel is right by the key west airport so there is very loud airplane noise a few hours in the morning and afternoon.

Neat items:

We bought the trolley tickets as the pick up was next door. It is a pretty good service.

The giant lizards are pretty cool to see! You have to be on the lookout for them.
Overall a good stay for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the only elevator and overlooking the pool if you want to keep an eye on old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaAllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We arrived on Saturday, March 22, 2014 around 6:00 pm. We left Sarasota and drove and we make a lot of stops along the way for drinks and food - so our road trip takes about eight to nine hours. We were pleased that the check-in process was quick and simple, allowing us to get to our room and get settled in quickly.

On Sunday we spent the entire day at the pool. Kids had a blast. There is a poolside bar that served food and drinks. Drinks and food were both great! Priced attractively. There is a pool table and ping pong table as well as a shuffleboard court. Not much for 10/6 year old kids to do, but they kept themselves occupied while the adults drank and relaxed! There is a BBQ area behind the bar that is absolutely outstanding. You just have to go to the front office to get a grill utensil set and off you go. We are Key West regulars, so we've eaten at pretty much every restaurant on the island. The novelty wears off quick. So I highly suggest buying food to cook on the grill - steaks, burgers, wings, hot dogs, fish, shrimp - we did it all. We were the only ones using the BBQ area (there are four grills) so it was like being on our own pool lanai! If you have kids, this is a must - they can play in the pool while the adults cook and relax in the hammocks.
If you want to order pizza one night, go with Big John's Pizza! Best pizza on the island and they deliver.

Our only complaint is that we wanted to stay one extra night (Thursday night and come up Friday), however, the office would not even consider giving us a deal - even though the room would sit vacant for one night before the next party checked in on Friday. They wanted $700 for one night. I would have paid up to $350 for the extra night but they said no way.

All and all we would stay here again with or without children with us. It is off the beaten path and even thought it's next to the airport, it's really not that noisy. No jets at night so it's very peaceful.

Room Tip: The two bedroom condo sleeps up to six. The pull-out couch is fairly comfortable (more so than most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tampapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
#46 of 51 in Key West
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Windward Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Windward Pointe

Property: Hyatt Windward Pointe
Address: 3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5254
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Windward Pointe 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary vacation resort; residential styled units with fully equipped kitchens and dining areas; ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Windward Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Windward Pointe Hotel Key West
Hyatt Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing