We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Irish Comfort Food”
Review of McConnell's Irish Pub - CLOSED

McConnell's Irish Pub
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Basic Irish Comfort Food”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good place if you want a break from Key West seafood. We can't speak to the bar since we ate on the covered patio. Very pleasant since there was a shower that cooled things off . Good Irish comfort food like corned beef and cabbage, shepard's pie, and fish and chips in case you don't want that seaford break. We split a bowl of potato and leek soup that was top notch. Their pricing makes for a very good value. You won't leave hungry, that's for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liketogoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    132
    49
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fish & Chips!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped into McConnell's for lunch on our last day in Key West. I had the Fish & Chips and my friend had the Corned Beef & Cabbage! Both were perfect! Service wasn’t all that good for a Friday afternoon, but the food more than made up for it. The place itself was very clean and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you like authentic Irish cuisine! Prices were reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice but unattentive”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We actually stopped in twice for cocktails. On both occasions the bartenders were more interested in talking to other customers(which were not many) than serving a new one. The drinks were fine but I would anticipate that from a Irish bar. The female bartender that waited on us(thought she was an owner) seemed put out to wait on us and was so deeply involved in conversation she didn't notice us at the bar. She was also kind of short with us.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JerCurtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A taste of the old sod”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nothing better than a cool stop with a draft Harp on a ninety degree day. Spent time with owner/prop Jerry, and his Old English Sheepdog. A great hour on Duval. And a bartender with a sweet authentic brogue. What could be better!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank burkeohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stumbled upon this place after visiting the Butterfly Conservatory. It's on Duval, but not really on the main hang out. We visited twice. The staff was EXTREMELY friendly-especially the bartender from Ireland-I'm sorry I don't remember her name! We didn't eat either time, but the menu had numerous choices, including your typical Irish pub fare. They served my favorite drink I had the whole time I was in Key West-I believe it's a Key Lime Spritzer. It's made with Key Lime Vodka and Sprite and is absolutey amazing. If you like Irish whiskey, this is the place to go as they have a great variety. The prices were typical of Key West (cocktails and beers in the $4-$6ish range and food in the $10ish and up range). I will say (as with most of the places we visited in Key West) they pour a strong drink!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McConnell's Irish Pub also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing