We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort, horrible location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Windward Pointe
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, horrible location”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The resort consists of 2 bedroom condo style units. Very spacious and very well equipped. Some extras you don't normally see like small tubes of toothpaste and boxes of laundry detergent were also provided. Housekeeping came in every day with clean towels and refills of shampoo and conditioner- something rarely done in timeshare units. There is a large beautifully landscaped pool area. A tiki bar sells drinks and snacks.
The first problem with the location is that it borders the airport- a chain link and barbed wire fence being the only thing separating the two. You constantly heard the roar of planes taking off and landing. The airport is currently being enlarged to accommodate larger planes so the noise will probably only get worse.
The resort also borders very busy Route 1 so there is the constant noise of the traffic. We used the hot tub one day located at the front edge of the property. Between the planes overhead and the traffic 20 feet in front of you it was impossible to relax. The resort faces the ocean with route 1 in between. The pool is a beautiful infinity pool but they put rows of lounge chairs facing the road so the effect is lost.
Check in was friendly and efficient but the people behind the desk had very little knowledge of the area. The concierge was more interested in signing you up for a sales presentation.
There are no organized activities at the resort not even the standard welcome breakfast where they highlight the available activities in the area . There is not even a fitness center or game room.
The resort is about 4 miles from town or about 20 min with traffic. Parking was impossible and expensive- 2-2.50 per hour for street parking 20 and up if you could find a parking lot. Away from Duval most parking was by permit only so that didn't help. Several nights we drove back up to other keys just not to deal with the parking and traffic.
The resort offers a shuttle to the Hyatt hotel in town but it costs 5 per person each way. Also pick ups were either at 8:30 or 9:30 am then not until 2:30 with the last shuttle at 6:30. The hotel was not in the most convenient part of town and with the times it ran you couldn't use it to have dinner .
There are 2 dinner only restaurants next to the resort. We tried the Italian one and it was very good. There is nothing else within walking distance.
Check out is early at 10 am. We asked for a little later check out but were told they were too busy even though the resort seemed fairly empty. By 10:05 they were knocking on our door. By 10:25 as we were walking out they called to ask if we still planned on leaving that day. Not a pleasant way to end the week .
All in all I would not return to this resort.



Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank iove2travel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    184
    62
    23
    9
See reviews for
270
197
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Loved our two night stay at this resort. The two bedroom unit was very large and very nicely furnished. The kitchen had everything we needed. The master bathroom had a huge jetted tub and nice shower. The pool was beautiful and the grounds were very well kept. The bar on-site was a nice place to meet up with friends for a few drinks while we planned our next day's itinerary. Duval Street is certainly not within walking distance. We did have a car on this trip to get around the island. However, on our last trip, we stayed at another resort not too far from this location and used the public bus system. If our stay in Key West on this trip would have been longer, we would have used the bus since it is more convenient and you do not have to worry about finding a place to park (any paying for it...about $15-20/day). A week pass on the bus is $8. Loved Hyatt Windward Pointe and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at the Windward Point for 7 days. The property itself is great, apartments are great and updated. Pool area is lovely. Staff were extremely friendly. What I didn't care for was the location. Not because it's right near the airport, though it is, but because it is basically out in the middle of no where. Thank goodness for the shuttles ($5.00/person) that run back and forth to the 3 main Hyatt properties, but their times are limited. Taxi ride to historic district ran approx. $20.00 one way. Transportation is pretty much required.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy53_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Although many of the other reviews complain about the distance from most attractions, that's actually the reason we chose to stay here! It is byfar the nicest Hyatt in Key West with the largest pool and friendliest staff. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff was very quick in responding to our needs. We love this hotel and would absolutely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Rooms were very nice but the place is right next to the airport and I mean RIGHT next to the airport so you regularly hear planes taking off. You could only pick up Internet if you sat in one particular spot on the balcony although the guy who showed up to help me connect was very helpful. Place was updated and clean. The biggest problem was the concierge who gave me the attitude that she didn't want to be bothered. Claimed she only knew of one breakfast place on the whole island. Really? No shuttle to downtown so we had to rent a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveloften777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nice place in a quiet location but has its drawbacks. We chose not to rent a car. We walked from the airport to the resort--about a quarter mile. Easy to do with little luggage and no small children. Resort offers transport to a handful of locations for $5 per person. Hours are limited unless you reserve 24 hours in advance. Will drop you at grocery store but you must find a taxi to get you back. There are no grocery stores, liquor stores or convenience stores near the resort and just two dinner only restaurants next door. We ended up eating out more than usual. The walk to Duval St is pleasant but long. We enjoyed finding things along the way that we would have missed with a car or a hotel in town.
Staff was very pleasant but not terribly helpful. Concierge seemed to be new to island.
Not much in the way of activities at the resort and were glad we didn't have kids with us.
The resort is quite small but seemed bigger or at least more spread out than the one at Sunset. It had a great view of the ocean and a constant wind to keep us cool.
If I were to go back to Key West I think I'd try a different place but this wasn't bad.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpnytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Windward Pointe is a very relaxing condo-style hotel, with a great staff, pool, and beds to die for! Main problem is no real sit down restaurant on-site and it is quite a cab ride to town. spent abt 17 - 20 each way each time we had to go somewhere. Jets overhead slight distraction, as the key west airport is very close bye, but our room was overlooking the ocean and who could ask for more! We had no internet connectivity while here due to high interference the whole time. Staff had no problem connecting in the office though. I would return but without expectation of internet. Very nice pool and snack bar!

Room Tip: facing the ocean straight on and you will not get the setting sun across your balcony! No nice resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Windward Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Windward Pointe

Property: Hyatt Windward Pointe
Address: 3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5254
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Windward Pointe 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary vacation resort; residential styled units with fully equipped kitchens and dining areas; ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Windward Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Windward Pointe Hotel Key West
Hyatt Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing