We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellowtail, King Mackerel, and a big 'ol shark”

Linda D Sportfishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 79 years of family fishing history for the WICKERS , Capt. Billy Wickers III followed in his grandfather's and father's footsteps. Now Billy is a 4th generation captain. Captain Billy grew up working in the family charter business, working as a mate for his dad, and got his captain's license at the young age of 18 in 1990. He captained his dad's boats, Linda D III and IV, and was able to buy his own boat the Linda D V in 2003 which he owns and operates. Captain Billy has been recognized for his fishing abilities by winning numerous awards since 1990 to present , including the prestigious Key West Fishing Tournament's Outstanding Guide Award, most releases in general division, and also most Sailfish and Marlin releases, which he has won for consecutive years. He s been recognize as captain of the moth by Gray taxidermy..Also Linda D IV & V have been Awarded for the 2012 BEST OF KEY WEST AWARDS IN THE CHARTER BOATS Category by the Key West Award Program Committee. Capt. Billy Wickers III will definitely make your fishing trip a memorable event for you and your family.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Yellowtail, King Mackerel, and a big 'ol shark”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Captain Bill and crew took 11 of us out on two boats Sept 13th and did not disappoint. With that many anglers it's tough to satisfy everyone but we anchored over the reef and immediately began hooking up with yellowtail snapper. First mates Joe and Matt did yeoman's work juggling bait, tackle, boating fish, and providing expert advice. Our boats caught over 100 fish in about two hours and then capped it off with a 28 lb king mackerel and a nurse shark that went well over 200 lbs....chubbs, ballyhoo, turtles, and two or three unidentified monsters of the deep (snapped my line) kept us busy as well......Great time had by all

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captwickers, Owner at Linda D Sportfishing, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
thank you for your review and for coming to fish with us , we hope to see you guys soon :)
please share pics if you have any from your great trip .

best regards

capt billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    4
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
“Tuna, Trigger and Sharks.....Oh My!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

What an amazing experience we had on the Linda D V with Captain Billy and first mate Joel!!

First, the boat is the nicest on charter row. It has AC, provides shade during a hot FL day because it is tall and is so fast it allows for more fishing time.

Second, Captain Billy and First Mate Joel know what they are doing.....within minutes of setting up, we were already catching fish....there were tons behind the boat. Although, my husband and I have fished many different places, Joel provided us guidance on the technique to catch as many fish as possible. They were AWESOME!

Third and most important, we caught a boat load of fish and 3 sharks!! When we were on the yellow fin tuna and 1 trigger fish, sharks started to go after our hooked up fish. Captain Billy and First Mate Joel quickly set-up the rod, reel and bait to catch the sharks....and it worked! 3 sharks were caught, we took pictures and released.

When we talked to them the day before, they said we were going to catch fish and have a great time....and they delivered!! Thank you for an unforgettable day....looking forward to our return trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captwickers, Owner at Linda D Sportfishing, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
thank you for your review and for coming to fish with us , we hope to see you guys soon :)
please share pics if you have any from your great trip .

best regards

capt billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“These Guys Are Amazing---Capt Billy is the best in the Key's!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were exploring the charter docks for an offshore trip for a few of us guys and our wives. We were promised a great trip by second generation charter Captain Billy Wickers. We were told that the boat was fast, air conditioned and plenty of room for everyone. We headed out on the morning of September 1st and quickly realized how fast the boat was as we were passing all the other boats as we headed out to the fishing grounds. We arrived at the grounds quickly and they immediately got us on the fish and the fun began. About half way thru the trip we realized that an air conditioned boat is a huge plus when trying to avoid the hot Florida sun. Billy and Chuck took extra effort to make sure that our wives were a part of all the action throughout the entire trip(if the wives are happy...everyone's happy). As you are doing...we went to check out Trip Advisor for reviews and these reviews don't lie. We are already trying to work out a weekend trip to fly in and go out with Billy and the crew!!---Thanks for the great trip Billy and we will be seeing you again in the future!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captwickers, Owner at Linda D Sportfishing, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
thank you for your review and for coming to fish with us , we hope to see you guys soon :)
please share pics if you have any from your great trip .

best regards

capt billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
1 review
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The guy who organized our trip was an avid fisherman, and did quite a bit of research and came up with Linda D. We set out on the Linda D IV with Capt. Jay and Matt as our mate. Both of them were extremely professional, courteous, and laid back. When the fish started biting, they were ready to go, always giving us good pointers, techniques and assisting whenever necessary. I would highly recommend these guys for anyone looking for an awesome fishing experience, from novice to expert.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank thecrougur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captwickers, Owner at Linda D Sportfishing, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
thank you for your review and for coming to fish with us , we hope to see you guys soon :)
please share pics if you have any from your great trip .

best regards

capt billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip with Captain Billy! Snapper were biting the whole time. We will call again next trip down!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Snapper were biting the whole time. We will call again next trip down! Dropped our son off to school at FKCC and got a family fishing trip in. We got anout 40 snapper, enough for all of us to take home and enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trishcapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captwickers, Owner at Linda D Sportfishing, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
thank you for your review and for coming to fish with us , we hope to see you guys soon :)
please share pics if you have any from your great trip .

best regards

capt billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linda D Sportfishing also viewed

 

Been to Linda D Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing