We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to go!”
Review of Bien

Bien
Ranked #2 of 448 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You have to go!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is not necessarily in the most-popular of places, but the food makes it worth the find! Everything there is very good. I had the Caribbean bowl (chicken) and my husband and I tried to the corn on the cob. He got this massive sandwich (I can't remember the name). And it was all ridiculously delicious. Sitting under the misters on a hot, humid day in Key West, enjoying food that must have dropped down from heaven. This is down-home type of food at its best. Special shout out to the roosters. They were polite (LOL).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    240
    45
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a little bit off the tourist paths although it is near the dock for taking the boat to Dry Tortugas. From the outside, you wouldn't really expect much from this place. They had three picnic table type tables outside of it and then a few places to sit inside. It is counter service. But the food is AMAZING!!!! I had read over and over on Tripadvisor that we had to try the roasted corn but even when we walked in, another patron that lives in the neighborhood, told us to get the corn. They were all correct. You can't pass that one up. The rest of the food is extremely good too. It's all in a Caribbean and Cuban flair. Certainly the best food we had in all of Key West. Not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good quick lunch place ”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The food here is quite good and flavorful. I found my sandwich to be too heavy on sauce for my liking but otherwise very fresh. My husband had a bowl meal and loved it. Not very many choices for kids though if traveling with little ones. I think they could use a few simple sandwiches like turkey or a grilled cheese for families with younger kids. The seating is limited and it can be very hot outside to eat. As part time key westers, the best option is get your food to go and enjoy it somewhere like one of the parks or the beach. Definitely worth a trip for lunch. While others questioned why this was highly rated, the quality is worth it and much better than anything on Duval street it is just not a large and very limited seating.


Helpful?
1 Thank Lu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must Go”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Corn on cob must try, get your own. The steak sandwich, salad and Caribbean bowl is perfection. Order any of those and you can't go wrong, but I'm sure ALL is great. There won't be a time I'm in the Keys and won't stop by.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Selina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Adventure”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

It is a hole in the wall kind of place. The food was great and the atmosphere fun. If you go try the corn on the cob.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToniaJoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bien also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Bien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing