We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Way To Enjoy Key West!”
Street view of house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street view of house.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Street view of house.
Table for 2, looking towards front bedroom.
Queen bedroom  with rattan headboard.
double bedroom with antique iron bed
Double bedroom with luggage rack, wall rack, closet and dresser with lamp.
View of living room with plenty of comfortable seating and TV
Living room view towards hallway and front door.
Livingroom facing front of house and master bedroom.
Living room view towards smaller bedroom, including rattan table for 2.
Another  view of living room facing master bedrrom and table for 2.
TV living room with plenty of DVD and games in case of rainy days.
GREAT READING CORNER IN LIVING ROOM.
Looking into kitchen towards backyard.
New kitchen cabinets and black granite counters.
view through kitchen window into backyard.
Bathroom with original french doors.
outdoor shower
Pedistal sink with mother of pearl mirror.
Original claw foot bathtub with view of backyard, a lovely place to soak. Including tub caddy.
Indoor shower.
Looking outdoors onto shower porch.
Outdoor shower with privacy.
Deck off of kitchen for dining with seating for 6.
Deck and dining area with Weber gas grill.
Backyard with comfy seating day or night.
2 lounge chairs for reclining or sunbathing.
Hammock for 2 in the 145 year old trees..
Original Red Hand Pump for  well water. Still works great and has plenty of fresh water.
Separate laundry room with front load washer and gas dryer.
tropical garden
Sunsets here are always gorgeous!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“The Best Way To Enjoy Key West!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at the Mermaid's House! Although its literally footsteps away from all the action on Duval Street, it is remarkably quiet and private once you enter the front gate. Bicycles are provided, and they are the best way to see the island. The house is very comfortable and was well stocked with everything we needed. We especially loved the tropical, outdoor shower and large backyard. We've been to Key West many times, and this is by far our favorite place to stay!

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Awesome Home away from Home”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Barbara thinks of all of the cozy home touches. She personally walked me through my first visit to Key West and check in to her property. She truly has captured the Key West flavor in her vacation Rental Home. I look at tons of reviews as an avid traveler and always try to determine if there is an agenda and whether the review is sincere or not. Well the reviews for this property were on the money - excellent!!
My first impression as I approached the property was, "wow I'd love to live here." The street is a quiet side street minutes away from the "main Strip" of Key West but perfectly far enough away to avoid the din of the non-stop partying. The house is cooled and adorned by well manicured trees and shrubbery all the way around the property.
The house has soft warm decor straight out of Better Homes and Gardens. The finished wood floors maintain that historical property feel, while the house is upgraded with classy fixtures and furniture. Barbara has done a great job of adding little touches to make it feel like your own home with touches from the decorative sea collectibles, magazines, & nick nacks to the full cable TV and wireless internet throughout the house & in both of the bedrooms. The kitchen and bath are stocked with toiletries and dry goods carefully labeled to make it easy to find things. The bath tub has a classic free standing deep clawfoot tub with a perfect shower head. There is also a cool outdoor beach shower adjacent to the full kitchen and bath. Just outside of the kitchen is a huge shady backyard just begging for a family cookout after a long day of sailing and cruising Key West on Barbara's 5 bikes on the property. The backyard has a fully functional historic well pump, brand new monster gas grill, tiered brick covered back yard area, and a huge inviting hammock strung up in the trees. The yard and house are a true Oasis in the middle of a beautiful city. I hated to leave the place. I'll be back! Bravo Ms. Declemente!

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug1754
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place with history and charm. Don't miss this hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After reviewing many places near Duval street, we stumbled upon this property. At first glance, this house seemed to good to be true. However, we really lucked out with this property. Upon arriving we received a humble welcome from the home owner as she gave us a quick tour. This property is old, like 1860's old, but it very well kept, and has all the modern conveniences you need. As if the house wasn't nice enough, the backyard really takes the cake. The pictures on this website don't do it justice. We had some friends that came down and stayed at a different place right around the corner ( they actually paid more than we did). Once they came over, they checked out the house, and were quite jealous. The homeowner does everything the old fashion way (IE checks through mail,cash deposit on arrival) and doesn't take credit cards; but don't be skeptical, this is not a shady deal, and the homeowner is very nice and we got the full deposit back. Also, we didn't know quite what to expect to bring, like towels and kitchen supplies, but this house has everything you need, just bring your clothes. I would highly recommend this property!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the backyard, all the kitchen supplies, the outdoor shower
Liked least: nothing, great place!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi51
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"special"”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Best vacation home my family has ever stayed in. It is like your best friend offers you the use of their personal home. This house is immaculate. Though it is not fancy it is decorated beautifully with a real Key West charm. We even had fresh tropical greenery throughout the house upon arrival. The beds are comfortable with nice cotton linens. The connected outdoor shower is awesome. The house even came with spices, assorted teas and so many other niceties. If you enjoy outdoor grilling and just hanging out then you will find the backyard to be perfect. There is lush greenery all around, tiki lanterns and wonderful teak furniture to relax on. I love this place and cannot wait to go back one day. One last thing... The location is super too. Our young teen daughters walked every morning to the bakery on Duval for pastries. Super safe feeling. Simply perfect is the best way to describe the Mermaid!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: shower and backyard
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dallas
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
“A fabulous place to rent...”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at the mermaids house. The front fenced in patio was great for relaxing and people watching... the rooms were spacious and the outdoor shower was the best. The large back yard was great for a nice BBQ and a glass of wine. The hammock was a huge hit with our group. We would definitely plan to rent this house again in the future. It was a great place and a reasonable price.

Date of stay: May 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing