We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These Guys Are Amazing---Capt Billy is the best in the Key's!!”

Linda D Sportfishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 79 years of family fishing history for the WICKERS , Capt. Billy Wickers III followed in his grandfather's and father's footsteps. Now Billy is a 4th generation captain. Captain Billy grew up working in the family charter business, working as a mate for his dad, and got his captain's license at the young age of 18 in 1990. He captained his dad's boats, Linda D III and IV, and was able to buy his own boat the Linda D V in 2003 which he owns and operates. Captain Billy has been recognized for his fishing abilities by winning numerous awards since 1990 to present , including the prestigious Key West Fishing Tournament's Outstanding Guide Award, most releases in general division, and also most Sailfish and Marlin releases, which he has won for consecutive years. He s been recognize as captain of the moth by Gray taxidermy..Also Linda D IV & V have been Awarded for the 2012 BEST OF KEY WEST AWARDS IN THE CHARTER BOATS Category by the Key West Award Program Committee. Capt. Billy Wickers III will definitely make your fishing trip a memorable event for you and your family.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were exploring the charter docks for an offshore trip for a few of us guys and our wives. We were promised a great trip by second generation charter Captain Billy Wickers. We were told that the boat was fast, air conditioned and plenty of room for everyone. We headed out on the morning of September 1st and quickly realized how fast the boat was as we were passing all the other boats as we headed out to the fishing grounds. We arrived at the grounds quickly and they immediately got us on the fish and the fun began. About half way thru the trip we realized that an air conditioned boat is a huge plus when trying to avoid the hot Florida sun. Billy and Chuck took extra effort to make sure that our wives were a part of all the action throughout the entire trip(if the wives are happy...everyone's happy). As you are doing...we went to check out Trip Advisor for reviews and these reviews don't lie. We are already trying to work out a weekend trip to fly in and go out with Billy and the crew!!---Thanks for the great trip Billy and we will be seeing you again in the future!!

Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captwickers, Owner at Linda D Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

thank you for your review and for coming to fish with us , we hope to see you guys soon :)
please share pics if you have any from your great trip .

best regards

capt billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 281 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

The guy who organized our trip was an avid fisherman, and did quite a bit of research and came up with Linda D. We set out on the Linda D IV with Capt. Jay and Matt as our mate. Both of them were extremely professional, courteous, and laid back. When the fish started biting, they were ready to go, always giving us good pointers, techniques and assisting whenever necessary. I would highly recommend these guys for anyone looking for an awesome fishing experience, from novice to expert.

Thank thecrougur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captwickers, Owner at Linda D Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

thank you for your review and for coming to fish with us , we hope to see you guys soon :)
please share pics if you have any from your great trip .

best regards

capt billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Snapper were biting the whole time. We will call again next trip down! Dropped our son off to school at FKCC and got a family fishing trip in. We got anout 40 snapper, enough for all of us to take home and enjoy!

Thank Trishcapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captwickers, Owner at Linda D Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

thank you for your review and for coming to fish with us , we hope to see you guys soon :)
please share pics if you have any from your great trip .

best regards

capt billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went on a full day trip with Captain Billy with Larry was our mate. These guys are truly awesome! Very courteous and respectful at all times. I've been fishing freshwater all my life so I really had no idea what I was doing, but Larry was ON POINT about getting our lines in and out of the water asap, as well as helping out with any other requests. Both Billy and Larry know a heck of a lot about this business, and it showed when we we pulled into the harbor with a 51 lb wahoo, 45 lb wahoo, a tuna, and some great pictures of a 70 lb White marlin, especially when no one else was getting anything! Thanks again guys, I'll be back to catch the one(s) that got away!

Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captwickers, Owner at Linda D Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

thank you for your review and for coming to fish with us , we hope to see you guys soon :)
please share pics if you have any from your great trip .

best regards

capt billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I just returned from a 1/2 day deep sea fishing trip (August 4, 2013) with Captain Billy Wickers on the Linda D. I have been deep sea fishing in Key West before, as well as many other locations off of the Florida coast. After fishing with Billy, I have concluded that he is the best fishing outfit in Florida.

This most recent trip to Key West, I went fishing with my two sons, ages 8 and 10. Billy and first mate Larry made the trip a pure pleasure. They really helped my boys with understanding the sport of fishing and gave them all kinds of tips. My boys were always busy, catching 24 snapper in all.

Besides catching a ton of fish, and being great with kids, I'd also like to note that the Linda D is one of the nicest boats at the dock in Key West. The boat has an air-conditioning downstairs, along with ample seating around a lunch table. They also have a very nice refrigerator and nice bathroom too.

Overall, if you are considering deep sea fishing charters in Key West, then you should look no further than the Linda D! I highly recommend them.

Thank OrlandoBizman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captwickers, Owner at Linda D Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

thank you for your review and for coming to fish with us , we hope to see you guys soon :)
please share pics if you have any from your great trip .

best regards

capt billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linda D Sportfishing also viewed

 

Been to Linda D Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing