We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Bien

Bien
Ranked #2 of 448 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We ate here for lunch. While the food was good, I failed to see what the rave was all about. Had a Cuban and it was good, but not the best ever. Eating is outside.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyclist76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,336
    240
    45
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, FL
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“So, So Good!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

All I can say is that this place was really very good. All of the other reviews are on the money. I had the sauted prawn sandwich and ... I just couldn't stop eating it! That's saying a lot since I have been on a serious diet since January and monitor all food I eat. My girlfriend is a "Conch" (that is someone who was born in Key West) and she has expansive knowledge of cuban cuisine - she had the Rice-Bean-Thigh Trio and really enjoyed it. All servings were large. The atmosphere is very casual and seating is outside. They have the misters going to make it a very pleasant dining experience. This place is on a very busy corner of Key West, so be prepared to take some time to find parking in this residential only parking area. My suggestion: take a bicycle or scooter and park on the property or better yet, walk. Nothing is ever far in KW!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T2Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Amaze”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stopped at Paseo for lunch (they close at 6 and aren't open every day, so check the schedule before you show up). My husband and I split the #12 caribbean bowl and each had an ear of corn. It was one of the best things I have ever had, let alone in Key West. It was super flavorful and the chicken was delicious. All the other reviews said to get sandwiches, but I'm so glad we tried this. A table full of people eating sandwiches next to us all asked what the bowl was and planned to come back again so they could try it. The seasoning on the corn is awesome. Yes, they only have a few tables, but who cares? Its outdoor dining in Key West, roll with it! I cannot believe some of the places that are ranked higher than this place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Holy Cow!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

This was the best Cuban/Caribbean food I have ever eaten. The chicken is so tender it falls apart with a butter knife. The marinade is simple but so delicious, a little salty, a little sweet, a little tart, a little spicy and very aromatic. Just perfectly balanced.

When I ate their roasted corn on the cob I almost fainted it was so delicious. It was smokey and cheesy and buttery and tangy and salty. and they do this amazing thing tying back the husk so it makes a very cute and convenient handle.

The wet naps are plentiful, the prices are very reasonable, the portions are massive, and the folks working there are really nice.

Helpful?
Thank DandyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing, but unknown place...”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The first impression of the place is that it is small comfortable and cuite. When you looks at the you feel impress by the food. It looks very taste and very palad oriente. I ordered a Caribbean Pork Shoulder sandwich and my wife ordered the chicken breast sandwich. I can tell you one thing. The best pork sandwich I've had by far. The spaices were well put and well combined with the pork. Awesome food. Can't wait to go back and try something different!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bien also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Bien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing